Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:59 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:00 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
Hello everyone,
In order to play Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiego, I emulated System 7.5.3. with BasiliskII in Mac OS X, then updated to System 7.5.5. without much issue.

As I am trying to install the game I found on MacintoshGarden, I encounter the following error :

Image

I don't really understand what's the problem there :
- QuickTime seems to be correctly installed in my extension folder
- I draged and dropped the QuickTime powerplug provided in the dowload file, from the Unix folder to Macintosh HD, then to the extension folder, and then I restarted BasiliskII

I looked up the error code but couldn't find anything related.
Do you know what I could try to install and launch the game?
Thank you very much in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:05 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Germany
Which version do you attempt to run?
I seem to recall the game was running fairly well in both Basilisk II and SheepShaver.
It may be somewhat tricky to find the matching Quicktime the game is looking for.

Do you have the possibility to try in Windows too?
Some games of that time may be easier to run with Windows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:20 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
Thank you for the quick answer.

I am trying to run the 3.5 version of the game.
As for the QuickTime version, I don't even know how to find this information.

I don't have a Win 98 emulator, I'll try to look into that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:55 am 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:22 am
Posts: 323
Quote:
- QuickTime seems to be correctly installed in my extension folder
- I draged and dropped the QuickTime powerplug provided in the dowload file, from the Unix folder to Macintosh HD, then to the extension folder, and then I restarted BasiliskII
I don't understand what you're doing here. Aren't the downloads just zipped .iso files? If that's the case, what was the "QuickTime powerplug" doing in your Unix folder?

In any case, as per https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QuickTime , the "Powerplug" is PowerPC code and won't do anything on Basilisk II. Is that the only QuickTime file you have in your extension folder? I might suggest looking for a proper copy of the QuickTime 2.5 installer.

Gretchen Guevara wrote:
As for the QuickTime version, I don't even know how to find this information.
Using Get Info from the Finder ought to do the trick.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:14 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
Quote:
I don't understand what you're doing here.

I must admit that me neither! Sorry if my explanations are confusing.

In the .iso file, there is:
    - Carmen Sandiego installer
    - Desktop folder \ empty
    - Multimedia extension folder
      - Additional Power Mac Extension folder
        QuickTime PowerPlug
      - Extensions for all Macintoshes folder
        - QuickTime 2.1
        - Sound Manager
        - System 7.1.x or 7.0 Users
      - Miscellaneaous
        - QuickTime Musical Instruments
        - Sound
        - Vintage Beep
      - Readme
        - Text about how to install QuickTime, QuickTime PowerPlug and QuickTime Musical Instrument. I followed the instructions to drag & drop the icons in the System Folder, then Extension folder
        - Text about how to install Sound Manager and Sound control panel, I followed the instructions
    - Carmen Sandiego Readme about troubleshooting and performances


Thank you for suggesting QuikTime 2.5, I just successfully installed it, deleted all the game files, and installed them again. And the error no longer happened!

BUT! Now I am confronted to a new error: when I click the icon to launch the game, a pop up tells me to "Insert the CD in the CD ROM drive then click OK". Thing is I don't have the CD ;)

I can only guess it's about mounting the image, topics (here, here or here) I could find here were about SheepShaver or Power PC.
Do you know what I should do next?

Thank you very much in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:34 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4438
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Bonjour,

Just keep the .iso in the volumes list in the prefs editor. The CD will show up on the desktop (as it did when you installed?) and the game will find it.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:05 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Germany
Good to know you got the game running.
For some games titles it may be recommendable to mount the ISO file with this little helper:
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/virtual ... cd-utility
The Carmen series may not need that to run the game though.

A Windows VM should be last stand only.
If you ever try, do use VMWare, as there is a basic GPU emulated (DirectX 9 or better).
That way games looking for a dedicated GPU will work, where the Mac counterpart (SheepShaver) fails.
Gaming via VMWare running GPU demanding titles will drive you MacĀ“s core temps pretty high.
Keep an eye on the temp sensors, just in case.
Enough off-topic for now. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:20 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
Cat_7 wrote:
Bonjour,

Just keep the .iso in the volumes list in the prefs editor. The CD will show up on the desktop (as it did when you installed?) and the game will find it.

Best,
Cat_7


It's working indeed! Merci beaucoup :)

Quote:
Good to know you got the game running.
For some games titles it may be recommendable to mount the ISO file with this little helper:
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/virtual ... cd-utility
The Carmen series may not need that to run the game though.


I downloaded and installed it, it might be of help some day, thanks a ton!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group