Login  •  Register


The time is now: Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:35 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 38 of 83 [ 2057 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 ... 83  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:41 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4638
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Quote:
I boot into the installer and format the drive with Disk Utility. Then after the installer completes and reboots it will automatically try to boot the cd again. If I cancel this and remove the cd image from the command line and change "d" to "c" to boot from hard disc, it tries to boot from the hd but then gives up with "no valid state has been set by load or init-program". If I shut down QEMU while the installer is counting down to reboot and make the same changes to the command line I still get the same error on boot.


If you keep both cdrom and disk entries in the command line, you also need to change the order of disk and cdrom entries.
To prevent the automatic reboot (at the yellowish openbios window) set auto-boot to false. You then have to enter "boot" at the prompt to boot. But can then also quit Qemu while not being in the boot process.

What is your command line, and for which download?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:44 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2668
Location: Emaculation.com
What command-line values are you passing to qemu? This might help us figure out why you get the load error. The sample command line provided by Cat_7 should be enough to get things running, switching from d to c after initial install and removing the DVD parameter.

For your other comments, I believe that the x500 series handles pretty much the same OSes as the G3 Beige, so chasing this hardware configuration is probably not worthwhile. The x100 set is the only one that provides significantly more OS support.

I've run D11e4 and D9 without a debugger; D7E1 does indeed need a second Mac connected, but isn't really stable enough to do anything with even in that state. For that matter, D9 isn't really, either.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:15 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 21
Thanks for the replies guys. Here's an example command line I use to install:

Code:
./qemu-system-ppc-wip-16082016 -bios ./openbios-qemu-wip-13082016.elf -boot d -M mac99p -m 512 -prom-env 'auto-boot?=true' -prom-env 'boot-args=-v' -netdev user,id=network0 -device sungem,netdev=network0 -g 800x600x32 -drive file=103.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom -drive file=panty.img,format=raw,media=disk

Then after the installer is finished I remove the entry for the iso file and change boot to "c". When I run the new command line I get the error at the yellow openbios screen.

I've tried changing auto-boot to false and typing "boot" at the prompt but it gives the same error.

I've tried with mac99 and mac99p. Also various versions from here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 6:59 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4638
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Quote:
I boot into the installer and format the drive with Disk Utility.


Hi,
I just did a basic 10.3 installation with the version of Qemu/OpenBIOS you used in your command line. All went well and I could boot.
How did you make the image to install on? And did you partition and format it in Diskutility?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:24 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:13 pm
Posts: 5
hyoenmadan wrote:
Seeing the answers, probably the first thing we could do is enable QEMU to load g3beige ROMset via [-bios] QEMU parameter, so we can see how QEMU emulation behaves with it, and check if we can boot older MacOSs with the hardware emulation g3beige already offers.


it's quite trivial to load a 4MB (beige Powermac G3) rom at 0xFFC00000, but it locks up really early during the startup:

0xfff06fdc: lbz r13,32(r12)
0xfff06fe0: rlwinm. r13,r13,0,29,29
0xfff06fe4: beq+ 0xfff06fdc

it's likely trying to do something with some unimplemented hardware.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:10 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2668
Location: Emaculation.com
Any idea what's being held in r13 at the time? If we can backrace to what was loaded there and why, we can likely figure that part out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:01 pm 
Offline
Apple Corer

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:55 pm
Posts: 267
Code:
qemu-system-ppc-wip -bios openbios-qemu-wip.elf -L pc-bios -boot d -drive file=Mac_OS_9.2.2_Uni.iso,index=0,media=cdrom -drive file=testimg.img,index=1,media=disk,format=raw -M mac99 -m 256 -prom-env 'auto-boot?=true' -g 800x600 -net none -usb -device usb-mouse -device usb-kbd -sdl


So, here's my new command line.

