GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

About QEMU, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

Actually, I dl-ed the build of QEMU from the post you linked (the first dl link) and I did set compatibility to Windows 7.
Should I try using the build with preliminary sound support then?


EDIT:
I am now a happy camper. DP3 saw the hard disk and is now installing!
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Nice! I cant test for DP3 and the others for a bit, but I could use some help of how you figured it out, so I can test it once I get back to where I test.
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

Basically, you use the 64bit build from August.
You change the model from mac99p to mac99.
Disable the auto boot feature for ANY version of the DP or the PB and format the drive using OS 10.0's disk util. It works really well.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

wait, i need to setup 10.0 up to the disk utility, format the disk, and then type my DP3 command and set it up?
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

As long as you disable the auto-boot thing, yes, you setup the drive under 10.0 and then on the DP2, DP3 and PB versions you can select the drive and install it.
(DP4 still doesn't boot btw)
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

ok, do i put it at auto-boot?=false, or switch false to true? or get rid of the whole auto boot command? Also how can I setup 10.0 up to the disk utility
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

Doc_Static wrote:As long as you disable the auto-boot thing, yes, you setup the drive under 10.0 and then on the DP2, DP3 and PB versions you can select the drive and install it.
(DP4 still doesn't boot btw)
To boot DP4 try to attach the iso as the first hard disk(-drive file=<your iso>,format=raw,media=disk) and next,type boot hd:9,\\:tbxi in openbios prompt.This works in MacOS.
To @Meow_2004: it should be auto-boot?=false.Next you type boot cd:9,\\:tbxi,boot to the Installer,click Utilities in top panel,choose Disk Utility,find your drive and erase it.It's like that if I'm not mistaken.I think you don't have to install 10.0,it may be done in live cd system.
I thought,have you set qemu compatibility mode to Windows 7?(Right-click on the qemu binary and in appearing menu choose something like "Set compatibility to Windows 7").It may be important.
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

Cat_7 Mac OS builds:
http://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewto ... 104#p52104
Cat_7 Windows builds:
http://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewto ... =34&t=9028
Also my MacOS build:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B69bs ... jZxRkROeVU Description posted on Jan 10 and in earlier posts.
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

Wow, booting the DP4 iso as a hard disk worked. It's now installing as we speak.
One thing I still need to figure out is how to install 10.0 final.
It doesn't even start copying files, it just hangs when analysing the packages
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

I have few 10.0 distros,but not all of them work.Don't know why.I had chosen a working one for installation.Though you may try to vary memory size (256M is the safest),cpu type(G4 IMO work better for 10.0).
Last edited by alex195812 on Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

Gonna check that
User avatar
celebi23
Tinkerer
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:53 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by celebi23 »

There's no way to specify a keyboard & mouse in the command file (like -usbdevice keyboard or something) so that Mac OS X Server 1.2v3 can install, right? Oh & thanks for everyone's amazing work on this. I'm still kinda shocked that I was able to boot any part of Mac OS X Server 1.2v3 :lol:
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

No,there's currently no way to have input for Server.It's up to developers...Though 1.2v3 or 1.2 can be installed as described by @steventroughtonsmith on Jan 07.Most of installation is automated.But no way to use the installed system for now.Steven has also managed to boot kernels down to Rhapsody 2 as he reported in Twitter.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Nice! so replace cd with hd instead, huh, i'll try that out soon, I can't test this week :( but DP4 can be my first Developer Preview that I can get :)

But what about DP1? The only thing I know is that it's almost impossible.
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

DP1 requires vga patch for g3beige.The patch itself is simple and I applied it in my MacOS build.Existing Windows builds don't have the patch.Sadly,I cannot make a Windows build currently(too many other necessary things to do).It requires either Linux or mingw64/cygwin evironment in Windows.Needs focusing on it for the first time.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

celebi23 wrote:There's no way to specify a keyboard & mouse in the command file (like -usbdevice keyboard or something) so that Mac OS X Server 1.2v3 can install, right? Oh & thanks for everyone's amazing work on this. I'm still kinda shocked that I was able to boot any part of Mac OS X Server 1.2v3 :lol:
Yea, I'm pretty shocked that back then, no one had any idea, until today. It's easy peasy lemon squeezy for some Mac experts. But for beginners (like me) it's kind of hard, kind of not.
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

