Does Basilisk run on XP?

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

dsf260

Does Basilisk run on XP?

Post by dsf260 »

I'm new to the emulation scene...decided to look into it when my parents said they were going to throw out my old IIcx and LC that I my sister and I left in the basement.

Anyway, it seems like Basilisk II with the JIT compiler is considered the best emulator available, but I can't find any verification that it runs well with Windows XP. I have looked everywhere, and the docs/boards all refer to NT (and sometimes 2000), but no mention of XP compatibility.

Getting at least 512KB rom images shouldn't be a problem, as the LC (and IIcx) still boot up fine.

Thanks for the help.

Darren
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star

Post by Mac Emu »

Yes, it works on Windows XP. Though you should shut off XP's themes when running it to avoid possible lock ups. Just use my tutorial on setting up Basilisk II on Windows 2000 (Pardon any popups. I'm building a new site at a new location for Basilisk II and SheepShaver.): http://mes.emuunlim.com/macemu/basilisk ... 2setup.htm

If you get stuck anywhere, just ask.
Last edited by Mac Emu on Tue Feb 10, 2004 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dsf260

Thanks for the quick response

Post by dsf260 »

I'll rip a rom image file this weekend and let you know how it goes.

Thanks again
dsf260

Running smoothly

Post by dsf260 »

I ran over to my parents and ripped a rom image from the LC and got Basilisk up and running.

I decided to install the non-JIT version, because it seems that it is more stable. Everything seems to run just fine. It's exiciting seeing the apple menu again, even though all I can do is change the colors of icons right now. My Athlon XP 1500+ laptop runs the emulator much much faster than the LC or IIcx that I have. I haven't played around with the networking stuff yet, but it looks promising.