Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sat Jul 11, 2020 3:12 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 25 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 9:56 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Good evening everyone !

I'm on Linux Mint & I can't launch Qemu to emulate Mac OS X 10.1 Puma. I followed the instructions on the official page here

I entered this command:

Code:
qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot d -M mac99 -m 512 -hda "/home/sebiohazard/HDD/MacOSX.img" -cdrom "/home/sebiohazard/OS/MacOSX.iso"


Qemu launches but freezes after this screen... I don't know what to do ?!

Image

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 10:06 pm 
Online
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2996
Location: Emaculation.com
What happens if you try:
Code:
qemu-system-ppc -boot d -M mac99 -m 512 -cdrom "/home/sebiohazard/OS/MacOSX.iso" -hda "/home/sebiohazard/HDD/MacOSX.img"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 10:27 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello !

Yes I also think of reversing the HDD with the CDROM but same result it remains frozen...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:10 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4908
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Your command line works OK over here. Perhaps there is something wrong with the iso.
Please remove:

-hda "/home/sebiohazard/HDD/MacOSX.img"

from your command line and add these two arguments below and tell us what happens:

-prom-env "boot-args=-v" -serial stdio

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:14 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello !

The ISO of Mac OS X Puma works I tried it on Windows & the installation went well.

I launched Qemu with the additional command:

Code:
-prom-env "boot-args=-v" -serial stdio


Qemu launches with a different screen but then freezes...

Qemu's returns are as follows:

Code:
WARNING: Image format was not specified for '/home/sebiohazard/HDD/MacOSX.img' and probing guessed raw.
         Automatically detecting the format is dangerous for raw images, write operations on block 0 will be restricted.
         Specify the 'raw' format explicitly to remove the restrictions.

>> =============================================================
>> OpenBIOS 1.1 [Jan 17 2018 23:39]
>> Configuration device id QEMU version 1 machine id 1
>> CPUs: 1
>> Memory: 512M
>> UUID: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
>> CPU type PowerPC,G4
milliseconds isn't unique.
>> switching to new context:

The Installer has unexpectedly quit. (error 1)


Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:22 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4908
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
The qemu you seem to be using in Linux is rather old, judging by the openbios date of 2018.

How did you install it?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:19 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
With the following command:

Code:
sudo apt install qemu-kvm


Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:41 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4908
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
I don't know what might be causing that. Perhaps compiling your own version of Qemu can help.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:07 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Thanks for your help I looked if there is a forum for Qemu but I found nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:25 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Mac OS X emulation under Linux is very complicated I think...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:31 pm 
Online
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2996
Location: Emaculation.com
Did you try starting from https://wiki.qemu.org/Main_Page ? There's good documentation there for Linux.

Once you've familiarized yourself with how to set up and run qemu 5.0.0, you can head on over to https://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Platforms/PowerPC for specific documentation about qemu-ppc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:04 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
adespoton wrote:
Did you try starting from https://wiki.qemu.org/Main_Page ? There's good documentation there for Linux.


Hello yes of course I mentioned this link at the beginning of this post...

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 12:11 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello !

I managed to install Mac OS X 10.2 Jaguar strangely using the same command lines as for Mac OS X 10.1 Puma:

Code:
qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot d -M mac99 -m 512 -hda "/home/sebiohazard/HDD/MacOSX.img" -cdrom "/home/sebiohazard/OS/MacOSX CD1.iso"


The installation requires a second CD so you have to restart Qemu but this time by booting on the HDD with this command:

Code:
qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot c -M mac99 -m 512 -hda "/home/sebiohazard/HDD/MacOSX.img" -cdrom "/home/sebiohazard/OS/MacOSX CD2.iso"


In this article it is written that the installation of Mac OS X 10.0 & 10.1 is not possible... it is strange because under Windows I managed to install Puma ?!

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 12:59 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Sorry I forgot to mention that the sound does not work with Mac OS X 10.2 Jaguar...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 1:48 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4908
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Sound doesn't work with any versions you install through your package manager. The code to enable sound is not in the official qemu source.

The article you refer to is old and doesn't reflect the current state of affairs.

You might try -M g3beige in stead of -M mac99 to install 10.1

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:59 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
OK thank you I will try...

By cons I do not know how to get the latest version of Qemu on Linux ?

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:56 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:59 pm
Posts: 18
To get the latest source code for qemu execute
Code:
 git clone git://git.qemu-project.org/qemu.git

You have to install build dependencies
Code:
 sudo apt-get install git libglib2.0-dev libfdt-dev libpixman-1-dev zlib1g-dev

Then execute the following below
Code:
cd qemu
./configure --target-list=ppc-softmmu #This will take a while don’t give up
make
cd ppc-softmmu

You new qemu-system-ppc should be here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 11:36 am 
Offline
Master Emulator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 9:32 am
Posts: 316
madreamer wrote:
To get the latest source code for qemu execute
Code:
 git clone git://git.qemu-project.org/qemu.git

If you want the screamer build, compile it from this source:
Code:
git clone -b screamer --single-branch git://github.com/mcayland/qemu.git


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:07 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello thank you for your help!

Unfortunately I don't know how to compile Qemu Screamer... I found this link here I ran the command lines but it doesn't work...

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:18 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello !

I found an old post that explains how to compile Qemu Screamer on Linux here. I managed to compile it but when I launch Qemu in the terminal it is the old version which starts...

How do I launch Qemu Screamer ?

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 3:36 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 8:15 pm
Posts: 66
Make sure you're in the QEMU Screamer source directory and run with:
Code:
$ ./qemu-system-ppc $ARGS

_________________
"Unix was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things."

Doug Gwyn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 6:15 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello !

Yes yes I am in the right folder but it is always the version of Qemu installed that launches...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:20 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 8:15 pm
Posts: 66
Are you prefixing the command with "./"? In case you didn't know, adding the "./" prefix to a command tells the shell (typically bash) to execute the program in the current directory.

_________________
"Unix was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things."

Doug Gwyn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:54 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:15 pm
Posts: 57
Hello UbuntuXP !

Thank you for your help I am a happy man it finally works ! Installation of Mac OS X 10.1 Puma on Linux Mint with functional sound !

By story I have another question... the compilation of Qemu Screamer has created a lot of files & folders, I would like to save only those which are necessary for the functioning of Qemu ?!
How to know ?

Greetings !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4908
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
From the source folder copy ppc-softmmu/qemu-system-ppc and the pc-bios folder into a new folder. Put you command file and other files, such as disks etc into the new folder. Edit your command file. See whether things work.

Then delete the source folder.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 25 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group