Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:42 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:19 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:24 pm
Posts: 23
I have installed Basilisk II and System 7.5.3 on win XP Pro.

I have old Iomega Jaz drives (1GB disks) which I can connect to my PC through Adaptec SCSI adapter card.
My Mac files in Jaz disk, on d:\ can be viewed using Transmac, and I can transfer Mac files to PC when required.
But I want to mount the Jaz drive (d:\) so that I can access (and run) files directly from Basilisk desktop.

If I launch BasiliskIIGUI > SCSI I can tick "SCSI enabled"
then, under "Installed SCSI devices" if I click on Add I can select IomegaJaz

but the warning message underneath says ..

Confirm mounting of SCSI hard disk

You are mounting a SCSI (or emulated IDE) hard disk. You should only do this if you know exactly what you are doing.
YOU SHOULD NEVER MOUNT A SCSI HARD DISK THAT IS ACCESSIBLE IN WINDOWS.

Are you SURE you want to mount this device?


I haven't yet clicked on "Yes, I'm sure" button. Thought I should ask here first.

... ...

So my main question is - how do I safely mount the Jaz drive to be seen on Basilisk desktop?
What settings in SCSI tab in BasiliskIIGUI?


... ...

I have another external SCSI disk (La Cie 40 GB currently attached to Quadra 650) which also needs to be accessed through Basilisk desktop.

In "My Computer" I have ticked C and D drives to mount, and H for CD.

If I go into My Computer > C: I can see all my windows folders and files.

If I go into My Computer > D: I cannot see any Mac files in the Iomega Jaz drive (although files can be seen using Transmac).

Finally, there is reference in other threads to a 68K Iomega driver .. do I need this in the emulator?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:43 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:24 pm
Posts: 23
O.K. .. I've moved forward a bit ..

Downloaded this tutorial ..

BasiliskII Windows Manual

The SCSI setup sections reads as follows ..


When setting up your SCSI system on Basilisk II, please keep some
things in mind:

Try to stick to CD-ROMs and CD-Rs in the SCSI
tab. Setting up SCSI hard disks via this method is
extremely risky. You can risk data loss if things are not set
up just right.


If you are using a SCSI or IDE drive in Basilisk
II, make sure that this drive is *not* available in
Windows.
The reason is that if Windows tries to write data
to the drive, and the Mac tries to do the same, you can lose
data. Basilisk II will warn you if you are about to try dualmounting
a hard drive under Macintosh and PC.

Basilisk II has a problem differentiating fixed
(non-removable) drives and removable drives. For
example, if you're installing a ZIP drive, Basilisk II may
give you some warnings.

Zip Drives can be added to Basilisk II in many
ways in addition to the SCSI option. You can add
them via the Disk tab ( page 23 ), the My Computer tab
( page 30 ), or, of course the SCSI option discussed here. If
you are going to use the SCSI option, make sure that you
install the IomegaWare software package which includes the
Iomega driver and ZIP software:
<http://www.iomega.com/software/featured/ioware25_mac_reg.html>




So .. since this seems risky .. (as the warning message implies) .. what is the safest way of connecting SCSI external drives taken from Quadra 650?

How are drives disabled in Windows so they are only seen by Basilisk .. avoiding "dual mounting"?

After downloading ioware 2.1.1 for MacOS 7.5 to 8.5

ftp://download.iomega.com/english/maciom21en.hqx

where should this driver be installed .. in Basilisk?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 8:06 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:02 am
Posts: 1053
Location: Israel
You can unmount drives in windows xp through the "Disk Management" console (right-click on 'my computer'>manage>storage>disk management) by removing their drive letter and mount path[s] (yes you can do that in windows), by right-clicking on the drive and selecting "change drive letter and path".
Hope it helps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:53 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:24 pm
Posts: 23
I am now trying to connect a Seagate external SCSI disk.
Files in this external disk can be seen using MacDisk or TransMac utilities.
And the drive is disabled in Windows Disk Manager.

But Basilisk still does not mount this external SCSI disk drive.

The "SCSI enabled" option is ticked

and I have tried adding SEAGATE to first
<Free SCSI slot 0>
but the drive is not mounted on the desktop

and when that didn't work .. tried adding SEAGATE to
<Free SCSI slot 1>

The SCSI preferences windows "Replace this" and "by this" are empty.

What else can I try to mount this disk drive in Basilisk II?

Do I have to install any disk drivers in Basilisk first, even though the disk can be seen using MacDisk or TransMac?

_______________________


p.s.

I have just found the original installer disk (La Cie SilverLining Pro 6.3.2) which I attempted to install in Basilisk .. but 7.7.5 is required (I have 7.5.3).

I will update 7.5.3 to 7.5.5, then use the La Cie installer, and hope that I can then see the La Cie (SEAGATE) disk.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:41 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:24 pm
Posts: 23
After upgrading to 7.5.5 (see nearby thread) I was able to install the La Cie drivers (Silverlining Pro) from CD.

La Cie drive was then mounted (on reboot) and volumes seen on Basilisk desktop.

And I was able to launch first application (Claris Emailer) held on SCSI disk.

...

My only problem now is .. sometimes I get an hourglass cursor .. causing a hang .. which means I must force closure of Basilisk running process through Windows Task Manager.

The Basilisk screen title reads Basilisk II (Not Responding)

What could be cause of this hanging?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 24bit, Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group