Login  •  Register


The time is now: Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:13 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 7 of 8 [ 191 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:35 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:34 am
Posts: 19
Aw, what a bummer. :sad:

If only SheepShaver had MMU support.... that would have been great while QEMU PPC matured into something better than it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:29 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:50 pm
Posts: 76
Ministar48 wrote:
Aw, what a bummer. :sad:

If only SheepShaver had MMU support.... that would have been great while QEMU PPC matured into something better than it.


SheepShaver is a broken P.O.S. compared to QEMU. Launching SheepShaver under Windows is as reliable as flipping a coin. There are days that I can reboot 3-4 times until it finally launches. The most ironical error message SheepShaver throws at you on a bad day is: "ERROR: NO ERROR." I can't get over this one, it's so funny it's almost sad. The only advantage is it's currently faster than QEMU, but that's it really.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:49 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2719
Location: Emaculation.com
Well, the other advantage of SheepShaver over QEMU is that it also runs Mac OS 7.5.2 through Mac OS 9.0.2. For most people that won't be an issue, but for my use cases it can be :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:26 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:25 am
Posts: 43
Location: Romania
All words won't fit on a single line, when written in notepad or notepad++

Image
Image

Below it is written that it fits :
https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/ppc-osx-on-qemu-for-windows

Creating an empty disk image does nothing. I try this twice. MacOS9.2.iso file was not increased in size and no new files were created.
Image

Comodo antivirus shows that .bat files works, but is puting it in a sandbox mode after, only once. Than, nothing happens with qemu.
Image

_________________
dosbox turbo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:11 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi, which qemu build did you download?

1. Notepad can have word wrap activated and that means it wraps text that is too long for the window to what seems a new line, but is not.
2. Notepad ++: just put you cursor before the first character in the second line and press backspace. Then make sure there is a space between -prom-env and "boot-args=-v". Save the file and open it to check whether the command is on one line.

3. Did you check the folder E:\programs\qemu for the image you created?
The iso should never increase in size, there should only be a new hard disk image: MacOS9.2.img


Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 6:10 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:06 pm
Posts: 4
Location: US, Oklahoma
It seems the current Qemu build 08-01-2019 finally has "usable" speeds on this hunk of outdated hardware.
Quote:
Windows 10 running on
AMD E-300 Dual Core 1.3Ghz
Integrated Radeon HD 6310
4Gb of DDR3 RAM
I was amazed that the previous builds were even running at all on this, now i'm actually able to "use" Mac OS X somewhat with this latest build.Even though the issue with the mouse is there. Will that ever be fixed?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:35 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2719
Location: Emaculation.com
If you want to write command line scripts on multiple lines, in cmd.exe end the line with ^ and you can wrap to the next line. In bash (for Linux and OS X) you use \ .

This means that you can create a bat file with each option on its own line, ending each line in ^. To convert to a sh file, replace the ^ with a \.

eg: here's a qemupb.bat script for OS X Public Beta on QEMU:
Code:
qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
  -L pc-bios ^
  -boot c ^
  -drive file="osxpb.qcow2,format=raw,media=disk ^
  -M mac99 ^
  -m 256 ^
  -cpu G4 ^
  -prom-env 'auto-boot?=true' ^
  -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true" ^
  -g 1280x720x32 ^
  -rtc base="2000-10-01",clock=vm ^
  -name "- OS X Public Beta"
REM  -netdev user,id=vlan0 ^
REM  -device sungem,netdev=vlan0


With a few changes, something like this can be done for any qemu guest on Windows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:01 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Quote:
Even though the issue with the mouse is there. Will that ever be fixed?


Are you using -sdl on your command line? If so, then that is the best it will get (perhaps until your hunk is decommissioned ;-)

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:26 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:25 am
Posts: 43
Location: Romania
Cat_7 wrote:
Hi, which qemu build did you download?

1. Notepad can have word wrap activated and that means it wraps text that is too long for the window to what seems a new line, but is not.
2. Notepad ++: just put you cursor before the first character in the second line and press backspace. Then make sure there is a space between -prom-env and "boot-args=-v". Save the file and open it to check whether the command is on one line.

3. Did you check the folder E:\programs\qemu for the image you created?
The iso should never increase in size, there should only be a new hard disk image: MacOS9.2.img


Best,
Cat_7


08-01-2019: Qemu 4.0

_________________
dosbox turbo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:57 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:06 pm
Posts: 4
Location: US, Oklahoma
Cat_7 wrote:
Quote:
Even though the issue with the mouse is there. Will that ever be fixed?


Are you using -sdl on your command line? If so, then that is the best it will get (perhaps until your hunk is decommissioned ;-)

Best,
Cat_7
I'm using it... I'm really stretching the hardware ain't I? :lol: Yeah, i've been meaning to upgrade eventually to completely new computer.
(What I have is so old by today's standards that almost anything is better then it. But i'm just a humble 15 year old, So it will probably take a while.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:04 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:50 pm
Posts: 76
Tested QEMU 4.0 w/ Mac OS 9.2.2 and I am pleased with the sound support, it works really good now. I can play MP3, trackers and the sound is very clear and contiguous. Tough there is an issue: after approx. 2 minutes, the jumpy cursor bug appeared and remained. It jumped to corners, random locations and even clicked and dragged my files around, thank god it's just a copy of another disk image file, because some files were stuffed inside random folders all over the drive :P

Are we supposed to add the "-device usb-mouse" parameter to ensure that the jumpy cursor does not reproduce?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:32 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
If you run with:

-m mac99,via=pmu

the usb mouse and keyboard will be used by default.
For me, this is the preferred way to 9.2. 9.0 has problems with this, so you should use the default mac99 there. But it will have the issue you described.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:33 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:50 pm
Posts: 76
You probably meant -M ... not -m ... correct?

