Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:31 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:50 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:11 am
Posts: 6
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hi,

I'm suffering from a mouse problem. I've been looking for a solution for weeks, but had no results.
I have come here hoping someone can help.
The OS I'm trying to run is Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah (the problem is also in Mac OS X 10.1)
Setting USB Device to USB Mouse solved issue in Mac OS X 10.2 and Mac OS X 10.3
Setting USB Device to USB Tablet solved issue in Mac OS X 10.4

Host Operating System: Windows 10 Home (Latest update)
Computer's Specifications: (Please don't laugh) :oops:
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3217U CPU @ 1.80GHz
RAM: 8.00 GB (7.82 GB usable)
64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor (ACPI x64-based PC)
"GPU": Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000

Description of the issue:
-Mouse shoots left of the screen and clicks on it's own. (With USB Support off)
-Setting USB Device to USB Mouse has the same problem as having USB Support off.
-Setting USB Device to USB Tablet renders the mouse useless.

Here's a video showing the issue:
https://youtu.be/dIRgW15Yaqc

Here is the .vm2 file (Please open with Notepad or Notepad++):
https://drive.google.com/file/d/19vk1tTVj9h9uTgaYR0PdMncNBqs7nLUY/view?usp=sharing

Version of QEMU used: qemu-w32-setup-20180430.exe
https://qemu.weilnetz.de/w32/2018/qemu- ... 180430.exe

Using QEMU Manager 7.0
ISO used:
https://winworldpc.com/download/3e20e28 ... c3a4e284a2

Thank you greatly for your time :smile:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 5:58 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4353
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

This is a typical issue when using the GTK gui. Check your qemu manager to enable the SDL gui.
I see that option in the vm2 file, so you must be able to set it somewhere.

Also use the sungem network device instead of the ne2k_pci device. Otherwise you will not have network capabilities in OSX.

Btw: that qemu-manager provides hopelessly outdated qemu facilities. What do you use it for?


Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:35 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:11 am
Posts: 6
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Cat_7 wrote:
Hi,

This is a typical issue when using the GTK gui. Check your qemu manager to enable the SDL gui.
I see that option in the vm2 file, so you must be able to set it somewhere.

Also use the sungem network device instead of the ne2k_pci device. Otherwise you will not have network capabilities in OSX.

Btw: that qemu-manager provides hopelessly outdated qemu facilities. What do you use it for?


Best,
Cat_7


Hello,

Thank you very much for your reply!
Unfortunately, applying the SDL gui yielded no improvement.
Here is a screenshot of what I believe is the option to enable the SDL gui (highlighted)
https://i.imgur.com/GRMvFCc.png

Here is the new .vm2 file for your diagnosis: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AG4IOI ... sp=sharing

Thanks again,
HAWk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:58 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4353
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

You say you use the downloaded qemu version from weilnetz.de
How did you integrate that into your Qemu manager? I read that it uses it own (and by now very old) version of Qemu.

What is your command when you use Qemu from weilnetz.de?

You might try our build from over here:
posting.php?mode=edit&f=34&p=53788

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:50 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:11 am
Posts: 6
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hi there,

Ah, yes. I installed QEMU from weilnetz.de in to "E:\QemuManager\qemu". "E:\" being my external harddrive.
Although, it only works with the 32-bit version and not the 64-bit version of QEMU.

Since the file names haven't been changed since that old version of QEMU, QemuManager
thinks it's the version it came with. So, I don't need a command to run the (newish) version of QEMU from weilnetz.de.

The link you have provided leads me to a "You cannot edit posts in this forum." error.
Sorry to be a pain, but could you re-link your build please?

Sincerely,
HAWk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:01 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4353
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Oops!

Download this one:
http://www.open.ou.nl/hsp/downloads3/Wi ... 062018.zip

You can use it with our guide over here:
https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/pp ... or-windows

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:04 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:11 am
Posts: 6
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thank you for letting me know about the build.

Unfortunately, it seems the 26-06-2018 build has been deleted, so I went through the
guide you linked to get to the downloads. I chose the 26-06-2018 build which has
"New screamer-enabled build based on recent source, containing the same cuda and SDL fixes."
as it's description.

I tried installing Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah, the "mouse darting to the left" problem is still there,
I'll try adding a USB Tablet, hopefully that'll work. I'll also play around with the .bat file.

Here's the .bat file I created, just in case I've made a mistake, or you need it for further diagnosis.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ETf_ws ... sp=sharing

EDIT: Okay, so I tried a few things, here are my results:

The line "-sdl" is in the .bat file
Leaving .bat file as is (Mouse moves left at random)
-M mac99 & -device usb-mouse (Mouse moves left at random)
-M mac99 & -device usb-tablet (Mouse moves left at random)
-M mac99,via=pmu (No mouse movement)
-M mac99,via=pmu-adb (No mouse movement)
-M mac99,via=pmu-adb & -device usb-tablet (No mouse movement)
-M mac99,via=pmu-adb & -device usb-mouse (No mouse movement)
-M mac99,via=pmu & -device usb-tablet (No mouse movement)
-M mac99,via=pmu & -device usb-mouse (No mouse movement)

I'm beginning to think I'm looking in the wrong place of the .bat file... :???:

Sincerely,
HAWk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:18 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4353
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

No, your observations are correct. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a solution for this, as the gtk GUI has its own grabbing problems.
Did you install 10.0? Does the installed version show the same issue?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:07 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:11 am
Posts: 6
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hey,

Okay, good to know I'm on the right track...

Well, I'm on the "Welcome" screen, specifically this one: https://i.imgur.com/Hq2mvSD.png
It is incredibly lagged, I can tell because of the serious stuttering of the Welcome music that plays
during the post install process, (Picking a country, keyboard layout, ect.) and the mouse is very slow as well.
Also, the command prompt is spitting out, "command 4000, invalid key 0" for infinity.

Here's what I see: https://i.imgur.com/jxfLbYt.png

The mouse is also moving to the left on it's own still.

Also, here's the .bat file again, just in case you need to check anything: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vMy6E8 ... sp=sharing

Sincerely,
HAWk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:33 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4353
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
I fixed the link to the other experimental build: http://www.open.ou.nl/hsp/downloads3/Wi ... 062018.zip
That build does not support audio. Playing audio is a serious burden on the performance, so you might try it.

Use this command line (adjust to your situation):

qemu-system-ppc.exe -L pc-bios -boot d -m 512 -M g3beige -cpu G3 -prom-env "auto-boot?=true" -prom-env "boot-args=-v" -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true" -drive file=10.0.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom -drive file=10.0.img,format=raw,media=disk -sdl -netdev user,id=network01 -device sungem,netdev=network01 -usb -device usb-mouse

This is the best it will get. At least at my place this combination results in the least jumpy mouse.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:59 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:11 am
Posts: 6
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thank you very much for your help!
I can't express my gratitude in text, I really appreciate it.
I will try what you have suggested immediately!

Thanks again,
HAWk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group