Page 1 of 1

Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:59 pm
by Irken
Hi,
I'm on Ubuntu 18.04. I compiled BasiliskII from the sources hosted on github, following this instruction.
With a Classic ROM (c229bb677cb41b84b780c9e38a09173e) I get a message: Unsupported ROM Type.
I thought I could use it thanks to this PR. But no.
Did I miss something?
Best

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:39 pm
by peter_j
The ( much appreciated ) setup guide here:
https://emaculation.com/doku.php/basilisk_ii_setup
advises
"ROMs from Quadra and Performa machines work best"

A trip to the Internet Archive might help:

https://archive.org/details/mac_rom_arc ... _8-19-2011

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:53 pm
by Irken
Hi,
Thank you for your links. Actually I did not specify that I would like to emulate system 6.0.x with BasiliskII. That's why I wanted to use an old ROM.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:57 pm
by peter_j
Would Mini vMac then not be a better choice?

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:33 pm
by Irken
I was able to run system 6 on mini vmac without any problem, but I would like to run it on basilisk II if possible.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:37 pm
by 24bit
MiniVMac (II) is the one for that, I would like to second that.
Basilisk II relies on a 32bit clean ROM which rules out much of the old ROM files afaik.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 7:15 pm
by adespoton
Irken wrote:Hi,
Thank you for your links. Actually I did not specify that I would like to emulate system 6.0.x with BasiliskII. That's why I wanted to use an old ROM.
Well there's your problem; the only version of System 6 that will work with a Classic ROM is 6.0.8 L. The Classic came with System 7. You can use a Mac Plus or Mac II ROM to run System 6 using a number of emulators (not Basilisk II). See Apple ROMs and Mac Emulation Matrix

Early versions of BII did support specific ROM/computer emulation of System 6, but that hasn't been the case for over a decade. Mini vMac or PCE/Macplus are the best solutions now. Use the Mac II build of Mini vMac if you want color.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:54 pm
by Irken
OK, thank you, I was misled by the following thread: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=9504

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:42 pm
by rickyzhang
You can run 24 bit ROM in System 6 under BII. That's my PR announcement about.

I tested it and confirmed that MacSE ROM can run System 6.

md5sum MacSE.ROM
9fb38bdcc0d53d9d380897ee53dc1322 MacSE.ROM

The ROM hack here(https://github.com/cebix/macemu/commit/ ... aa3542feac) emulates virtual hard drive in System 6.
The patch here(https://github.com/cebix/macemu/commit/ ... 5d2c320ed8) fix SDL video black and white.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:14 pm
by rickyzhang
Here is my proof:
Image

To use System 6, you need to specifically build for membank address mode. I shared my build script here:

Code: Select all

make clean
NO_CONFIGURE=1 ./autogen.sh
CFLAGS=-O0;CPPFLAGS=-O0 ./configure --enable-sdl-video --enable-sdl-audio --disable-vosf --disable-jit-compiler --with-x --with-gtk --with-mon --enable-addressing=banks
make -j 32
Since I patched 24bit ROM, now you can use virtual hard drive larger than floopy. I shared my .basilisk_ii_prefs:

Code: Select all

displaycolordepth 0
disk /home/Ricky/repo/68k.Mac/BasilikII/DiskImage/MacImage.6.0.8.dsk
extfs /home/Ricky
screen win/512/384
seriala /dev/ttyS0
serialb /dev/ttyS1
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom /home/Ricky/repo/68k.Mac/BasilikII/ROM/MacSE.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 4194304
frameskip 0
modelid 5
cpu 0
fpu false
nocdrom true
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui true
jit true
jitfpu true
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes true
keycodefile /home/Ricky/repo/68K.Mac/BasilikII/keycodes
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv false
idlewait true

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:36 pm
by adespoton
Any chance we can get that rolled into the default SDL2 build? I'll update my compatibility matrix, but it'd be nice if we could have a single build that supports both :) Thanks for the updates, Ricky!

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:35 pm
by rickyzhang
That's a good idea to make memory addressing configurable at runtime. But it will require some boring structural change. I will pass...

I haven't got involved in SDL2. I remembered someone has started something. But I have never seen a PR.

TBH, I want that feature too for screen integer/fractional zoom in. I don't need the performance boost from SDL2 but rather a need to use BII in high res monitor.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:53 pm
by adespoton
The SDL2 build is pretty stable now; the releases thread on here has builds from it, and there's links to the fork that's managing it. Since SDL1.2 doesn't really have good 64-bit support, it's going to have to be the way forward for modern operating systems. Still a few kinks to be worked out, but I'm now using it as my day-to-day BII.

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:22 pm
by rickyzhang
I don't see 64bit is the major issue for SDL 1.2. My fedora box does have 64 bit SDL 1.2 dynamic library:

Code: Select all

rpm -ql SDL-1.2.15-30.fc28.x86_64
/usr/lib/.build-id
/usr/lib/.build-id/e5
/usr/lib/.build-id/e5/3ef3039c3c7e2f6003a11c50f497077c0f386c
/usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0
/usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
/usr/share/doc/SDL
/usr/share/doc/SDL/BUGS
/usr/share/doc/SDL/CREDITS
/usr/share/doc/SDL/README-SDL.txt
/usr/share/licenses/SDL
/usr/share/licenses/SDL/COPYING
What road block to send a SDL2 PR? Who owns it?

Re: Using a Classic ROM

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:52 pm
by adespoton
I think we're basing off of https://github.com/kanjitalk755/macemu