What is Basilisk II JIT

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

What is Basilisk II JIT

Post by Guest »

Could someone please inform me about Basilisk II JIT, answering questions like:
1. What is it?
2. What are its advantages (and/or disadvantages) over the "regular" version of Basilisk II?
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star

Post by Mac Emu »

I created a Windows compiled HTML help file (*.chm) to answer a number of questions about Basilisk II and Basilisk II JIT download latest release here.

Post by Guest »

Thanks for the help file. I think a comprehensive help file should be included with the program. However, since I'm rather new to these subjects, there was much I couldn't fathom.
Judging from the extensiveness of the file, it is obvious you have much experience in the field. Could you please tell me how stable the Basilisk II JIT version is under Windows 98. By upgrading, should I expect bugs, more hangups, etc.? Also, if, having installed the Basilisk II JIT version, I encountered some problems, would I be able to downgrade back to the "regular" version?
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star

Post by Mac Emu »

I've been using the JIT version exclusively since the first beta was released. I only use the non-JIT version(s) when running benchtests on all the 68040 emulators (Linux Basilisk II (B2) ports, Fusion PC, SoftMac, Executor). The JIT version isn't anymore unstable then the non-JIT version in my opinion.