Qemu OS 9 Setup Confusion....

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

riven2000
Inquisitive Elf

Qemu OS 9 Setup Confusion....

Post by riven2000 »

Hi All,

I'm in the process of setting up an OS 9.2.2 VM in Snow Leopard, and am really confused by some of the instructions for Qemu:

"• Create an empty disk image with qemu-img.exe. Open a command prompt and navigate to your Qemu folder.
qemu-img create -f raw -o size=2G MacOS9.2.img"

Open a command prompt _and_ navigate to my Qemu folder? When I run qemu-img.exe, the prompt window says:

c-174-52-180-29:~ Jeff$ /Users/Jeff/Desktop/QEMU/qemu-img ; exit;
Illegal instruction
logout
[Process completed]

Is this supposed to create a disk image somewhere? I'm not a programmer, so some of the wording on this is confusing. Also, when I try to create the qemu.command file in TextEdit, it won't let me just save it with a .command extension. Sorry, I'm a bit new to this. Any help would be appreciated. :mrgreen:
Cat_7
Expert User

Re: Qemu OS 9 Setup Confusion....

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

From what you write I understand you are trying to run qemu-img.exe in OSX? This looks like a windows executable.
You should run qemu-img for OSX.

You can also save the qemu.command file with another extension and change the extension later.

That said, I don know whether the qemu for OSX download we provide can run in Snow Leopard. Never tried that.

Best,
Cat_7
riven2000
Inquisitive Elf

Post by riven2000 »

The instructions I was using are from the Mac OS X link under "Getting Started" on the Qemu page - http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/ppc ... mu-for-osx. I thought it was strange too using a Windows file, but that's what it says.
I don know whether the qemu for OSX download we provide can run in Snow Leopard.
I thought Qemu was supposed to run on Intel Macs.
Cat_7
Expert User

Post by Cat_7 »