boot from disk tools PPC

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
User avatar
lordofdoom
Student Driver
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:28 pm

boot from disk tools PPC

Post by lordofdoom »

Is there any way that I can boot from disk tools PPC?




Thanks
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

Unfortunately no. A PPC floppy will not boot up Basilisk II unless you replace the System file and Finder with 68k-compatible ones.

You can download the 7.5 network access boot image and start Basilisk II with it.

ftp://ftp.cs.tu-berlin.de/pub/mac/mirro ... .5.sea.hqx
Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Stephen Coates »

The PPC disk tools doesn't work in BasiliskII. I tried it.

Does anyone know if the PPC disk tools version of MacOS8.1 works in SheepShaver?
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

It was a while back, but I believe the OS 8.1 Disk Tools PPC boot floppy worked for SheepShaver. I believe the OS 8.5 boot floppy does too.
User avatar
lordofdoom
Student Driver
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:28 pm

Post by lordofdoom »

How can I boot from disk tools PPC 8.5 in SheepShaver?
Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Stephen Coates »

Just like on a normal mac i think, but you may have to make an image. I've never used SheepShaver with floppies. You may be able to just put the disk tools floppy in your real floppy drive, just make sure it is not mounted in linux otherwise it might not work.
User avatar
lordofdoom
Student Driver
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:28 pm

Post by lordofdoom »

Can SheepShaver boot floppy disk?
There is an option to boot from CDrom but i can't see one to boot from floppy.
Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Stephen Coates »

There probably isn't then. I havn't used sheepshaver enough to know everything about it. You may be able to copy the contents of the floppy on to a hard drive file, and then boot from the hard drive.
Post Reply