Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:40 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:05 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:10 am
Posts: 24
Hi all --

I've been a long-time Basilisk user on the OSX platform and upgraded to Catalina a few months ago. I just got around to upgrading my Basilisk install with the SDL2 implementation. The emulation runs really fast -- such great work, so a quick thank you for putting out a great program (I've developed emulators before, but on the PC, so I know how hard it is).

Anyway, the only issues that I'm experiencing is with the sound. I'm using the BasiliskIIGUI beta 0.14f for the front end, and I'm using /dev/dsp as the output device and /dev/mixer as the mixer device. I get no startup chimes, no audio in games, but oddly, if I go into the Sound control panel in OS 7.5.3 and play around with the volume or the sounds, I get sound, but it's the same sound -- the error beep.

Has anyone else noticed this? Do I have the sound devices right for Catalina? I know that Catalina changed certain things in the name of security, so I don't know if this is a symptom of that or not.

Again, thanks for such a great program.

UPDATE: As I test various games, the sound works on some, but not others. So, I guess the devices above are working. Not sure why 7.5.3 itself has sound problems. Need to dig a bit more into that.

Rich


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:53 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5849
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Did sound work work for all your games with the older BasiliskII build? Did you keep your existing HD image when upgrading to the SDL2 build?

RichCini wrote:
I'm using the BasiliskIIGUI beta 0.14f for the front end, and I'm using /dev/dsp as the output device and /dev/mixer as the mixer device.
These settings are (and always were) non-functional in OSX/macOS. You can leave the boxes blank.

Quote:
I get no startup chimes,
There are no startup chimes in BasiliskII.

Quote:
if I go into the Sound control panel in OS 7.5.3 and play around with the volume or the sounds, I get sound, but it's the same sound -- the error beep.
Always the same beep, regardless which one you choose in Sound control panel?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:59 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:10 am
Posts: 24
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
Did sound work work for all your games with the older BasiliskII build? Did you keep your existing HD image when upgrading to the SDL2 build?

RichCini wrote:
I'm using the BasiliskIIGUI beta 0.14f for the front end, and I'm using /dev/dsp as the output device and /dev/mixer as the mixer device.
These settings are (and always were) non-functional in OSX/macOS. You can leave the boxes blank.

Quote:
I get no startup chimes,
There are no startup chimes in BasiliskII.

Quote:
if I go into the Sound control panel in OS 7.5.3 and play around with the volume or the sounds, I get sound, but it's the same sound -- the error beep.
Always the same beep, regardless which one you choose in Sound control panel?


I did keep my original HD image, although I just copied it to a 3GB image because I'm out of space. I didn't track the sound too closely previously, so I don't know. I've been testing them out and it seems that the newer games (Dark Castle 2) work fine, but older ones (Like Airborne!) don't.

I didn't realize the settings didn't matter, but good to know, as with the chimes.

On the control panel, yes, it's always the same beep regardless of which sound I pick. Pretty odd. Are there sound files I need somewhere? While the HD image is old, the install on my iMac is new. Maybe I destroyed a folder somewhere?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:53 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5849
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
May be a corrupted preferences file.

Trash and delete the file Sound Preferences in System Folder > Preferences. A new file will be created when you use the Sound control panel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:31 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:10 am
Posts: 24
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
May be a corrupted preferences file.

Trash and delete the file Sound Preferences in System Folder > Preferences. A new file will be created when you use the Sound control panel.


Just gave that a try -- no dice. If you select "Add" or "Remove", OS 7 fails with an "Unimplemented Trap" trap in "Finder". If you double-click the preferences file, it says that it can't find the program "Sound Manager" to open the document. So, I downloaded a copy of Sound Manager 3.1 and installed the extension and control panel item. Still no joy. Kind of odd.

I should add that in the System briefcase in the System Folder, the sound files are there, and if you double click them, they play properly.

