Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:16 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 63 of 81 [ 2025 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66 ... 81  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 3:34 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
Yes,all of that(without qestion marks).You can also boot 10.5 in mac99 with -device usb-kbd -device usb-mouse.DP1 needs -usb -device usb-mouse,too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:32 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
steventroughtonsmith wrote:
darthnvader wrote:
I made a little hack to the Qemu source code, so no adb kbd/m was in the device tree:

Image

But, when I boot Server, it still registers an adb kbd/m

Image

So, either BootX, or the Kernel is hardcoded to create this in the device tree, so it may not be unreasonable to expect that these devices need to be @0,0, rather than @9.

I can't find anywhere in the Qemu source code that hardcodes these devices to be @9( kbd ) and @8( mouse ), but that doesn't mean it isn't there, I may have just not found it yet.


I am not the right person to be trying to explain this, but it looks like CUDA (timing perhaps?) is responsible for the keyboard/mouse not working. Figuring this out requires a deep dive into the roughly contemporary kernel source http://vpsland.superglobalmegacorp.com/old/install/OS%20X%20PowerPC/Darwin-0.3.tar.gz and knowledge of a lot of low level CUDA specifics and how to debug them in qemu. You'll want to be recompiling qemu and probably openbios with a bunch of extra logging added just to get a start at this.

mach remaps all the adb devices at boot, so the IDs shouldn't matter. From what I can see, adb absolutely is functioning to some extent, but the emulation may not be correct enough for this version of mach in Server 1.x to accept it.

Extra eyes would surely be appreciated, but know going in that this doesn't seem like it's a trivial fix. There's been an off-forum discussion going on about this for the last couple weeks as we try and upstream changes to openbios :smile:


Thanks Steven, I see your point, the Kernel code has adb functions spread out all over the place. I did see where it probes the ADB bus, so it shouldn't really matter the address OF hands to BootX, or the Kernel.

I was hoping this would be an easy fix, better minds than mine will likely be required to fix it, it's good to know that it is an ongoing topic with these who understand it better than I do :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 6:14 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2215
Location: Emaculation.com
Since various components are already polling USB via ADB, it seems like it would be more useful for qemu to provide a usb-adb shim than to try and fix things at a deeper level. Then you just need to know when to enable it and when to use standard USB. It could be a subset of the USB flag that builds up an additional ADB interface that gets notified alongside the USB interface.

I'm obviously not in the email discussion :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:28 am 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
Can someone help me out with DP2, I partitioned a raw disk image, with the Disk Utility from 10.0 install cd, and DP2 installs, but I can't boot it.

diskutil list:

Code:
/dev/disk3 (disk image):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     Apple_partition_scheme                        +4.3 GB     disk3
   1:        Apple_partition_map                         32.3 KB    disk3s1
   2:             Apple_Driver43                         28.7 KB    disk3s2
   3:             Apple_Driver43                         28.7 KB    disk3s3
   4:           Apple_Driver_ATA                         28.7 KB    disk3s4
   5:           Apple_Driver_ATA                         28.7 KB    disk3s5
   6:             Apple_FWDriver                         262.1 KB   disk3s6
   7:         Apple_Driver_IOKit                         262.1 KB   disk3s7
   8:              Apple_Patches                         262.1 KB   disk3s8
   9:                 Apple_Boot MOSX_Booter             8.4 MB     disk3s9
  10:               Apple_Loader                         524.3 KB   disk3s10
  11:                  Apple_HFS MacOSX                  4.3 GB     disk3s11


Code:
/Users/jam2/Downloads/qemu-scr-sun-co10012017/qemu-system-ppc-scr-vga-sun-coc   -boot c -prom-env 'boot-args=-v rd=hd0' -prom-env 'boot-device=hd:9,\\:tbxi' -drive file=/Users/jam2/Downloads/qemu-scr-sun-co10012017/DP2.img,index=1,format=raw,media=disk -drive file=/Users/jam2/Downloads/Apple\ Mac\ OS\ X\ 10.0\ \(\'\'Kodiak\'\'\ 10.0\ Developer\ Preview\ 2\)/MacOSX_developer_preview_2.iso,index=0,format=raw,media=cdrom -bios /Users/jam2/Downloads/qemu-scr-sun-co10012017/openbios-qemu-wip-13082016.elf -g 1024x666x8 -M g3beige -cpu G3


It can't find tbxi on partition 9?

Image

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:49 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
After installation you should start with simple "boot" command in openbios.
And I think you should swap indices of drvives(hard disk must become 0)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:58 am 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
alex195812 wrote:
After installation you should start with simple "boot" command in openbios.
And I think you should swap indices of drvives(hard disk must become 0)


Thanks, it was reading the install cd, got it going now.