If you try to initialize the empty hard disk (testimg.img) with Drive Setup 1.9.2 in Mac OS 9.2.2's boot up disk, it locks up the whole OS and you can't move the mouse cursor. testimg.img a 4 GB (0xFFFFFFFF bytes) hard disk image that is completely blank at first. By blank, I mean the .img is initially nothing but a bunch of 0x00's. However, it seems like it does create 0x103F bytes in the hard disk image that set up the layout for the hard drive before locking up.

After quitting out of QEMU from that soft lock and booting it back up with the aforementioned command prompt, the OS does recognize testimg.img as an uninitialized hard disk, allowing you to select the format and enter in the drive's name. However, it immediately locks up after displaying "Creating directory...". This happens regardless of the drive name entered or the format selected.

Of note is that the CD ROM drive is recognized as ATAPI (Bus: 0, ID: 0, LUN: 0), while the hard drive image is ATA (Bus: 0, ID: 1, LUN: 0).

Right now, I'm trying to write zeroes to the hard disk image to make sure it can write to images raw, but it does take a very long time to do (if it can be done) with Drive Setup 1.9.2.

I'm using:
QEMU 2.8-devel (Cat7's Windows 64-bit build)
Windows 10 64-bit
OpenBIOS - August 13, 2016 build
Mac OS 9.2.2 (Uni)

stdout:
MACIO: Creating CUDA
PMU: 0000000000000000
CUDA: 00000000190ae128
adb_bus: 00000000190ae530
Machine ARCH=1

Gonna have to do traces on MACIO to see what's going on.


Last edited by kataetheweirdo on Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:27 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 21
Cat_7 wrote:
How did you make the image to install on? And did you partition and format it in Diskutility?

I made it with the included qemu-img tool. Just a regular 4G raw image. When the installer boots I partition and format it in DU.

I just tried Panther again but with auto-boot set to false. When installation ended, it rebooted to the openbios screen and I quit Qemu and made my changes to the command line. Then when I ran it and typed boot, it booted the hard disk. Now it's installing the content from CD2.

So I guess the mistake I was making was having auto-boot set to true for installation.

As an update I've just tried to install two different builds of Jaguar and both gave this error when I try to boot from the hard disk after completing the install.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 6:39 am 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:59 am
Posts: 50
Location: Unknown
Hmm, I have managed to install Jaguar (ie. 10.2.0, not any later version) on my usual config (ie. 2.8 for Windows, Aug 13 OpenBIOS), but in doing so, I ran into an odd problem. When specifying the cd image in the qemu command (after the system reboots from disk 1), Mac OS X kernel panics when booting up. However, if I mount the image via the monitor after the system has booted up, the OS does not crash and the CD mounts without any problems. Why is it happening, and can it be fixed?

@Amiganaut: which versions, specifically? After installing 10.2.0, I have also managed to install 10.2.8, but with the same problems listed above.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:02 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:13 pm
Posts: 5
adespoton wrote:
Any idea what's being held in r13 at the time? If we can backrace to what was loaded there and why, we can likely figure that part out.


i added a fake device around the address 0xf3000000 (where the rom gets stuck), that's what happens:

XXXX: write4 addr f3000024 val 00000080
XXXX: write4 addr f3000028 val ffffffff
XXXX: write4 addr f3000038 val 3aff3e03
XXXX: write4 addr f3000038 val faffbe01
XXXX: wead4 addr f3000038 val 00000000
XXXX: write4 addr f3000038 val 1000000c
XXXX: write1 addr f3017e00 val 10
XXXX: write1 addr f3016600 val 58
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 38
XXXX: write1 addr f3016400 val 30
XXXX: write1 addr f3017800 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3017600 val 1c
XXXX: write1 addr f3017c00 val 7f
XXXX: read1 addr f3017600 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3017600 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3017c00 val 84
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 30
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (3338 of these)
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)

XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (51675 of these)
XXXX: wead4 addr f3000034 val 00000000
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 30
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (3338 of these)
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)

XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (18337 of these)
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)

XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (18337 of these)
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)

XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (15000 of these)
XXXX: wead4 addr f3014020 val 00000000 (159608 of these)

XXXX: write1 addr f30723f0 val 1c
XXXX: write1 addr f30723e0 val 42
XXXX: write1 addr f30723d0 val f0
XXXX: write1 addr f30723c0 val ff
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 09
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val c0
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 0d
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 00
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 0c
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 0a
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 0e
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 01
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 0b
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 50
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 05
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val ea
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 04
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 44
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 03
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val c1
XXXX: read1 addr f3013020 val 00 (forever)


Last edited by iDG on Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:16 am 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 21
@sidoh: The two Jaguar versions I tried were 10.2.7 (a grey iMac install DVD) and the WWDC build. The 10.3 build I installed successfully after changing auto-boot to false was the WWDC one.

Update: had to go out for a bit, so I left 10.4.3 installing. When I came back it was done and sitting at the openbios prompt. Made my changes and it booted up fine. So I guess this boot issue is more likely to occur with Jaguar (and maybe earlier).

Update 2: Successfully installed 10.0 and now I've also managed to get the WWDC build of Jaguar to install. I added the G3 cpu option for these two during installation. Maybe that helped?


Last edited by Amiganaut on Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:28 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:13 pm
Posts: 5
0xf30130x0, as it stands, it's the address of the on-board ESCC uart. pointing the escc device at that address and adding a -serial stdio option to the command line, the openfirmware ">" prompt appears. but it's impossible to enter commands.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:45 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 11:19 am
Posts: 1
I'm unlikely to be very helpful with any of this, but I've been following this topic with interest, and thought I'd have a crack at contributing something:

iDG wrote:
Code:
XXXX: write1 addr f3017e00 val 10               W Timer 1 latch (high 8 bits)
XXXX: write1 addr f3016600 val 58               W A-side direction (1=output)
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 38               W B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016400 val 30               W B-side direction (1=output
XXXX: write1 addr f3017800 val 00               W Peripheral control register
XXXX: write1 addr f3017600 val 1c               W Auxiliary control register
XXXX: write1 addr f3017c00 val 7f               WInterrupt enable register
XXXX: read1 addr f3017600 val 00               R Auxiliary control register
XXXX: write1 addr f3017600 val 00               W Auxiliary control register
XXXX: write1 addr f3017c00 val 84               W Interrupt enable register
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00               R B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 30               W B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (3338 of these)      R B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)      R Interrupt flag register
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00               R B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10            W B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (51675 of these)      R B-side data

XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00               R B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 30               W B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (3338 of these)      R B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)      R Interrupt flag register
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00               R B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10               W B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (18337 of these)      R B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)      R Interrupt flag register
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00               R B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10               W B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (18337 of these)      R B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3017a00 val 00 (18337 of these)      R Interrupt flag register
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00               R B-side data
XXXX: write1 addr f3016000 val 10               W B-side data
XXXX: read1 addr f3016000 val 00 (15000 of these)      R B-side data



^^ VIA-PMU (F3016000-F3017FFF). Register functions added from https://github.com/777jon/g3/blob/master/drivers/macintosh/via-pmu.c.

Quote:
XXXX: write4 addr f3000024 val 00000080
-snip-
XXXX: wead4 addr f3000034 val 00000000


^^ PIC @ F300000, interrupt control registers @ F3000020? (from ftp://ftp.trace32.com/Education/Linux_Debugging_Course/TRACE32_4_Linux/kernel/linux-2.6.15/arch/powerpc/platforms/powermac/pic.c)

Quote:
XXXX: wead4 addr f3014020 val 00000000 (159608 of these)[/color]


^^ DAVbus (F3014000-F3014FFF), audio controller, F3014020 = codec status register? (from http://web.mit.edu/freebsd/head/sys/dev/sound/macio/davbusreg.h).

