Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:17 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 23 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:10 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 12
Location: Caracas
Ok, so we got a new Basilisk II/JIT + SDL (22.Mar.2005) version. anyone tried it yet? i can't get any graphics out of this build (runs the window and stays black). I used previous Basilisk II/JIT snapshot (2004-11-09) with SDL and it worked, showing graphics normally.

I'm using the latest SDL from the libsdl.org page.

Code:
basiliskII --disk macos7.hfv --udptunnel true --udpport 6066 --bootdrive 0 --bootdriver 0 --rom quadra605.rom --ramsize 25165824 --frameskip 0 --modelid 88 --cpu 4 --fpu true --jit true --jitfpu true --jitdebug false --jitcachesize 8192 --jitlazyflush true --keyboardtype 5 --keycodes false --mousewheelmode 1 --mousewheellines 3


Those are the commands i'm using. Exactly the same as in the previous snapshot. Suggestions?

EDIT: BTW, if you're having a Caught SIGSEGV at address 00000009 [IP=004040E2], try setting the right letter for your CD-ROM, i mistaked it and Basilisk wouldn't start. If you don't use CD-ROM you can safely delete the "cdrom" entry.


Edited to make thread an Announcement. Mac Emu


Last edited by niuus on Thu Mar 24, 2005 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:36 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
Downloads
Basilisk II: http://gwenole.beauchesne.online.fr/bas ... .win32.zip
SDL.dll: http://www.libsdl.org/release/SDL-1.2.8-win32.zip

Cool! On Apple Personnal Diagnostics benchmarks, the new build is 200%+ faster then the older build by Gwenole we've been using for years. But the SDL limitations are evident, with inferior user interface speed when it comes to mouse movement\clicking and opening windows, etc.

If you adjust the following "BasiliskII_prefs" file and put it in the same directory as the BasiliskII.exe, External File System (EXTFS) access works AND networking (via the NAT Router).

Code:
disk OS81.HFV
disk C:\Sheep\100.HFV
disk D:\700.HFV
cdrom E:\
extfs
scsi0 "PLEXTOR" "CD-R   PX-W4012A"
scsi1 <Free SCSI slot 1>
scsi2 <Free SCSI slot 2>
scsi3 <Free SCSI slot 3>
scsi4 <Free SCSI slot 4>
scsi5 <Free SCSI slot 5>
scsi6 <Free SCSI slot 6>
screen win/800/600/8
seriala FILE
serialb FILE
rom D:\Apps\Emu\macemu\F1A6F343.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 0
modelid 14
nocdrom true
nosound false
nogui false
pollmedia false
frameskip 0
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
realmodecd false
enableextfs true
extdrives #CD
debugextfs 0
routerenabled true
ftp_port_list 21
jit true
jitlazyflush true
jitcachesize 8192
jitfpu true
cpu 4
fpu true

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:07 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 12
Location: Caracas
Now using the "BasiliskII_prefs" file.

Code:
disk macos8.HFV
cdrom H:\
extfs
screen win/800/600/8
seriala FILE
serialb FILE
rom quadra900.rom
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 33554432
frameskip 0
modelid 14
cpu 4
fpu true
nocdrom true
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconvert false
nofloppyboot true
noscsi true
keyboardfile BasiliskII_keyboard
pollmedia false
frameskip 0
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
realmodecd false
enableextfs false
extdrives #H
debugextfs 0
routerenabled true
ftp_port_list 21
keyboardtype 5
jit true
jitlazyflush true
jitcachesize 8192
jitfpu true


Basilisk opens, but still, no graphics. :|


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:31 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 2:42 pm
Posts: 21
mmm ok guys, but whats the point ?
I mean, now, mac os takes forever to load (at least 4/5 times slower as my old BII version from 2000), and its unusable here (mouse cursor is sloooowww).
And anyway, are there any emualtion improvements over this old version ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:12 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
While the SDL implementation makes this version's GUI (video, mouse, sound, CD-ROM) slower, it's about twice as fast when executing a non-GUI task that takes a long time (like extracting large Stuffit files, applying Photoshop 4 filters, etc.).

This build also can change monitor color and depth resolutions "on-the-fly" without rebooting. Though I concur that this is mainly useful for playing 68k games, which mostly run slower on this build due to the SDL library being used instead of native API or DirectX.

The neat thing is, this is the first new build of Basilisk II for Windows in a long while and is hopefully an indication that even better builds will be made available in the future.

It's strange that SheepShaver, which also uses sdl.dll, isn't suffering from the slowdown this Basilisk II build has. And too bad the native routing that exists in the Windows port of Basilisk II can't be easily transfered into SheepShaver.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:12 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 2:42 pm
Posts: 21
Quote:
This build also can change monitor color and depth resolutions "on-the-fly" without rebooting.