Can't find any way to change the screen resolution?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
Without assigning -g on command line it boots to desktop and there you get working resolutions(as far as I remember).Though you can change them on command line,too,say -g 1024x768x32 or somehow.

As Server input problem seems too hard,I've returned to endeavours of booting Mac OS 8.6.As in mac99 it brings to "System bomb" with "bus error' it seems natural to try booting in g3beige.But direct attempt gives "This image is not for this platform",attempt to cheat on Mac OS ROM adding
Code:
-prom-env 'boot-command=dev / " PowerMac3,1" encode-string " model" property " PowerMac3,1" encode-string " MacRISC" encode-string encode+ " MacRISC2" encode-string encode+ " Power Macintosh" encode-string encode+ " compatible" property'
comes to "unable to find an interrupt controller node" and adding -device openpic results as
Code:
qemu-system-ppc-scr-vga-sun-coc: Option '-device openpic' cannot be handled by this machine

In device tree for g3beige (unlike mac99) there's no pic.Is this for real?How can we boot so many systems without an interrupt controller?Does anybody understand what's the matter?
And did real Power Macintosh have pic?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:51 pm 
Offline
Apple Corer

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:01 pm
Posts: 240
alex195812 wrote:
Without assigning -g on command line it boots to desktop and there you get working resolutions(as far as I remember).Though you can change them on command line,too,say -g 1024x768x32 or somehow.

As Server input problem seems too hard,I've returned to endeavours of booting Mac OS 8.6.As in mac99 it brings to "System bomb" with "bus error' it seems natural to try booting in g3beige.But direct attempt gives "This image is not for this platform",attempt to cheat on Mac OS ROM adding
Code:
-prom-env 'boot-command=dev / " PowerMac3,1" encode-string " model" property " PowerMac3,1" encode-string " MacRISC" encode-string encode+ " MacRISC2" encode-string encode+ " Power Macintosh" encode-string encode+ " compatible" property'
comes to "unable to find an interrupt controller node" and adding -device openpic results as
Code:
qemu-system-ppc-scr-vga-sun-coc: Option '-device openpic' cannot be handled by this machine

In device tree for g3beige (unlike mac99) there's no pic.Is this for real?How can we boot so many systems without an interrupt controller?Does anybody understand what's the matter?
And did real Power Macintosh have pic?


All computers have Programmable Interrupt Controllers in them. It is probably an issue with OpenBIOS.

I agree, I think we should try to make Mac OS 8.6 boot in QEMU. Last time I heard, the problem with it was a missing Run Time Abstraction Services node.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:38 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
alex195812 wrote:
Oh,it's nice to have Windows builds,too!Thanx!Here is the source: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B69bs ... HAwSkRGZ1U
The latest ProgrammingKid cocoa file(if needed): http://www.mediafire.com/file/247u52aky ... file_3.zip
Openbios binary(Old World vga,screamer,sungem and Steven's patch to support DP1/Server boot):
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B69bs ... mdIa2t0Um8 Breaks OS 9.0/9.04 boot(no fix yet).


I downloaded your source and made a couple of changes, to try and support my sound card. It only works in 48000 Khz audio, and screamer was trying to change it to 44100 Khz, but I must have broken it, because, while the errors are gone, I have no sound device in the System Preferences in 10.2/3.

The error I was getting before the change:

Code:
coreaudio: Could not initialize playback
coreaudio: Could not set samplerate 44100
coreaudio: Reason: kAudioDeviceUnsupportedFormatError
coreaudio: Could not initialize playback
coreaudio: Could not set samplerate 44100
coreaudio: Reason: kAudioDeviceUnsupportedFormatError
audio: Failed to create voice `screamer'
screamer: Could not open voice


the screamer.c I changed:

Code:
static void screamer_reset(DeviceState *dev)
{
    ScreamerState *s = SCREAMER(dev);
   
    memset(s->regs, 0, sizeof(s->regs));
    memset(s->codec_ctrl_regs, 0, sizeof(s->codec_ctrl_regs));

    s->rate = 44100;
    s->bpos = 0;
    s->ppos = 0;

    screamer_update_settings(s);

    return;
}

static void screamer_realizefn(DeviceState *dev, Error **errp)
{
    return;
}

static void screamer_control_write(ScreamerState *s, uint32_t val)
{
    SCREAMER_DPRINTF("%s: val %" PRId32 "\n", __func__, val);
       
