Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:20 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 25 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:22 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
(*) BII.app 2018.07.11, BIIGUI.app 2011.10.10
3 crashes of BII in half a day (against 1 ot 2 crashes a year with previous OS)
This seems to appear when I jump from BII to another app (I have to jump from BII to an OS 10.14 text editor at every moment). I suppose this part of console message is an explanation of the crashes (I dont understand anything about inside macintosh !) :
"*** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSRangeException', reason: '*** -[_NSInlineData subdataWithRange:]: range {0, 51} exceeds data length 6'
abort() called
terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException"
Moreover I noticed a bug when using FoxPro (database files) with BII : all numerical functions seem to be wrong :
it says that 1+1 = 0
asking for the ascii of any character returns 0 (although asking which is the character of such or such ascii returns the good character)
the length of any chain of characters is 0
asking for the numero of a record in a database file returns a wrong number
I have not tested every function !
So I suppose the best I can do is to return to OS 10.13, or is there any mean to fix the problems with Foxpro, BII and Mojave ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Exactly what do you mean with "jump" from BasiliskII to another application? You mean switching between the applications? Do you do that with the applications in full-screen mode, using Mission Control /Spaces, or in window mode using command-tab? Or do you use the Dock for that or do you click the windows?

The numbers not working correctly could be a FPU issue.

We can better judge what could be the problem if you tell us the system version you run in BasiliskII and if you post here the content of your ~/.basilisk_ii_prefs file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:32 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Thank you very much for your answer.
I use to switch between applications sometimes clicking the windows, sometimes using comman-tab. I had never any problem doing that before OS 10.14
By the way I didnt find any mean to put BII.app in the dock : the command does not appear in finder:file when BII is selected. So I put it in the lateral bar.
The system I use with BII is 7.5.3. with performa.rom. I never had any number problem before Mojave and the new BII (2018.07.11)
There is a problem when asking console about BII prefs :

Last login: Wed Jan 2 15:52:55 on console
ufeellite:~ mmb2$ ~/.basilisk_ii_prefs
-bash: /Users/mmb2/.basilisk_ii_prefs: Permission denied
ufeellite:~ mmb2$

"Ufeellite" is my mobile phone, at this time it is not connected to my mac. I checked that I can write in BIIGUI.app, so I suppose that I have permission to do so.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:51 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Emaculation.com
It looks like among other things, you may be running up against Mojave security protections. This shouldn't cause the main issue you're seeing though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:11 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You have no permission to open a file in your Home folder?

Did you try to open it in your text editor using Terminal like this:
Launch Terminal (in /Application/Utilities/) and type at the prompt
Code:
open ~/.basilisk_ii_prefs
followed by a return.
The file should open in your default text editor. Select all content and copy and paste it here in your reply.

BTW: The way to put an application in the Dock is to drag its icon into the Dock. Can't you do that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:03 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Hello,
Terminal says :

disk /Users/Shared/BasiliskII/MacOS753
extfs /Users/Shared/BasiliskII/TAUL753
screen win/0/825
seriala
serialb /dev/null
ether slirp
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom /Users/Shared/BasiliskII/PERFORMA.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 1
modelid 5
cpu 4
fpu true
nocdrom false
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui false
jit true
jitfpu false
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes true
keycodefile /Users/Shared/BasiliskII/BasiliskII_keycodes
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true

OK for dragging BII into the Dock.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:09 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Did you make sure to install the new BasiliskII_keycodes file with the latest (11 July 2018) BasiliskII version?

I will comment on your settings later.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:41 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Hello,
The BasiliskII_keycodes file I use seems to be the 2018.11.7 one, I downloaded it from the BasiliskII sdl2 64bit 20180711 pack.

