Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:45 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:38 am 
I apologize if this issue has been addressed in the past, but I'm fairly new to the Mac emulation community, even more new to Emaculation.

I'm running System 7.5 on Basilisk 2 in XP. When I boot it up, I get a screen at startup saying, "Not enough memory to run *blank line* reboot with extensions off." And wont let me go any further. When I reboot with extensions off, it works fine, but when I turn off each extension in the control panel and reboot in normal mode, it does it again. Does anyone know what this error might be caused by, or possibly even how it can be fixed?

Thanks,
Black Lotus


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Extensions
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:01 am 
It sounds like there's a particular extension that's giving you problems.
First, check you have assigned enough memory to Basilisk (at least 32 MB, I'd suggest) and that you have picked a right modelID for the ROM you're using (you may experiment with this).
But above all try to enable the extensions one by one, rebooting each time, until you find the guilty extension. Don't enable them all at one time.
Then try to figure out why it causes problems. Maybe post here your results.


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Updated Memory Problem
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 1:40 pm 
Well, upon suggestion, I manually disabled all extensions in the extensions manager control panel, but upon reboot I got the same error. No extensions were enabled, though when I start it up and disable the extensions with the shift key, it works fine. I've assigned B2 64 megs of ram, and my rom has been identified as a quadra 650, the same as the machine it came from, and that is set in B2 to match. I was thinking that updating to 7.5.5 might stabilize the system a little more, and possibly clear up this problem?

Thanks,
Black Lotus


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 5:11 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
That's exactly your problem. If you want to emulate a 68040 Mac, you must set the Model ID to 14 (or maybe 20) no matter what type Mac the 1 MB ROM came from. Experimenting with other Model IDs may work, but often it creates problems.

Lauri, the Windows Basilisk II developer, has recommended this.

PS: If you are going to update to OS 7.5.5, and see Clockwise being a bastard, read this first: http://forums.delphiforums.com/MacEmula ... msg=1568.1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 5:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group