Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
galgot
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm

Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

Post by galgot »

Hi !

EDIT : Found out it appends only when trying to start BII remotely , ie from SSH or Telnet. Locally, it launches fine from Cmd Line.

Not a big deal, as I can start it from the WM, but any time I try starting BII from the command line, I get :

Code: Select all

galgot@Classic-Pi ~ $ BasiliskII
Basilisk II V1.0 by Christian Bauer et al.
ERROR: Could not initialize SDL: Unable to open a console terminal.

Segmentation fault
This is on a R-Pi running Rasbian Jessie. Again, launches and run perfect from the WM.
But if I want to launch it remotely, have to connect through VNC then double click on my shortcut, instead of just SSHing and launch it from there...
Is this known problem ? Sorry if it has been addressed before, but couldn't find something related in search.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 7821
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Maybe I am wrong, but you could be the first person to try and start BasiliskII from the Command Line remotely.
galgot
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

Post by galgot »

Ronald P. Regensburg wrote: Sat Jun 26, 2021 9:49 am Maybe I am wrong, but you could be the first person to try and start BasiliskII from the Command Line remotely.
Time to celebrate :lol:

I actually had a small HTTP server running on that BII Mac OS 7.5.3 VM , but it crashed few days ago. Think I was trying loading to much extensions on it, Running NetPresenz Http/Gopher, plus AppleShare, Timbuktu ...etc... maybe must have been too much for it. I'm restoring it today, and had the idea to try launch it via SSH from my MBP that is where I found out that Seg Fault...
Last edited by galgot on Sat Jun 26, 2021 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
galgot
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

Post by galgot »

If interested , you can try it here :
http://galgot.hd.free.fr
Managed to restore that 7.5.3 image, but still some extensions doesn't load (like Quicktime, keyquencer...). Tho I increased RAM to 256.
Maybe will have to make a new clean 7.5.3 image...

And still, doesn't start from cl remotely.
ebann
Tinkerer
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

Post by ebann »

You just need to run export DISPLAY=:id# in your ssh session and programs run will run on the remote display. A quick example:

Code: Select all

maythux@maythuxPC:~$ ssh testSSH@myServer
maythux@maythuxPC:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
maythux@maythuxPC:~$ gedit
Now gedit will run on the user named testSSH display
galgot
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: Seg fault when starting from Cmd Line remotely

Post by galgot »

ebann wrote: Sat Jun 26, 2021 5:52 pm You just need to run export DISPLAY=:id# in your ssh session and programs run will run on the remote display. A quick example:

Code: Select all

maythux@maythuxPC:~$ ssh testSSH@myServer
maythux@maythuxPC:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
maythux@maythuxPC:~$ gedit
Now gedit will run on the user named testSSH display
Hey Thanks !!
Was as simple as that :) Now can start that small server remotely, very cool.
Post Reply