Thats a nice feature, indeed.

Ok thanks for the infos.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:00 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
niuus wrote:
Basilisk opens, but still, no graphics. :|


Can you make a screenshot of what your Basilisk II screen looks like and somehow make it available via a link?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 7:20 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 12
Location: Caracas
Mac Emu wrote:
niuus wrote:
Basilisk opens, but still, no graphics. :|


Can you make a screenshot of what your Basilisk II screen looks like and somehow make it available via a link?


Sure, there you go:

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:44 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:15 am
Posts: 35
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Try delete BasiliskII_xpram.dat and start again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: black screen for me too
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:16 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 9
If it makes you feel better, niuus, I get the same thing.

-Windows XP Pro
-tried running with XP in 16 and 32 bit colors
-made my config file match those posted above with respect to the display and screen sections
-tried a few different roms
-tried every different graphics setting I could find

My next move is to try to get B2 built myself in debug mode so I can see if SDL is throwing some kind of error return code or exception that might give me a clue. I think someone gave instructions on how to rig a build setup and build using cygwin, so we'll see how that goes.

I don't know how to use GDB though, so this oughta be fun :)

This approach has about a 5% chance of success, so if anyone has any ideas, or wants me to post more info about my config, just say so.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:21 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 9
rmarquis wrote:
If it makes you feel better, niuus, I get the same thing.

-Windows XP Pro
-tried running with XP in 16 and 32 bit colors
-made my config file match those posted above with respect to the display and screen sections
-tried a few different roms
-tried every different graphics setting I could find
<snip>


I should mention also that I've blown away the PRAM file repeatedly as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:34 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:55 pm
Posts: 160
me too, black graphics, weird. gacve the same result when it ried compiling by myself.

but i have a bigger problem, when i start Basilisk II (any build, already tried 4 different builds) im stuck to the gray screen.... help????? i tried anything but cant fix that


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:19 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:15 am
Posts: 35
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
What's in "stdout.txt"?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:44 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 9
There isn't anything in my stdout.txt or stderr.txt.

Now, I have found that the debug build I made was crashing with a SIGSEV in file video_vosf.h at line 209:
addr[0] = 0; // Trigger Screen_fault_handler()

That detail alone isn't much help. I commented out the implementation of the method 'video_vosf_profitable' and just returned false (hoping there was some fallback display code--I didn't look), but the emulator just enters its main loop (starting emulation...) and then sits there.

still with a black screen.

Is there somewhere I can post this or perhaps work with Gwenole (spelling?) on moving the ball forward?

I did the same build on my work PC and it works great. I'm going to do a debug build on the working machine and see how it behaves around those lines of code. Presuming 'video_vosf' is profitable (I don't know what a video vosf is) on that machine, or it doesn't die on that method, that would be the difference.

On the machine that doesn't work:
Windows XP SP2
NVidia Geforce 3 of some sort
recent drivers as of a month or so ago

On the one that does work:
Windows 2000
ATI Mobility Radeon 9600; presumably recent drivers (don't have control over them)

I can post more comprehensive machine specs if anyone wants 'em


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:29 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:26 am
Posts: 1
It is nice to see a new build of Basilisk II, but I cannot get full screen to work for some reason. Is this not possible with the SDL version? I have it set to DirectX Fullscreen but it seems to be ignoring that. I don't want to run it in a window, so if there is no way to go full screen I guess I'll have to go back to the previous version.

I also tried the new version of sheepshaver, but I can't get it to accept either of the two ROM images from Apple's site. I used Basilisk II to mount the image, tome viewer to extract the ROM and HFV Explorer to copy it to my Windows drive. Sheepshaver tells me the rom size is invalid for both of them though. :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:11 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4717
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Take care how you copy the rom file from BasiliskII to windows with HFV explorer. The easiest way to copy the file is using your "my computer" option in BasiliskII.

The rom file from the mac os rom update should work fine. It's size should be exactly 1.901 Kb or 1.945.746 bytes.

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 5:37 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 47
emodel wrote:
mmm ok guys, but whats the point ?
I mean, now, mac os takes forever to load (at least 4/5 times slower as my old BII version from 2000), and its unusable here (mouse cursor is sloooowww).
And anyway, are there any emualtion improvements over this old version ?


I agree ... Until graphics and more importantly mouse sampling/response becomes normal, it is a nice experiment but not very useful ... On the good side, some of graphics renderring glitches present in previous versions seem to have been fixed.

Cheers ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:55 am 
Offline
Apple Corer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 6:53 am
Posts: 271
I get a Black Screen in Linux, and that is something to do with the floppy drive. (Known Bug) After 2 minutes the emulators starts up fine. How long did you let it sit to see maybe if it would eventually work?

