Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:39 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 59 of 83 [ 2057 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62 ... 83  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:55 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Trying to install DP2, but I get "No valid state has been set by load or init-program". Help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 2:44 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
When starting DP2 do you type "boot" or "boot cd:9,\\:tbxi" in openbios prompt?If I type "boot" I also get that message.About OS 9 looks strange,but try to type -cdrom MacOS9.2.iso instead of -drive file=MacOS9.2.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom(and "boot" in openbios).If it doesn't help try -cpu G4.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
boot cd:9,\\:tbxi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:07 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
Strange that DP3 works for you but DP2 doesn't,for they behave quite similar for me.It may be a Windows-specific problem or a problem specific to your Windows version in which I cannot help much.I suspect you'll have to watch the posts on this forum back to mid-August and later to find some tips on Windows-specific qemu usage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:42 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:02 pm
Posts: 20
One thing I have found important is the order of the drives. I have taken to doing…

Code:
-drive file=HARDDISK.img,index=1,format=raw,media=disk -drive file=INSTALL_CD.iso,index=0,format=raw,media=cdrom


…and swapping the indices when I run into issues like yours


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:53 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Yea i'll try to switch the command for 9.2, and see how that goes (Version installing: 9.2.1)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
Anybody managed to make the Hard Disk detectable in the DP3 setup?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:27 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
AFAIK,the installer doesn't detect non-partiitoned(uninitialized) disks.The drive must be first initialized either in Mac OS 9(with DriveSetUp application) or in Mac OS X(with Disk Utility).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:28 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
You need to install Mac OS 9.2, and go to Drivesetup.app, and (IDK what it's called, format? partition? idk). Anyway, you need to that, on the hard disk you created for DP3, Do you have a hard disk created? It should be a .raw image.

(I just realized i'm a tinkerer) :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:31 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
So, let me get this straight, I boot on the 9.2 setup disk and I format it there instead of using OS X's Disk Utility software?
And i really HAVE to install OS 9 before I do anything else?

If so, okay, I'm going to try that now


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:33 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Or, you can use OS X as well. Try Public Beta, or OS X 10.0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
The Public Beta froze up at boot, even after setting the date and all.
I had the drive partitioned under OS 10.2 before I came up here asking questions and it didn't recognize it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:37 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
I think OS X 10.2 dosen't detect DP3 because of how new it was (at the time) Try OS X 10.0, if that dosen't work, then try 9.2, i'm having trouble with 9.2, so maybe you can help me on that. (I'm installing 9.2.1)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
9.2 didn't help.
it still can't find the drive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:46 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Try 10.0 and try using Disk Utility.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:52 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
I can't even boot into 10.0
It hangs as /etc/master.passwd: Permission denied when I boot it in verbose
And if I try booting it in the "normal" mode, The loading icon just freezes after a while...

EDIT: tried repartitioning under 10.2 and installing OS9 drivers. Did nothing.

EDIT 2: I officially give up. I can't get it working at all, even installing 10.2 which is supposedly easier doesn't even work (Kernel Panic when booting from HDD)
Guess I'm too dumb to make it run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Your not dumb, it's how the installing works, it took me a bit to get the installer up, I was really confused at first and didn't know what to do, but now I kind of now what to do. I'm going to try 9.2 tonight, and give the results. If it works, I will post a code of how to do it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:02 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
The problem is that I want to play around with all the beta stuff but if I can't even install the actual final builds of the OS, it's a bit weird.
I'll try again another day xD


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:10 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Same! My main is to get DP3 up and running. I took a break with DP3, and focused on DP2, and Public Beta, and of course i'm having issues with that, but i'm still trying to figure it out. I know DP1 is almost impossible, and DP4 i haven't started yet, so, just try to work your way around the errors, and ask a whole bunch of questions. That's what always helps me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:13 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
What have you tried for 9.2? Show me your command and i'll see what the problem is from there


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:36 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am
Posts: 19
9.2 installed just fine.
It's everything after like OS X that screws up.
I'll try again someday, when things get out of WIP


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:18 am 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 87
I was wondering if there was a Mac build that combines both sound support & sungem support?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:20 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Image

Installing DP2, and I get this. Please help! :oops:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:38 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Public Beta is stuck here:
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:05 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
celebi23 wrote:

Yes,I posted the last one on Jan 10.It's a custom version derived from 2.8.0/mcayland/ozbenh sources with ProgrammingKid cocoa patches.It has some issues,mosly concerning OS 9 runnimg.

To @Doc_Static: it seems to me that you use an "official" qemu version that doesn't boot 10.1 or earlier OSes.To have them working use a build from this forum(depending on your host OS).If you use Windows see also viewtopic.php?f=34&t=9028 about Windows 7 compatibility.

To @Meow_2004: I know this screen,too.DP2 is rather instable.Sometimes I boot to it from the 2,3 or 4th attempt only.In my custom Mac OS X builds it probably might work better with -M g3beige but it is not possible in current Windows builds.
Public Beta looks right,mabe wait more?though it may want -cpu G4.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 59 of 83 [ 2057 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62 ... 83  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group