Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun Aug 09, 2020 8:29 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:54 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:46 am
Posts: 4
I need some help with getting sound to work in MacOS 9.2.1 emulation.

My host OS is winows 10. I have a usb headset (razer nari ultimate) and a z390 motherboard (asus maximus xi formula),

I have tested the two downloads Qemu-Win64-4.0pre-Altivec-Screamer-12-02-2019 and Qemu-Win64-50-Screamer-01052020. I am using the provided qmeu.bat and has just changed the of the harddrive image.

Could you please help point me in the right direction? I am happy to provide additional info.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:49 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4921
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

I just tested the 01-05-2020 build. Sound works OK here.
How did you install Mac OS? What sound-enabled program are you trying to run?

Can you see the Spatializer audio lab image when you open the sound control panel/output tab?
Can you play the Alerts?

You can copy your qemu.bat content in your answer.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:19 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:46 am
Posts: 4
Thank you for replying so quickly.

I copied bat file from https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/pp ... or-windows and installed from MacOS9.2.1.toast downloaded from Macintoshgarden.org:
https://macintoshgarden.org/apps/mac-os ... cd-library

I am trying to get system sounds running like the alert sounds. I have also tested with Alone in the Dark CD version as well as quicktime. No sound.

I can see the Spatializer Audio Lab image.

Do I need any environment variable? I tested with -device usb-audio and then Spatializer Audio Lab image is no longer there.

qemu.bat:
qemu-system-ppc-screamer-50.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-boot c ^
-m 512 ^
-M mac99,via=pmu ^
-drive file=MacOS9.2.img,format=raw,media=disk ^
-sdl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:36 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4921
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

That ISO is OK. An installation from it produces sound over here. Qemu should work with your default Windows audio device.

-device usb-audio will not work. It presents an usb audio device to Mac OS, but that would still need to play sound through your default Windows audio device ;-)

Do you have some other program running that claims your audio device permanently?

I also have an USB headset, which works fine. Did you check the Windows volume mixer when Qemu is running? Can you see Qemu producing sound there (e.g. see the volume level bar show a signal) but you cannot hear it?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:21 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:46 am
Posts: 4
The only program I could think of is Razer Synapse which is required by the headset. It shouldn't claim the audio however.

I tested turning off steam and discord.

Qemu did not produce any sound according to the Windows Volume mixer.

Tested with another headset I connected to the motherboard headphone jack and it did not work either.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:44 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4921
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Well, I'm running out of ideas here.
You did not by chance give Qemu 1024Mb memory? That will disable sound output.
If you have the option to upload the hard disk image somewhere I could take a look at the installation. Send me a private message if that is possible.

Best,
Cat7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 5:30 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4921
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Thanks for the image, I tested it. After downloading the cd image, the game runs fine with sound.
That narrows it down to Qemu interacting with your sound soft/hardware.

This, however, does not help you as I have no idea as to why sound is not working on your side ;-)

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:51 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:46 am
Posts: 4
Thank you for your time and trying to help me out.

I solved the problem.

I had to start Qemu as an administrator for sound to work. If I don't do that, there is no sound.

Regards,
Anders


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group