Rich


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 10:24 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5849
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
RichCini wrote:
Just gave that a try -- no dice. If you select "Add" or "Remove", OS 7 fails with an "Unimplemented Trap" trap in "Finder".
Selecting "Add" or "Remove"? Why? The sounds available in the System file should be visible in a list in the Sound control panel. If they are not, most probably the Sound Preferences file is corrupted.

Why did you replace the Sound Manager extension and Sound control panel? I hope the versions you installed are compatible.

You cannot open a prefs file like that. Even if you could, you would not be able to do anything useful with it.

Did you trash the Sound Preferences as I suggested?

- Close the Sound control panel
- Trash the Sound Preferences file (drag it to the Trash)
- Stop BasiliskII and start it again
- Then open the Sound control panel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:01 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:10 am
Posts: 24
Yes I trashed the preferences file as you specified and rebooted, and yes the file versions of SoundManager were compatible (and it wasn't in the Extensions folder, and nor is it in the folder on a clean install...see below).

Regarding the add/remove buttons, they're enabled in the dialog box so why not test to see what the effect is on the emulation? Sometimes it reveals something unintended (I am also an emulation author, the Altair32 MITS Altair emulation).

As a test, I just did a clean install of 7.5.3 from CD on a blank hard drive image and I get the same outcome as above, including the trap on clicking Add. So, that eliminates problems with my original installation. I also removed the device path from the configuration screen since you said previously that it didn't matter (which it didn't).


Thanks again.
Rich


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:23 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5849
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
My virgin 7.5.3 does indeed not have the Sound Manager installed either. In my other 7.5.3/7.5.5 systems it was probably installed with QuickTime 2.5.

The issue you describe is strange, and very strange that it exists in a clean installation.

I myself have no sound issues with BasiliskII, 12 January 2020 build, with System 7.5.3/7.5.5 on macOS 10.15.3 Catalina. I am not much of a gamer, but Ambrosia's "Swoop" runs fine with sound. Also, all the installed alert sounds appear in the Sound control panel and can be selected.

In all the (12+) years I used BasiliskII, I never tried clicking the Add or Remove button in the Sound control panel, but clicking the Add button results in the same System error as you describe. It may need functions that are not available in the emulator.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:30 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:10 am
Posts: 24
Yes it is strange. I also can't get networking working either, and I had it working before Catalina (I have downloaded and installed tuntap). I've followed the on-line instructions, so who knows. Maybe I'll re-download the build and start over.

Thanks.
Rich


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5849
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I am not sure networking with tuntap will work in Catalina. Does anyone know?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2020 7:26 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2841
Location: Emaculation.com
As outlined in one of the other threads, the Tun/Tap kernel extension isn't currently functioning in Catalina. Everything from the System side up to creating the bridge and adding the hardware to it works, as does starting BII/SheepShaver and presenting the Tap interface request -- the problem is that the interface never gets bound to a port because the extension never gets loaded.

There do appear to be fixes:

NEW macOS REQUIREMENT: Restarting the computer is required by macOS Catalina before connecting some configurations for the first time.

From https://tunnelblick.net/cCatalina.html :
Quote:
If a configuration requires a "tun" or "tap" system extension, the first time Tunnelblick asks macOS to load the appropriate system extension, macOS will tell the user that they must give permission to load system extensions signed by "Jonathan Bullard" in System Preferences : Security & Privacy : General. If the user give such permission by clicking "Allow", macOS must restart the computer before the permission will be honored. After the permission has been given and the computer has been restarted, you may then connect all VPN configurations normally.

This only needs to be done one time. Once permission to load system extensions signed by "Jonathan Bullard" has been granted and the computer restarted, no further action is needed. Tunnelblick will be able to load "tun" and "tap" system extensions for any configuration without user interaction, and that ability will persist after computer restarts, "safe boots", and updates to Tunnelblick.

Note: If you are using a "tun" VPN, you can avoid needing to load the "tun" system extension. See the note at the start of Errors Loading Kexts (Device Drivers).


I presume since TunnelBlick uses the same mechanism as BII/SheepShaver, this information is also appropriate here; I haven't tested it yet myself as SLIRP networking is usually good enough for me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group