Does slirp work on Wi-Fi

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
swordlink1
Tinkerer
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:10 pm

Does slirp work on Wi-Fi

Post by swordlink1 »

I mainly use Wi-Fi for my Mid-2010 MacBook Pro. However I'm not being able to get slirp working on Basilisk II running on macOS 10.13.6. However I remember a time before.

Thank you!
If you need more info, tell me ;)
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3068
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Does slirp work on Wi-Fi

Post by adespoton »

swordlink1 wrote: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:39 pm I mainly use Wi-Fi for my Mid-2010 MacBook Pro. However I'm not being able to get slirp working on Basilisk II running on macOS 10.13.6. However I remember a time before.

Thank you!
SLIrP works fine on WiFi; what doesn't work is inbound network connections, as SLIrP doesn't make the system directly addressable to the network. Tun/Tap does not work on (all) WiFi.

AppleTalk DDP may not work even on SLIrP, but TCP should work fine. This is due to most WiFi routers not fully supporting the spec, so DDP doesn't get routed.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Does slirp work on Wi-Fi

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

swordlink1 wrote: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:39 pmHowever I'm not being able to get slirp working on Basilisk II
Exactly what does not work for you? Which System/MacOS version is installed? Is the TCP/IP control panel available?
swordlink1
Tinkerer
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:10 pm

Re: Does slirp work on Wi-Fi

Post by swordlink1 »

The emulator is running Mac OS 8.1 with the TCP/IP control panel available?
If you need more info, tell me ;)
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Does slirp work on Wi-Fi

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Slirp networking should work.

In the GUI enter "slirp" (without quotes) for Ethernet interface (or for Ethernet Port, depending on the GUI version)

Set TCP/IP to Ethernet and DHCP server. It should get the addresses from the slirp networking as soon as you try IP network access (for instance with a browser).

If that does not work for some reason, you can also configure TCP/IP control panel manually for slirp networking:
IP Address: 10.0.2.15
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Router address: 10.0.2.2
Name-server address: 10.0.2.3
Post Reply