Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:00 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:59 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:42 pm
Posts: 5
Hi,
I'm on Ubuntu 18.04. I compiled BasiliskII from the sources hosted on github, following this instruction.
With a Classic ROM (c229bb677cb41b84b780c9e38a09173e) I get a message: Unsupported ROM Type.
I thought I could use it thanks to this PR. But no.
Did I miss something?
Best


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:39 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:28 pm
Posts: 49
The ( much appreciated ) setup guide here:
https://emaculation.com/doku.php/basilisk_ii_setup
advises
"ROMs from Quadra and Performa machines work best"

A trip to the Internet Archive might help:

https://archive.org/details/mac_rom_archive_-_as_of_8-19-2011


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:53 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:42 pm
Posts: 5
Hi,
Thank you for your links. Actually I did not specify that I would like to emulate system 6.0.x with BasiliskII. That's why I wanted to use an old ROM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:57 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:28 pm
Posts: 49
Would Mini vMac then not be a better choice?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:33 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:42 pm
Posts: 5
I was able to run system 6 on mini vmac without any problem, but I would like to run it on basilisk II if possible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:37 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1221
Location: Germany
MiniVMac (II) is the one for that, I would like to second that.
Basilisk II relies on a 32bit clean ROM which rules out much of the old ROM files afaik.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 7:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
Irken wrote:
Hi,
Thank you for your links. Actually I did not specify that I would like to emulate system 6.0.x with BasiliskII. That's why I wanted to use an old ROM.


Well there's your problem; the only version of System 6 that will work with a Classic ROM is 6.0.8 L. The Classic came with System 7. You can use a Mac Plus or Mac II ROM to run System 6 using a number of emulators (not Basilisk II). See Apple ROMs and Mac Emulation Matrix

Early versions of BII did support specific ROM/computer emulation of System 6, but that hasn't been the case for over a decade. Mini vMac or PCE/Macplus are the best solutions now. Use the Mac II build of Mini vMac if you want color.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:54 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:42 pm
Posts: 5
OK, thank you, I was misled by the following thread: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=9504


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:42 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 161
You can run 24 bit ROM in System 6 under BII. That's my PR announcement about.

I tested it and confirmed that MacSE ROM can run System 6.

md5sum MacSE.ROM
9fb38bdcc0d53d9d380897ee53dc1322 MacSE.ROM

The ROM hack here(https://github.com/cebix/macemu/commit/ ... aa3542feac) emulates virtual hard drive in System 6.
The patch here(https://github.com/cebix/macemu/commit/ ... 5d2c320ed8) fix SDL video black and white.

_________________
There is an App for that!
https://github.com/rickyzhang82


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:14 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 161
Here is my proof:
Image

To use System 6, you need to specifically build for membank address mode. I shared my build script here:
Code:
make clean
NO_CONFIGURE=1 ./autogen.sh
CFLAGS=-O0;CPPFLAGS=-O0 ./configure --enable-sdl-video --enable-sdl-audio --disable-vosf --disable-jit-compiler --with-x --with-gtk --with-mon --enable-addressing=banks
make -j 32


Since I patched 24bit ROM, now you can use virtual hard drive larger than floopy. I shared my .basilisk_ii_prefs:

Code:
displaycolordepth 0
disk /home/Ricky/repo/68k.Mac/BasilikII/DiskImage/MacImage.6.0.8.dsk
extfs /home/Ricky
screen win/512/384
seriala /dev/ttyS0
serialb /dev/ttyS1
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom /home/Ricky/repo/68k.Mac/BasilikII/ROM/MacSE.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 4194304
frameskip 0
modelid 5
cpu 0
fpu false
nocdrom true
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui true
jit true
jitfpu true
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes true
keycodefile /home/Ricky/repo/68K.Mac/BasilikII/keycodes
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv false
idlewait true

_________________
There is an App for that!
https://github.com/rickyzhang82


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:36 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
Any chance we can get that rolled into the default SDL2 build? I'll update my compatibility matrix, but it'd be nice if we could have a single build that supports both :) Thanks for the updates, Ricky!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:35 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 161
That's a good idea to make memory addressing configurable at runtime. But it will require some boring structural change. I will pass...

I haven't got involved in SDL2. I remembered someone has started something. But I have never seen a PR.

TBH, I want that feature too for screen integer/fractional zoom in. I don't need the performance boost from SDL2 but rather a need to use BII in high res monitor.

_________________
There is an App for that!
https://github.com/rickyzhang82


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:53 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
The SDL2 build is pretty stable now; the releases thread on here has builds from it, and there's links to the fork that's managing it. Since SDL1.2 doesn't really have good 64-bit support, it's going to have to be the way forward for modern operating systems. Still a few kinks to be worked out, but I'm now using it as my day-to-day BII.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:22 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 161
I don't see 64bit is the major issue for SDL 1.2. My fedora box does have 64 bit SDL 1.2 dynamic library:
Code:
rpm -ql SDL-1.2.15-30.fc28.x86_64
/usr/lib/.build-id
/usr/lib/.build-id/e5
/usr/lib/.build-id/e5/3ef3039c3c7e2f6003a11c50f497077c0f386c
/usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0
/usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
/usr/share/doc/SDL
/usr/share/doc/SDL/BUGS
/usr/share/doc/SDL/CREDITS
/usr/share/doc/SDL/README-SDL.txt
/usr/share/licenses/SDL
/usr/share/licenses/SDL/COPYING


What road block to send a SDL2 PR? Who owns it?

_________________
There is an App for that!
https://github.com/rickyzhang82


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Using a Classic ROM
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:52 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
I think we're basing off of https://github.com/kanjitalk755/macemu


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group