Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Dec 11, 2019 10:10 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: boot from disk tools PPC
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 4:17 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:28 pm
Posts: 18
Is there any way that I can boot from disk tools PPC?




Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 4:43 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
Unfortunately no. A PPC floppy will not boot up Basilisk II unless you replace the System file and Finder with 68k-compatible ones.

You can download the 7.5 network access boot image and start Basilisk II with it.

ftp://ftp.cs.tu-berlin.de/pub/mac/mirro ... .5.sea.hqx


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:25 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
The PPC disk tools doesn't work in BasiliskII. I tried it.

Does anyone know if the PPC disk tools version of MacOS8.1 works in SheepShaver?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:47 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
It was a while back, but I believe the OS 8.1 Disk Tools PPC boot floppy worked for SheepShaver. I believe the OS 8.5 boot floppy does too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 6:25 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:28 pm
Posts: 18
How can I boot from disk tools PPC 8.5 in SheepShaver?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:17 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
Just like on a normal mac i think, but you may have to make an image. I've never used SheepShaver with floppies. You may be able to just put the disk tools floppy in your real floppy drive, just make sure it is not mounted in linux otherwise it might not work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 1:56 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:28 pm
Posts: 18
Can SheepShaver boot floppy disk?
There is an option to boot from CDrom but i can't see one to boot from floppy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 3:18 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
There probably isn't then. I havn't used sheepshaver enough to know everything about it. You may be able to copy the contents of the floppy on to a hard drive file, and then boot from the hard drive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group