My BII.app does not crash every time I switch to another application, but I am trying to not switch, but this is uncomfortable, in addition to wrong numbers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:48 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
This may or may not solve the issues you experience, but first I would suggest to make the following changes to your settings in the GUI app:

Graphics/Sound:
- Window Refresh Rate: Dynamic
- Height: 826 (MacOS cannot use 825 and will present 826 in the 825 high window)

Memory/Miscc:
- MacOS RAM Size (MB): 128 (or even 256)
- Mac Model ID: Quadra 900 (MacOS 8.x) (Will work fine with Performa ROM and System 7.5.3)
- Enable "Ignore Illegal Memory Accesses"

JIT Compiler:
- Disable JIT Compiler


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:41 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
I have done the changes in BIIGUI. When I open this app, a message from Apple says that this app should be upgraded to 64 bits, but it opens anyway. I made a dozen of switches between BII and Mojave with no crash, using clicks or cmd-tab. But the problem with wrong numerical fonctions still remain and I need to use these functions very often. So I guess I have to go back to OS 10.3. but I am not sure how to do since I have never downgraded. I can use Time Machine. Would you please tell me wich folders or file I have to replace ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:42 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Emaculation.com
It looks like you're storing everything in /Users/Shared. A while back I had similar issues to you when I did this, as an OS update changed the permissions on a bunch of stuff. Now I just store everything BII-related inside /Applications/ which doesn't seem to be affected by the same issues as /Users/Shared. Worth a try, anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:42 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
chelim78 wrote:
So I guess I have to go back to OS 10.3. but I am not sure how to do since I have never downgraded. I can use Time Machine. Would you please tell me wich folders or file I have to replace ?

Don't try to downgrade to macOS 10.13. The macOS 10.14 upgrade changed the file system from HFS+ to the new APFS. Downgrading is complex and a recipe for trouble.

Maybe the numbers problem is not with Mojave but with the sdl2 version of BasiliskII. You could try one of the older BasiliskII builds: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7361#p47395
If you do not use BasiliskII for games, I would suggest my March 2014 build.
You can simply replace the application file only. The new keycodes file will also work with older BasiliskII versions.

macOS 10.14 will tell you that you should upgrade to a 64-bit version, but the 32-bit version will run anyway.

Best keep the changed settings as suggested above.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:31 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Thank you, I changed my BII folder location.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:42 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Now my BII folder is located in applications, as suggested by adespoton above.
I replaced BII 2018 with BII 2014 since I dont use games.
I had to change volumes locations in BIIGUI. Here are my new BII prefs :

disk /Applications/BII/DiskTools_MacOS8.image
disk /Applications/BII/MacOS753
disk /Applications/BII/InstallerParts
extfs /Users/Shared/BasiliskII/TAUL753
screen win/0/826
seriala
serialb /dev/null
ether slirp
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom /Applications/BII/PERFORMA.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 268435456
frameskip 0
modelid 14
cpu 4
fpu true
nocdrom false
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui false
jit false
jitfpu false
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes true
keycodefile /Applications/BII/BasiliskII_keycodes
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true

Now OS 7.5.3 doesnt recognize my old MacOS753 disk (41,9 Mo) and wants to initialize it. So I'll lose the app I work with (Foxpro) contained in this disk and I dont remember how I dragged this app to that disk years ago. I remember using Foxpro physical floping disks didnt work on OS 753. Could I copy the foxpro files I keep on my hard disk to the unix disk "TAUL753" and then dragging them to the MacOS753 disk ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:12 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You are not doing a new installation, then why did you add again the DiskTools_MacOS8.image and the InstallerParts? Better remove those from the volumes list in the GUI app.

You only need to move the files that BasiliskII uses (MacOS753, PERFORMA.ROM, BasiliskII_keycodes) and the shared folder (TAUL753) that BasiliskII uses and change the paths in the GUI to the new location.

If you do that, does BasiliskII not start up from the MacOS753 disk as before?