I thought if missing input for Server is a cocoa-specific issue and tried to build a gtk or sdl version of the same code but came to:

Code: Select all

 LINK    ppc-softmmu/qemu-system-ppc
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
  "_iconv", referenced from:
      __nl_find_msg in libintl.a(dcigettext.o)
  "_iconv_open", referenced from:
      __nl_find_msg in libintl.a(dcigettext.o)
  "_libiconv_set_relocation_prefix", referenced from:
      _libintl_set_relocation_prefix in libintl.a(relocatable.o)
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64

Strange for I remember to build sdl qemu versions in !0.8.(Now I'm on 10.10).Though I used MacPorts there mostly,not Homebrew..
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

I posted the links to qemu builds for you on Jan 26;see above.
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

What is your host OS?
Programmingkid
Apple Corer
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:01 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Programmingkid »

alex195812 wrote:I thought if missing input for Server is a cocoa-specific issue and tried to build a gtk or sdl version of the same code but came to:

Code: Select all

 LINK    ppc-softmmu/qemu-system-ppc
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
  "_iconv", referenced from:
      __nl_find_msg in libintl.a(dcigettext.o)
  "_iconv_open", referenced from:
      __nl_find_msg in libintl.a(dcigettext.o)
  "_libiconv_set_relocation_prefix", referenced from:
      _libintl_set_relocation_prefix in libintl.a(relocatable.o)
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64

Strange for I remember to build sdl qemu versions in !0.8.(Now I'm on 10.10).Though I used MacPorts there mostly,not Homebrew..
It looks like MacPorts might be renaming some of these symbols. This page has more info: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1261 ... -and-macos
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3247
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by adespoton »

I seem to recall that at some point (10.8?) MacPorts started renaming symbols when there was a conflict. This caused further issues when 10.11 came out with the new security fixes. I mostly moved over to HomeBrew at that point as it seemed to still work and offer most of the libraries I was looking for.
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

Strangely,when I type: nm /usr/lib/iconv.dylb I can see _iconv,_iconv_open and _libiconv_set_relocation_prefix,that is,the symbols "not found".And file utility shows that it is 2-architectured library...
[edit]Adding LDFLAGS=-iconv before ./configure on command line allows to build the binary,but no advantage about input for Server in sdl version.Seems that the problem is somewhere deeper in qemu code.(ADB I suppose).sdl version occupies a separete workspace in fullscreen mode.
If someone wants to try: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B69bs ... m9CMEI4WVU
Works rather funny with qemu_vga.ndrv3107 in 32 bit mode. :smile:
steventroughtonsmith
Student Driver
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:02 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by steventroughtonsmith »

alex195812 wrote:I thought if missing input for Server is a cocoa-specific issue and tried to build a gtk or sdl version of the same code but came to:

Code: Select all

 LINK    ppc-softmmu/qemu-system-ppc
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
  "_iconv", referenced from:
      __nl_find_msg in libintl.a(dcigettext.o)
  "_iconv_open", referenced from:
      __nl_find_msg in libintl.a(dcigettext.o)
  "_libiconv_set_relocation_prefix", referenced from:
      _libintl_set_relocation_prefix in libintl.a(relocatable.o)
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64

Strange for I remember to build sdl qemu versions in !0.8.(Now I'm on 10.10).Though I used MacPorts there mostly,not Homebrew..
Just to save you some time, the Server input issue definitely isn't SDL vs Cocoa related, it's something much deeper in qemu's emulation. Still under investigation :smile:
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

Yes,it's deeper....
I came to that thought by analogy:in PearPC X11 build has "messed" layout,but sdl version has none.
Could I help somehow to make the investigation faster?
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

To get DP4, do you have to type for the ISO (-drive file=MacOSX_developer_preview_4.iso,format=raw,media=disk, and then what would I put as the hard disk instead of the ISO? DP4.raw? or would it still be the iso as the hard disk.
Post Reply