Quote:
XXXX: write1 addr f30723f0 val 1c
XXXX: write1 addr f30723e0 val 42
XXXX: write1 addr f30723d0 val f0
XXXX: write1 addr f30723c0 val ff


^^ Possibly PRAM/NVRAM? (from "f3060000-f307ffff : 0.00060000:nvram" @ https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/linux.debian.bugs.dist/YmD9zBr5gPg/m1rjcjhIVRUJ). Judging by a handful of Linux logs found on Google, the NVRAM contains partitions "MacOS XPRAM" @ +0x1300, "MacOS Name Registry" @ +0x1400, and "OpenFirmware" @ +0x1800, but these writes seem to be @ +0x12xxx. I can't find much that's easy to parse about the NVRAM layout, so I'm just guessing at this stuff.

Quote:
XXXX: write1 addr f3013020 val 09
-snip-
XXXX: read1 addr f3013020 val 00 (forever)


^^ UART channel A, follows Zilog serial controller (F3013000-F301301F).


Last edited by enginox on Sat Aug 27, 2016 2:27 pm, edited 10 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:49 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 11
iDG wrote:
0xf30130x0, as it stands, it's the address of the on-board ESCC uart. pointing the escc device at that address and adding a -serial stdio option to the command line, the openfirmware ">" prompt appears. but it's impossible to enter commands.


Ofc. In OldWorld Macs you weren't supposed to see the ok > prompt never ever, so these versions don't have support for OF console input (supposedly there was a special debugging cable allowed to enter OF commands via terminal in these old versions, but i never saw such device).

Well, at least with your results we now know QEMU is capable to boot the ROMset to Apple's OF console. Would be a nice idea to check what MoL does in this case.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 2:48 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:13 pm
Posts: 5
hyoenmadan wrote:
Ofc. In OldWorld Macs you weren't supposed to see the ok > prompt never ever, so these versions don't have support for OF console input (supposedly there was a special debugging cable allowed to enter OF commands via terminal in these old versions, but i never saw such device).


I think that atleast the beige G3 macs had a somewhat working open firmware, that could be triggered with cmd-option-o-f, and the console would be on the "modem" port.

hyoenmadan wrote:
Well, at least with your results we now know QEMU is capable to boot the ROMset to Apple's OF console. Would be a nice idea to check what MoL does in this case.


presently it's not really working. some characters will echo ";#\r\n" other will echo the correct character and lock up.

to make something work, we'd need to emulate the G3 graphics card, or inject an openfirmware driver for the qemu framebuffer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:33 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 11
iDG wrote:
To make something work, we'd need to emulate the G3 graphics card, or inject an openfirmware driver for the qemu framebuffer.


Injecting a driver would be the better, as we already have one for MacOS9/X in "mac99" profile.
I see MoL also injects a sightly modified OF device tree (it has different versions, one for each ROMset model it supports, in our case would be only need Gossamer DT). I wonder if that would be necessary for QEMU, in order to load the injected video driver.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:17 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2668
Location: Emaculation.com
According to what enginox said, it looks like we're getting stuck in a loop on the modem port -- which kind of indicates it is sitting on the modem port waiting for an external device to connect to get to the OF prompt.

So it looks really good; we just need to build the device tree and load a video driver, as MoL does. Or, as hyoenmadan suggested, just pull the video driver from Mac99 and present it the same way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:44 am 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 21
I don't know if it was disabling auto-boot or using G3 for installation (or both), but I'm having no problems with my OS X installs now.

Installs of 10.0 GM, 10.1 GM, 10.2 WWDC, 10.3 WWDC and 10.4.3 were all successful, and I've just finished installing the Public Beta.

It's great to be able to have these running in emulation. Much more convenient than digging out the right hardware. Thanks for all the hard work :)

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:53 am 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 87
Amiganaut wrote:
I don't know if it was disabling auto-boot or using G3 for installation (or both), but I'm having no problems with my OS X installs now.