AH! I didn't know 9.0 had problems with the USB mouse driver. That's interesting, I took note of this. Thanks! Mac OS 9.0 is not an OS I use at all under QEMU, since it works faster under SheepShaver, so that's where I use 9.0.4. EDIT: I've tested with the -M mac99,via=pmu argument and it seems indeed to work just fine now :) Perfect.

BTW (unrelated) : I see the following argument is still part of the .bat file distributed in your ZIP but I also read on here that 4.0 now has the VGA driver as default, so is this even supposed to be in the .bat anymore? -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true"

Another unrelated question, but would you happen to know why in the QEMU 4.0 console, the BACKSPACE to delete doesn't work anymore? :P That's so annoying and seems so random/unexpected as a bug :P

Thanks and keep it up! :D

Internet works just fine, sound works just fine... that's very nice progress! Wow!! :)

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:48 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Ah, yes:

-M mac99,via=pmu

-prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true" is default, so indeed not needed.
-prom-env "auto-boot?=true" is also default, so can also be removed.
-device VGA,edid=on is an interesting additional option as it provides much more screen resolutions to choose from.

I keep these explicit settings in the batch file because they raise awareness of the options.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:23 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:50 pm
Posts: 76
Well... it worked the first time I booted but after quitting QEMU and relaunching it half an hour later... no sound anymore :'( (until I reboot my host computer). It's weird that the guest OS sound feature stays broken even after QEMU is completely shut down and relaunched. I would have thought it would reset and work again, but there seems to be some memory leak preventing it to work again. I also noticed what actually breaks the sound feature in QEMU under Mac OS 9.2.2, it's when you disable virtual memory. And this stays broken until you reboot the whole host computer, not just QEMU. Anyway, re-enabling virtual memory and rebooting fixes the sound, it works fine again now :) I'll have to leave virtual memory ON at all times, then :-/

Also, would you happen to know if this is normal when QEMU 4.0 boots? Never seen that exception before with any of the previous QEMU versions I've tried since 2015:

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:22 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Yes, the exceptions are normal ;-)

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:57 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:50 pm
Posts: 76
Cat_7 wrote:
Yes, the exceptions are normal ;-)


Thanks Cat_7 !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:29 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 6:40 pm
Posts: 18
Hi Cat_7,

Where I can find sources for latest experimental/screamer build?
I would like to build it for Linux.

Kind Regards
Thom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:12 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Here is the current source repository:
https://github.com/mcayland/qemu/tree/screamer-ppc-next

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:25 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 6:40 pm
Posts: 18
Hi Cat_7

Many thanks, I'll try it today.

Would you able to create separate topic for linux/source code?

FYI I've successfully compiled previous version on Manjaro (based on Arch).
Only small difference in commands I used to build it:

Code:
git clone -b screamer https://github.com/mcayland/qemu qemu-screamer
cd qemu-screamer
./configure --target-list="ppc-softmmu" --enable-gtk --enable-sdl --with-sdlabi=2.0 –audio-drv-list="pa"
make
cd ppc-softmmu
strip qemu-system-ppc


Cat_7 wrote:
Hi,

Here is the current source repository:
https://github.com/mcayland/qemu/tree/screamer-ppc-next

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:27 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
You can create a topic yourself if you want to ;-)

Code:
git clone -b screamer https://github.com/mcayland/qemu qemu-screamer
cd qemu-screamer
./configure --target-list="ppc-softmmu" --enable-gtk --enable-sdl --with-sdlabi=2.0 –audio-drv-list="pa"
make
cd ppc-softmmu
strip qemu-system-ppc


Is correct, the latest code was put under the screamer branch just yesterday, not the screamer-ppc-next branch
You do not need --with-sdlabi=2.0 as that is currently the default. SDL 1.2 support has been depricated.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:36 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 6:40 pm
Posts: 18
Cat_7 wrote:
You can create a topic yourself if you want to ;-)

I wish got enough time to keep up to date :)

I'm trying to get working pre 4.0 version but it's clear I missing something. For start I can't find how to get sources for new build from:

Code:
https://github.com/mcayland/qemu/tree/screamer-ppc-next


I've tried clone it but I can't get git to work

Code:
git clone -b screamer-ppc-next https://github.com/mcayland/qemu screamer-ppc-next
or
git clone -b screamer-ppc-next https://github.com/mcayland/qemu/tree/screamer-ppc-next
or
git clone -b https://github.com/mcayland/qemu screamer-ppc-next
or
git clone -b screamer-ppc-next https://github.com/mcayland/qemu


As far I understund it should be something like this:
Code:
git clone -b [repo] [directory]


Can you advice on this?

There is another thing, I would like to try this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZJ42NPG8Qo
but to boot this OS, bios openbios-qemu.elf was used.
I can't figure out where get it from. I tried compile openbios-ppc but I failed with colours. :)
Can you share compiled bios (if you got it) or advice what and how compile it from?

Kind Regards


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:41 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4696
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
You can get the required openbios file by taking the one from the qemu for osx morphos build linked here:

viewtopic.php?f=34&t=8848#p52104
(see the last download in the experimental builds section)

To download the old screamer source, use:
git clone -b screamer-ppc-next https://github.com/mcayland/qemu screamer-ppc-next
for the latest source, use:
git clone -b screamer https://github.com/mcayland/qemu screamer

Running Morphos 3.1 in Qemu for Windows is a bit problematic. Boots from the hd image often fail.
Sound will not work, so a default qemu build will do as well.

Also see here:
http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/
There is also a link to the patched openbios there.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:10 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 6:40 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks Cat_7, it actually works.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:54 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:34 am
Posts: 19
The bios is missing from the latest official source build.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 7 of 8 [ 191 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: celebi23 and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group