    /* Basic rate selection */
    switch ((val & 0x700) >> 8) {
    case 0x00:
        s->rate = 44100;
        break;
    case 0x1:
        s->rate = 29400;
        break;
    case 0x2:
        s->rate = 22050;
        break;
    case 0x3:
        s->rate = 17640;
        break;
    case 0x4:
        s->rate = 14700;
        break;
    case 0x5:
        s->rate = 11025;
        break;
    case 0x6:
        s->rate = 8820;
        break;
    case 0x7:
        s->rate = 7350;
        break;
    }


To:

Code:
static void screamer_reset(DeviceState *dev)
{
    ScreamerState *s = SCREAMER(dev);
   
    memset(s->regs, 0, sizeof(s->regs));
    memset(s->codec_ctrl_regs, 0, sizeof(s->codec_ctrl_regs));

    s->rate = 48000;
    s->bpos = 0;
    s->ppos = 0;

    screamer_update_settings(s);

    return;
}

static void screamer_realizefn(DeviceState *dev, Error **errp)
{
    return;
}

static void screamer_control_write(ScreamerState *s, uint32_t val)
{
    SCREAMER_DPRINTF("%s: val %" PRId32 "\n", __func__, val);
       
    /* Basic rate selection */
    switch ((val & 0x700) >> 8) {
    case 0x00:
        s->rate = 48000;
        break;
    case 0x1:
        s->rate = 29400;
        break;
    case 0x2:
        s->rate = 22050;
        break;
    case 0x3:
        s->rate = 17640;
        break;
    case 0x4:
        s->rate = 14700;
        break;
    case 0x5:
        s->rate = 11025;
        break;
    case 0x6:
        s->rate = 8820;
        break;
    case 0x7:
        s->rate = 7350;
        break;
    }


And in the audio.c I changed:

Code:
static struct {
    struct fixed_settings fixed_out;
    struct fixed_settings fixed_in;
    union {
        int hertz;
        int64_t ticks;
    } period;
    int try_poll_in;
    int try_poll_out;
} conf = {
    .fixed_out = { /* DAC fixed settings */
        .enabled = 1,
        .nb_voices = 1,
        .greedy = 1,
        .settings = {
            .freq = 44100,
            .nchannels = 2,
            .fmt = AUD_FMT_S16,
            .endianness =  AUDIO_HOST_ENDIANNESS,
        }
    },

    .fixed_in = { /* ADC fixed settings */
        .enabled = 1,
        .nb_voices = 1,
        .greedy = 1,
        .settings = {
            .freq = 44100,
            .nchannels = 2,
            .fmt = AUD_FMT_S16,
            .endianness = AUDIO_HOST_ENDIANNESS,
        }
    },

    .period = { .hertz = 100 },
    .try_poll_in = 1,
    .try_poll_out = 1,
};


To:

Code:
static struct {
    struct fixed_settings fixed_out;
    struct fixed_settings fixed_in;
    union {
        int hertz;
        int64_t ticks;
    } period;
    int try_poll_in;
    int try_poll_out;
} conf = {
    .fixed_out = { /* DAC fixed settings */
        .enabled = 1,
        .nb_voices = 1,
        .greedy = 1,
        .settings = {
            .freq = 48000,
            .nchannels = 2,
            .fmt = AUD_FMT_S16,
            .endianness =  AUDIO_HOST_ENDIANNESS,
        }
    },

    .fixed_in = { /* ADC fixed settings */
        .enabled = 1,
        .nb_voices = 1,
        .greedy = 1,
        .settings = {
            .freq = 48000,
            .nchannels = 2,
            .fmt = AUD_FMT_S16,
            .endianness = AUDIO_HOST_ENDIANNESS,
        }
    },

    .period = { .hertz = 100 },
    .try_poll_in = 1,
    .try_poll_out = 1,
};


Can you offer any help on how to do this right?

Like I say, the errors are gone, but no output device.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:51 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4422
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Check this commit:
https://github.com/mcayland/qemu/commit ... 289c9c3e28
particularly line 209 and on in screamer.c. That part was deleted due to speed issues with sound:
48000 made sound run too fast..... ;-)

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:01 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
Oh,it's higher than me at present :smile: .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:37 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
Thanks, I have another sound device, that does support 44100 Khz, but it does't show up in the System Preference either?

It Supports
@44100 Khz
2 CH 16 bit Integer
2 Ch 20 bit Integer
2 Ch 24 Bit Integer


Any clue what I should set it to?

Do I need to pass any audio flags to Qemu to get an audio device?

I can't figure it out, I don't get any coreaudio errors, when I select my HDMI sound card, but it won't work.

