Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:23 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:43 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:38 am
Posts: 3
hello, I'm pretty inexperienced with emulation beyond n64 and ds emulation. Today, I downloaded the basiliskII emulator and stuffit 5.5 to try to play a classic game from my childhood, pathways into darkness. I believe I installed everything correctly, as the virtual pc runs and I was able to install stuffit, but when i try to expand the game file I have, it just results with 3 images that I can't open and a txt file. no game or anything. Ive tried multiple game files, and as an open source game at this point it shouldnt be hard to find. Did I do anything wrong? Could someone possibly help me figure out how to install this game, i'd love to play it again!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:29 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5197
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Which is your host system? Windows?

The Macintosh Garden site has two downloads of the game. The .sit file contains only the three disk image files of the three installer disks (floppies) and a text file. The .zip file contains additional files and apart from the three installer floppy images also the installed game on one disk image.

You can mount the volumes of the disk images in BasiliskII by adding the image files to the volumes list in BasiliskIIGUI.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:06 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:38 am
Posts: 3
Thank you for the fast response. Yes, my host system is windows.

I was able to mount the dsk files, but it says there isnt enough space for a save game file. it requests 300k disk space available, when I should have much more than that. when creating the disk i saved the img file as 200 mb (the guide recommended 100 or above and had 200 in their picture).

edit: Now it allows me to access the save game screen, but says that there is a disk error when trying to access the save files. The error has an id of -39.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:43 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5197
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Well, you added disk image before to the volumes list while setting up BasiliskII, didn't you?

With this procedure most image files will mount fine without possible resource fork, so you can have them anywhere on the host. Run BasiliskIIGUI.exe in the Basilisk II directory. In the “volumes” tab use the "Add…" to add the three installer images one by one. When you start BasiliskII itself, the images should be mounted on the BasiliskII desktop.

I do not know what could be the cause of being unable to start the emulator after adding an image file to the volumes list.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:11 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1160
Location: Germany
Hm, the .dsk files appear to be locked - could that be an issue?
I made a img.sit and may add it to the Pathways page, if need should be.
Maybe a img.zip for MiniVMac_II would be easiest for this game?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:46 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:38 am
Posts: 3
I was able to successfully mount the dsk file and open the game last night, but was unable to create a save file, so I gave up and went to sleep. When I tried again today, when I try to run BasiliskIIGUI.exe with the dsk file in volumes, i get a black screen.

24bit - would you mind sharing the img.sit you created? also, what would be the process to using an img.zip for minivmac_II? I'm not familiar with that emulator whatsoever.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 3:49 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2295
Location: Emaculation.com
I've had success copying PiD onto a larger disk with 7.5.3 already installed. The issue with saving is likely that either the disk is locked or there isn't enough room to write the save file to.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group