Maybe a little time is needed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:16 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 9
The Balance Of Judgement wrote:
I get a Black Screen in Linux, and that is something to do with the floppy drive. (Known Bug) After 2 minutes the emulators starts up fine. How long did you let it sit to see maybe if it would eventually work?

Maybe a little time is needed.


I let it go about twenty minutes; during which I believe the process's memory use was continuously increasing. Usually I just kill it using Windows task manager.

I haven't tried running under linux, but that's just because my dist was hosed in a hard drive crash, and my wife demands her Windows.

Anyway; I could stick a breakpoint around the floppy drive code and see if that's the problem... but I have a feeling that's not it.

Anyone have any other ideas? I'll have a look into the floppy drive thing. Are there any other symptoms of that I could look at?

thanks for the response!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:30 pm 
Offline
Real Swell Guy!

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 4:20 am
Posts: 116
rmarquis wrote:
I let it go about twenty minutes; during which I believe the process's memory use was continuously increasing.


Increasing memory may be due to some memory leak in the win32 cdrom code. I am not sure, did you also have ethernet?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:58 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 9
gb wrote:
rmarquis wrote:
I let it go about twenty minutes; during which I believe the process's memory use was continuously increasing.


Increasing memory may be due to some memory leak in the win32 cdrom code. I am not sure, did you also have ethernet?


I can't remember if I had ethernet enabled or not. In this current version, which prefs setting or switch turns that on or off so I can double-check?

I can disable the CDROM option and see if the memory continues to climb.

I'm more than happy to try any patches and chuck the thing at insight/gdb to see what the behaviors are for a given situation...

Also, for the video_vosf_profitable() call, it looks like the intent is for a failing test to cause the SIGSEV, which is supposed to be handled by a handler installed somewhere prior in the code (I don't have it in front of me) but that doesn't appear to be working. I'm not too familiar with how that's supposed to work, though, so it might be doing what it's supposed to be, but confusing my debugger (or the operator--me).

thanks!

and thanks for gettin' this going again!
-Ryan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:03 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 9
rmarquis wrote:
gb wrote:
rmarquis wrote:
I let it go about twenty minutes; during which I believe the process's memory use was continuously increasing.


Increasing memory may be due to some memory leak in the win32 cdrom code. I am not sure, did you also have ethernet?


I can't remember if I had ethernet enabled or not. In this current version, which prefs setting or switch turns that on or off so I can double-check?

I can disable the CDROM option and see if the memory continues to climb.

I'm more than happy to try any patches and chuck the thing at insight/gdb to see what the behaviors are for a given situation...


Okay, turns out I'm smokin' something. The default prefs that get created when B2 is created do not cause any memory to be leaked. At all. Something setting in the big mess of extra stuff that gets added by the GUI is turning something on that's leaking, and I haven't gone through every option to try to find it.
So I didn't want anyone spinning their wheels on that one on my account.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:59 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 25
Edit

I removed all of the pref settings in the list and started BII, now I get a 320k stdout.txt file and a 40k stderr.txt file containing alot of "Caught SIGSEGV at address".

I get the same thing (black screen), but my stdout.txt reports this:

Code:
Basilisk II V1.0 by Christian Bauer et al.
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'noclipconvert'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'nofloppyboot'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'noscsi'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'ntdx5hack'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'rightmouse'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'keyboardfile'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_ether_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_ether_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_serial_in_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_serial_in_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_serial_out_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_serial_out_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_cpu_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_cpu_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_60hz_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_60hz_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_1hz_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_1hz_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_pram_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_pram_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_gui_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_gui_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_gdi_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_gdi_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_dx_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_dx_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_fb_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_fb_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_sound_run'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'priority_sound_idle'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'noaudio'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'debugscsi'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'debugfilesys'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'debugserial'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'framesleepticks'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'showfps'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'stickymenu'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'disable98optimizations'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'realmodecd'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'soundbuffers'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'soundbuffersize8000'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'soundbuffersize11025'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'soundbuffersize22050'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'soundbuffersize44100'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'nosoundwheninactive'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelreversex'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelreversey'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelclickmode'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelcust00'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelcust01'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelcust10'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousewheelcust11'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usealtescape'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usealttab'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usecontrolescape'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usealtspace'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usealtenter'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'disableaccuratetimer'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'guiautorestart'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'gethardwarevolume'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usentfsafp'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'typemapfile'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'portfile0'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'portfile1'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'DX_fullscreen_refreshrate'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'mousemovementmode'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'usestartupsound'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_ethernet'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_serialin'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_serialout'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_cpu'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_60hz'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_1hz'
WARNING: Unknown preferences keyword 'smp_pr


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 23 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group