I know it supports coreaudio:

Code:
   <dict>
                  <key>_name</key>
                  <string>HDMI</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_manufacturer</key>
                  <string>Apple Inc.</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_output</key>
                  <integer>2</integer>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_srate</key>
                  <real>44100</real>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_transport</key>
                  <string>coreaudio_device_type_hdmi</string>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:12 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4422
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi, I seem to remember that not all versions of OSX show the audio device.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:09 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
It needs some clarification.
1)You have 2 sound cards on host,yes?
2)You have 2 qemu builds,modified and unmodified.
3)You have 2 OS X--host and guest.
Well,no doubt that your host sound cards won't appear in guest System Prefefences under any circumstances.The emulated AWACS(screamer) should.To make qemu use another host sound card you have to choose appropriate value in host System Preferences>Sound>Output (and connect your speakers to that output) and then the whole host will use the other card(qemu,too).If a sound device doesn't show up in host System Preferences it's a problem with host drivers.
AFAIK,not all OS X guests support screamer.DPs do not, I seem.And screamer really works only in mac99(though it may appear in g3beige,too).


Last edited by alex195812 on Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:58 am, edited 2 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:22 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Hi, Is there any way to get Mac OS X 10.1? I get the error "No valid state has been set by load or init-program" Help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:27 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
Your command line,please?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:30 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
Code:
qemu-system-ppc.exe -bios openbios-ppc -L pc-bios -boot d -m 512 -M mac99 -prom-env "auto-boot?=false" -prom-env "boot-args=-v -g 800x600x32 -sdl -cpu G3 -device usb-mouse -drive file=10.1.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom -drive file=10.1.raw,format=raw,media=disk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:34 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
With 10.1 you can use G4(it's better).And no need in usb-mouse.And no need to specify -g.
Looks OK.Next type boot in qemu window.


Last edited by alex195812 on Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:39 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:37 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
just boot? ok, i've been typing boot cd:9,\\:tbxi, and i'll change it to -cpu G4. Will test it tomorrow


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 6:11 am 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
alex195812 wrote:
It needs some clarification.
1)You have 2 sound cards on host,yes?
2)You have 2 qemu builds,modified and unmodified.
3)You have 2 OS X--host and guest.
Well,no doubt that your host sound cards won't appear in guest System Prefefences under any circumstances.The emulated AWACS(screamer) should.To make qemu use another host sound card you have to choose appropriate value in host System Preferences>Sound>Output (and connect your speakers to that output) and then the whole host will use the other card(qemu,too).If a sound device doesn't show up in host System Preferences it's a problem with host drivers.
AFAIK,not all OS X guests support screamer.DPs do not, I seem.And screamer really works only in mac99(though it may appear in g3beige,too).


Yes, I have a PCI sound card and an HDMI sound "device" on my Nvidia card.

Yes, I tried both my modified qemu, and the unmodified qemu.

Yes I'm running Sierra as my host.

I'm not having trouble with sound on the host, both audio devices work fine, and report they are supported by coreaudio.

I tested in 9.2.1, 10.2.0, and 10.3.9, in 9.2.1 the sound control panel would freeze when I opened it. In both 10.2/3, there was just no output device in the System Preference.

I tried removing the PCI sound card from the computer, but the HDMI sound still didn't work.

No great issue, I just thought I'd try and get sound to work, because every time I boot qemu-system-ppc-scr-vga-sun-coc, it complains that coreaudio can't change the sampling rate to 44100.

The output of system_profiler SPAudioDataType, run from the command line:

Code:
 Devices:

        iSight:

          Default Input Device: Yes
          Input Channels: 1
          Manufacturer: Apple, Inc.
          Current SampleRate: 48000
          Transport: FireWire

        HDMI:

          Manufacturer: Apple Inc.
          Output Channels: 2
          Current SampleRate: 44100
          Transport: HDMI

        kX SB0240 10k2 [ef00]:

          Default Output Device: Yes
          Default System Output Device: Yes
          Manufacturer: Eugene Gavrilov, kX Project
          Output Channels: 8
          Current SampleRate: 48000
          Transport: PCI


And system_profiler SPAudioDataType -xml :