Installs of 10.0 GM, 10.1 GM, 10.2 WWDC, 10.3 WWDC and 10.4.3 were all successful, and I've just finished installing the Public Beta.

It's great to be able to have these running in emulation. Much more convenient than digging out the right hardware. Thanks for all the hard work :)

https://i.imgur.com/inBoZ8y.png

https://i.imgur.com/Bl7IjwC.png

Awesome! Can't wait to try the Public Beta. What's in your qemu.command file?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:05 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:13 pm
Posts: 5
adespoton wrote:
According to what enginox said, it looks like we're getting stuck in a loop on the modem port -- which kind of indicates it is sitting on the modem port waiting for an external device to connect to get to the OF prompt.


it's trying to do that. but the escc emulation is not good enough apparently, because it does not really work.

besides, there must be something wrong, because the beige G3 is not supposed to drop to openfirware in case of "trivial" errors -- then again, the something wrong may very well be the fact that there's no graphics card and a beige G3 is not supposed to not to have a graphics card, as it's part of the motherboard.

adespoton wrote:
So it looks really good; we just need to build the device tree and load a video driver, as MoL does. Or, as hyoenmadan suggested, just pull the video driver from Mac99 and present it the same way.


not really: it's not possible to build a device tree, because the rom is supposed to do that -- going to the route of the "on the fly" rom patching as sheepshaver does, it's not really the way to go, in my opinion.

it may be possible to add a pci open firmware option rom that contains the video driver but we need to emulate atleast enough of a pci card for that to be configured and recognized by the rom.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:50 am 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 21
celebi23 wrote:
Awesome! Can't wait to try the Public Beta. What's in your qemu.command file?

This is what I've been using for all of the OS X installs:
Code:
./qemu-system-ppc-wip-16082016 -bios ./openbios-qemu-wip-13082016.elf -boot d -M mac99 -m 1G -cpu G3 -prom-env 'auto-boot?=false' -prom-env 'boot-args=-v' -netdev user,id=network0 -device sungem,netdev=network0 -g 800x600x32 -drive file=pb.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom -drive file=pb.img,format=raw,media=disk

With the Public Beta you have to set the date back to before May 15th 2001 and prevent it from getting online as it will do a network time check during boot. If it does, you'll get this when you log in. You can either pull the network connection for the host machine, or remove the -device sungem,netdev=network0 switch from the command line. Depending on your os, you can add a date command to the batch file to change it before it runs qemu and another afterwards to fix it.


Last edited by Amiganaut on Sun Aug 28, 2016 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:52 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2668
Location: Emaculation.com
Has anyone created a date patch for the PB? It seems like something that should be trivial, but I haven't heard of anyone doing it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 8:01 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 21
I've never heard of one. When I ran it before this, I usually just set the date accordingly and kept the Mac offline.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 8:43 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:59 am
Posts: 50
Location: Unknown
Hmm, I seem to have a bit of a problem here. I'm using the Windows build of QEMU/OpenBIOS available from here, and am trying to install 10.3.0 using these disks:

http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/mac-osx-mac-os-10-ppc

However, my install hangs at extracting the base system. I have tried it with the following combinations, and all of them hang (no matter the software selection):

* G3 or G4 processor
* mac99 or mac99p machine
* 512, 768, or 1024MB RAM

Can anyone help me with this? I'm using a 6GB raw image created with the qemu-img of this build as my hard disk image.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:52 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2668
Location: Emaculation.com
You'll want G3, mac99, 256MB, I think. That's what I use on OS X.

"./Mac OS X 10.3" -bios openbios-ppc -boot c -drive file="/dev/rdisk$DEVNUM",format=raw,media=disk -M mac99 -m 256 -cpu G3 -netdev user,id=network0 -device rtl8139,netdev=network0 -prom-env 'auto-boot?=true' -g 1280x720x32 -name "- 2002-3 Mac OS X 10.3.9"

But I'm still using the RC4 build of 2.7.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 38 of 83 [ 2057 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 ... 83  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group