Not enough memory shrinkwrap

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

As the title says, whenever i try to mount an .IMG file presumably made with Shrinkwrap, i get the error "Not enough memory" thrown at me constantly, even with high memory set on the application (the minimum and preferred size thing) it still doesen't work insisting that it does not have enough memory.

Even tried setting the RAM memory of the computer to the highest option available.

I'm running System 7.5.3
emendelson
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by emendelson »

This sometimes works: give BasiliskII LESS memory, not more. Try 4 MB or 36 MB or something in between.
Last edited by emendelson on Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

Hm, nope that didn't seem to work.
Even tried fiddling with shrinkwrap a little more, same error message
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by adespoton »

Is the disk image and shrinkwrap on an internal disk image and not the shared drive?
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

Yes, they're both on the same drive in which i installed System 7 on.
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by adespoton »

What happens if you manually launch ShrinkWrap? It's possible the version you have may not be compatible with 7.5.3, or there may be some other issue.
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

It launches normally without any issues, it's just when i try to extract/mount or verify the image i'm trying to install is where it gives me the memory error
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by adespoton »

How big is the disk image?

Also, the format for ShrinkWrap images changed at some point; is it possible you're using ShrinkWrap 1.x and attempting to mount a 2.0 image?
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

The disk image is 1.32 MB, i tried opening it with the only two Shrinkwraps i could find.

Version 2.1 and 3.5.2 - neither sadly worked.
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by adespoton »

Hmm... 3.5.2 should work with any ShrinkWrap or Disk Copy 4 disk image. Is it possible the image is damaged?
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

Tried double-checking by mounting another image which most likely isn't corrupted, same error message pops up however..
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by adespoton »

What happens if you create a disk image with ShrinkWrap and then try to mount it?
superbwl
Space Cadet
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by superbwl »

It seems to mount perfectly fine - however, it creates a .image file and not a .img, renaming the extension from .image to .img doesen't seem to affect anything, although this is most likely not the correct way of doing it.
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Not enough memory shrinkwrap

Post by adespoton »

Then what you've got probably aren't ShrinkWrap images; try mounting them with Disk Copy 4.2 (or Disk Copy 6) instead. If that doesn't work either, they could be some other format; you'd do best just to save them outside BII and add them to the list of volumes to mount at boot (after your boot image). If they're any sane format, they should load that way.
Post Reply