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:48 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Well, I removed from GUI:volumes
Applications/BII/DiskTools_MacOS8.image
Applications/BII/InstallerParts

My Gui prefs are now these :

disk /Applications/BII/MacOS753
extfs /Users/Shared/BasiliskII/TAUL753
screen win/0/826
seriala
serialb /dev/null
ether slirp
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom /Applications/BII/PERFORMA.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 268435456
frameskip 0
modelid 14
cpu 4
fpu true
nocdrom false
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui false
jit false
jitfpu false
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes true
keycodefile /Applications/BII/BasiliskII_keycodes
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true

Clicking on "Start" doesnt do anything.
Opening BII.app shows an "?", it doesnt find any OS ! and it doesnt want to quit, I have tu use alt-cmd-esc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:24 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Emaculation.com
Where are your GUI prefs being saved? Is it the same location that BII is loading the prefs from?

I think this may be where the issue lies -- two separate prefs files.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:45 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
Hello Adespoton,
This is the content of my Applications/BII/ folder :

BasiliskII_keycodes
BasiliskII.app
BasiliskIIGUI.app
DiskTools_MacOS8.image
InstallerParts
MacOS753
PERFORMA.ROM

GUI prefs are shown above from Terminal


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:52 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Emaculation.com
Are they GUI prefs, or the prefs stored in ~/.basilisk_ii_prefs ? These should be one and the same, but it isn't guaranteed. Check that the values in the GUI line up with the values in that file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
The GUI app writes to ~/.basilisk_ii_prefs. The settings shown is the content of the ~/.basilisk_ii_prefs file as opened in a text editor (probably TextEdit) using Terminal as per my instructions above.

The ROM file is found in its new location, otherwise the ? would not be shown.

Before, when you had DiskTools_MacOS8.image added to the volumes list, BasiliskII booted from that disk. You wrote that that system asked to initialise the MacOS753 disk. That suggests there was already something wrong with the 753 disk then, otherwise it would have been mounted normally on the DiskTools_MacOS8 desktop as second disk.

Is the MacOS753 file the exact same same file that worked before, only moved (or copied) to the new location? And did you do nothing to that file other than moving it? How did you move it, or copy it? (I hope you did not move or copy the files while BasiliskII was running.)

Quote:
Opening BII.app shows an "?", it doesnt find any OS ! and it doesnt want to quit, I have tu use alt-cmd-esc.

When BasiliskII cannot find a startup disk, it cannot be quit normally. In this state, the preferred way to quit it is to use ctrl-esc.


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:03 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
I certainly did something wrong with MacOS753 ! I replaced it with a copy I had saved on Time Machine before installing Mojave, and now... everything seems to be OK ! Wrong numerical functions are now right and there is no more crash after a few trials when switching from BII.app (1994) to another app under Mojave.
I thank you very much Mr Regensburg for your help, I guess I can continue using BII as well as under OS 10.3.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:56 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5233
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Apparently the sdl2 version of BasiliskII has a floating point issue, hence the wrong calculations in FoxPro database.

Unless that issue is solved in later sdl2 versions, you will have to stick to the sdl1 32-bit version of BasiliskII you use now. It will run in macOS 10.14 (Mojave), but be aware that it will probably not run in the next macOS 10.15.

A 64-bit sdl1 version of BasiliskII exists, but I have little experience with it. It may or may not work in a future macOS version. Come back here to discuss that a year from now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:11 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 64
Location: France
If necessary I'll stick to Mojave. I'll be back anyway to keep informed about new builds, or if I have any new problem...
Thank you again !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:22 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:06 pm
Posts: 59
I have found that FPU does't work on 64-bit BasiliskII.
The problem might be resolved by selecting 68030 (without FPU).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:20 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Emaculation.com
Yes, this is to be expected. The quick hack fix would be to ensure all FPU calls only use the bottom half of the registers (essentially force 32-bit handling), but it would be great to implement 64-bit FPU emulation, as it'd be faster and more accurate than what we have for 32-bit BII.

It might be worth seeing what's been implemented for 64-bit UAE FPU handling, as I think that's already complete-ish.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 25 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group