Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:30 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:28 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:17 am
Posts: 4
I am running FreeBSD 12.0, QEMU version 3.1.1.

I believe have followed the instructions here:
https://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Platforms/PowerPC#Mac_OS_9.x_to_Mac_OS_X_10.4
Code:
# qemu-img create -f qcow2 disk.img 10G
Formatting 'disk.img', fmt=qcow2 size=10737418240 cluster_size=65536 lazy_refcounts=off refcount_bits=16
# qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -M mac99 -m 512 -hda disk.img   -cdrom ./eMac\ Mac\ OS\ 9\ Install\ 9.2.2\ 691-3482-A.img  -boot d  -vnc :1


The system boots and I launch the installer. However it says,
"A valid destination disk cannot be found.
To continue the installation process, mount a valid volume for software installation."
The Destination Disk select field is grayed out.

Surprisingly, I can actually hit "Select". It then indicates that it is going to install on the installation disk itself. I have not tried to actually proceed with that.

I have also tried adding the "via=pmu" option.

I should note that in the installer's System Profiler, the hard drive appears to be recognized. (QEMU is the vendor, etc).

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:31 am 
Online
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4683
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

I believe your issue lies in the disk types/formats you assigned.

Quote:
qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -M mac99 -m 512 -hda disk.img -cdrom ./eMac\ Mac\ OS\ 9\ Install\ 9.2.2\ 691-3482-A.img -boot d -vnc :1


Your cdrom should be an iso file, I believe qemu currently sees it as a hard disk (due to the .img extension), even though you say it should be a cdrom.
So, rename the cdrom image to ./eMac\ Mac\ OS\ 9\ Install\ 9.2.2\ 691-3482-A.iso
And provide a format for the hard disk image like this: -drive file=disk.img,format=qcow2,media=disk
If you want to use the same syntax for the cdrom entry, use -drive file=./eMac\ Mac\ OS\ 9\ Install\ 9.2.2\ 691-3482-A.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom

You should also prevent order issues by mentioning the cdrom first on your command line when using -boot d
After installation, reverse the order of the disks and use -boot c (if you want to keep the cdrom mounted on the desktop). Otherwise, remove the cdrom entry.

Please note your Qemu version is rather old. We are currently at version 4.1. There have been many improvements to ppc emulation since.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:29 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:17 am
Posts: 4
Thank you for the response. So I have tried:

Code:
qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -M mac99 -m 512   -drive file=./eMac\ Mac\ OS\ 9\ Install\ 9.2.2\ 691-3482-A.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom -drive file=./disk.qcow2,format=qcow2,media=disk  -boot d  -vnc :1


Unfortunately this did not work. I wonder if there is some issue with the fact that I am using FreeBSD, or the old version. I can try to acquire a newer version in the meantime.

I am also not sure if the CD image is an ISO. I believe it may be an Apple Partition Map image (I used dd to copy it from the disc). Anyway, the emulator does appear to be able to read it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:16 pm 
Online
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4683
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

How far do you actually get when booting that cd image?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:59 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:17 am
Posts: 4
I am able to boot into the CD fine, and I am able to launch the installer application.

It is within the installer window that I am unable to select the Destination Disk for the installation. However even when I launch the System Profiler, still booted from the CD, it indicates that it recognizes that hardware is present in the first IDE slot.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:50 pm 
Online
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4683
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Ah,

You are missing an essential step. You need to initialise the disk, as you would on a real mac when you present a new disk to the system.
So start the Drive setup program on the CD and initialise the disk. After that, you can install.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 10:12 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:17 am
Posts: 4
Thank you, that did it. Sorry, it has been some time since I've worked with this software!

So the thread is now solved.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group