Code:
<key>_name</key>
                  <string>iSight</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_default_audio_input_device</key>
                  <string>spaudio_yes</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_input</key>
                  <integer>1</integer>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_manufacturer</key>
                  <string>Apple, Inc.</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_srate</key>
                  <real>48000</real>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_transport</key>
                  <string>coreaudio_device_type_firewire</string>
               </dict>
               <dict>
                  <key>_name</key>
                  <string>HDMI</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_manufacturer</key>
                  <string>Apple Inc.</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_output</key>
                  <integer>2</integer>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_srate</key>
                  <real>44100</real>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_transport</key>
                  <string>coreaudio_device_type_hdmi</string>
               </dict>
               <dict>
                  <key>_name</key>
                  <string>kX SB0240 10k2 [ef00]</string>
                  <key>_properties</key>
                  <string>coreaudio_default_audio_system_device</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_default_audio_output_device</key>
                  <string>spaudio_yes</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_default_audio_system_device</key>
                  <string>spaudio_yes</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_manufacturer</key>
                  <string>Eugene Gavrilov, kX Project</string>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_output</key>
                  <integer>8</integer>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_srate</key>
                  <real>48000</real>
                  <key>coreaudio_device_transport</key>
                  <string>coreaudio_device_type_pci</string>


Odd, that the HDMI doesn't work, but I just like to hear the systems sound, not that I'm going to try and do audio production in Qemu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:09 am 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
What openbios version do you use?Freezing in 9.2.1 looks like an older one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 12:46 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
alex195812 wrote:
What openbios version do you use?Freezing in 9.2.1 looks like an older one.



/qemu-scr-sun-co10012017/openbios-qemu-wip-13082016.elf


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:22 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 169
I should have guessed!This version doesn't support screamer.It is provided for its ability to boot OS 9.0 mostly.You should use openbios-qemu-scr-sunM.elf.
Generally,screamer should appear no matter does qemu like your soundcard or not.In a bad case there'll be no real sound.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:36 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 139
alex195812 wrote:
I should have guessed!This version doesn't support screamer.It is provided for its ability to boot OS 9.0 mostly.You should use openbios-qemu-scr-sunM.elf.
Generally,screamer should appear no matter does qemu like your soundcard or not.In a bad case there'll be no real sound.


Ok, I'll give that a try.

BTW do any Xcode gurus know how to disable -fapple-kext?

The only documentation I could find said that setting:

GCC_ENABLE_KERNEL_DEVELOPMENT = NO

Should disable -fapple-kext, but it doesn't seem to work?

EDIT: Thanks, alex, that got sound working, however it's garbed, and playing a mp3 in iTunes seems to use all the resources of the guest system. It becomes unresponsive, but the playback does continue.

I tried with my HDMI sound device:

Code:
qemu-system-ppc-scr-vga-sun-coc  -prom-env 'boot-args=-v' -hda  /Users/jam2/Documents/MacHDX.img    -bios  /Users/jam2/Downloads/qemu-scr-sun-co10012017/openbios-qemu-scr-sunM.elf -M mac99 -cpu G4 -m 1024


In OS X 10.2.0, and I also tried the modified qemu, with my PCI sound card:

Code:
qemu-system-ppc -prom-env 'boot-args=-v' -hda  /Users/jam2/Documents/MacHDX.img    -bios  /Users/jam2/Downloads/qemu-scr-sun-co10012017/openbios-qemu-scr-sunM.elf -M mac99 -m 1024 -cpu G4


Really, the same result with both, sound garbled. I haven't tested with 10.3.9, yet.

I opened the MIDI Setup app, on the guest OS and gleaned that the Build-in sound was set to 441000 sampling rate and 2 CH 16 bit integer. So I set my host OS sound to that, and shutdown qemu, and ran it again, but had the same result, with the HDMI.

I'm working on building the sound drive kext and setup apps for my PCI kx device, it says it supports 441000 sampling rate, in the source code, but it doesn't show up in the MIDI setup, of the host. The only option I get it 48000 8 CH 32 bit integer. The setup app that comes with the driver source doesn't launch, so I'm working on trying to build it, but I'm having the -fapple-kext flag passed to clang, by Xcode, and can't figure out how to disable that.

I'm using a rebuilt binary of the kx.kext. for my PCI sound card now, if I can rebuild it, maybe I can have 44100 and be able to select 16 bit integer.

EDID2: Launching qemu seems to set my HDMI device to 44100 sampling rate and 2 CH 24 bit integer on the host, even tho the guest reports 16 bit integer.

I'm not sure that matters?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 6:23 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:24 pm
Posts: 108
DP4: I get up to Starting ATS Server or something like that, and it closes out on me :(

Code:
qemu-system-ppc.exe -bios openbios-ppc -L pc-bios -boot d -m 256 -M mac99 -prom-env "auto-boot?=false" -prom-env "boot-args=-v" -g 800x600x32 -cpu G3 -drive file=MacOSX_developer_preview_4.iso,format=raw,media=disk -drive file=DP4.raw,format=raw,media=disk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 63 of 81 [ 2025 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66 ... 81  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group