GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

About QEMU, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Trying to install DP2, but I get "No valid state has been set by load or init-program". Help!
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

When starting DP2 do you type "boot" or "boot cd:9,\\:tbxi" in openbios prompt?If I type "boot" I also get that message.About OS 9 looks strange,but try to type -cdrom MacOS9.2.iso instead of -drive file=MacOS9.2.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom(and "boot" in openbios).If it doesn't help try -cpu G4.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

boot cd:9,\\:tbxi
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

Strange that DP3 works for you but DP2 doesn't,for they behave quite similar for me.It may be a Windows-specific problem or a problem specific to your Windows version in which I cannot help much.I suspect you'll have to watch the posts on this forum back to mid-August and later to find some tips on Windows-specific qemu usage.
steventroughtonsmith
Student Driver
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:02 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by steventroughtonsmith »

One thing I have found important is the order of the drives. I have taken to doing…

Code: Select all

-drive file=HARDDISK.img,index=1,format=raw,media=disk -drive file=INSTALL_CD.iso,index=0,format=raw,media=cdrom
…and swapping the indices when I run into issues like yours
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Yea i'll try to switch the command for 9.2, and see how that goes (Version installing: 9.2.1)
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

Anybody managed to make the Hard Disk detectable in the DP3 setup?
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

AFAIK,the installer doesn't detect non-partiitoned(uninitialized) disks.The drive must be first initialized either in Mac OS 9(with DriveSetUp application) or in Mac OS X(with Disk Utility).
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

You need to install Mac OS 9.2, and go to Drivesetup.app, and (IDK what it's called, format? partition? idk). Anyway, you need to that, on the hard disk you created for DP3, Do you have a hard disk created? It should be a .raw image.

(I just realized i'm a tinkerer) :)
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

So, let me get this straight, I boot on the 9.2 setup disk and I format it there instead of using OS X's Disk Utility software?
And i really HAVE to install OS 9 before I do anything else?

If so, okay, I'm going to try that now
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Or, you can use OS X as well. Try Public Beta, or OS X 10.0
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

The Public Beta froze up at boot, even after setting the date and all.
I had the drive partitioned under OS 10.2 before I came up here asking questions and it didn't recognize it
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

I think OS X 10.2 dosen't detect DP3 because of how new it was (at the time) Try OS X 10.0, if that dosen't work, then try 9.2, i'm having trouble with 9.2, so maybe you can help me on that. (I'm installing 9.2.1)
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

9.2 didn't help.
it still can't find the drive.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Try 10.0 and try using Disk Utility.
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

I can't even boot into 10.0
It hangs as /etc/master.passwd: Permission denied when I boot it in verbose
And if I try booting it in the "normal" mode, The loading icon just freezes after a while...

EDIT: tried repartitioning under 10.2 and installing OS9 drivers. Did nothing.

EDIT 2: I officially give up. I can't get it working at all, even installing 10.2 which is supposedly easier doesn't even work (Kernel Panic when booting from HDD)
Guess I'm too dumb to make it run.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Your not dumb, it's how the installing works, it took me a bit to get the installer up, I was really confused at first and didn't know what to do, but now I kind of now what to do. I'm going to try 9.2 tonight, and give the results. If it works, I will post a code of how to do it.
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

The problem is that I want to play around with all the beta stuff but if I can't even install the actual final builds of the OS, it's a bit weird.
I'll try again another day xD
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Same! My main is to get DP3 up and running. I took a break with DP3, and focused on DP2, and Public Beta, and of course i'm having issues with that, but i'm still trying to figure it out. I know DP1 is almost impossible, and DP4 i haven't started yet, so, just try to work your way around the errors, and ask a whole bunch of questions. That's what always helps me.
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

What have you tried for 9.2? Show me your command and i'll see what the problem is from there
Doc_Static
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:26 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Doc_Static »

9.2 installed just fine.
It's everything after like OS X that screws up.
I'll try again someday, when things get out of WIP
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Image

Installing DP2, and I get this. Please help! :oops:
User avatar
Meow_2004
Granny Smith
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by Meow_2004 »

Public Beta is stuck here:
Image
alex195812
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am

Re: GSOC qemu Boot Mac OS >= 8.5 on PowerPC system

Post by alex195812 »

Yes,I posted the last one on Jan 10.It's a custom version derived from 2.8.0/mcayland/ozbenh sources with ProgrammingKid cocoa patches.It has some issues,mosly concerning OS 9 runnimg.

To @Doc_Static: it seems to me that you use an "official" qemu version that doesn't boot 10.1 or earlier OSes.To have them working use a build from this forum(depending on your host OS).If you use Windows see also http://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewto ... =34&t=9028 about Windows 7 compatibility.

To @Meow_2004: I know this screen,too.DP2 is rather instable.Sometimes I boot to it from the 2,3 or 4th attempt only.In my custom Mac OS X builds it probably might work better with -M g3beige but it is not possible in current Windows builds.
Public Beta looks right,mabe wait more?though it may want -cpu G4.
Post Reply