Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:59 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 17 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:07 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
Prince Of Persia 2 The Shadow And The Flame works nicely in Mini vMac 3.5.8 when you use a slightly modified resolution. I have enclosed a build I compiled on Vogons forum.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Posts: 3625
Location: Uiwang
Attachments are disabled here. You'll have to post a link. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:22 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=58362


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:55 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2205
Location: Emaculation.com
Ah; 644x480. Personally, I use 1280x720, and find that this works for all software that doesn't require the lower Plus resolution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:20 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
Cause of some bug in Mini vMac, Prince Of Persia 2 has messed up graphics in introduction and some cutscenes when played using normal resolutions.

Hence I have hacked Mini vMac this way so that all cutscenes are being displayed properly.

Game uses 510x384 but doesn't look properly in 512x384, but looks ok in 516x384.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have tested Prince Of Persia 2 with lots and lots of horizontal resolutions and it looks only the following ones are breaking cutscenes:

320x
512x
640x
800x
1600x

All other resolutions work OK.
Why is Mini vMac treating above resolutions in a special way?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:18 am 
Offline
Nice Guy
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 94
robertmo wrote:
Why is Mini vMac treating above resolutions in a special way?


Mini vMac doesn't. It seems more likely the game has special cases for the most common screen resolutions. (Perhaps it has optimized code for those cases, that might go more directly to the graphics hardware.)

According to a comment on a certain Macintosh abandonware site, the game works in Mini vMac with 512x384 resolution and 256 colors. The intro at least does seem to work with the options "-t mc64 -m II -hres 512 -vres 384" (using System 7.1), and it doesn't at the default resolution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:09 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have also tested Prince Of Persia 2 demo version and it looks only one horizontal resolution is making screen distortions in intro/cutscenes:

512x

All other resolutions (including 320x, 640x, 800x and 1600x) look correctly.

It is easy to test as it is the first screen of intro that is distorted (the one with credits "Broderbund software presents").

I use System 7.5.5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:00 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have noticed that cause of some reason Prince of Persia 2 demo has got two right most vertical lines removed making intro doesn't look nice. That was somewhat changed in full version where it is removing two vertical lines from the middle of the screen (line 17 and 18 from the right) so that it is less visible.

Nevertheless cause of some reason both versions have horizontal resolution lowered from 512 to 510 lines.

http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=58362
I enclosed the picture on vogons forum in the above link.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:43 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have tested Prince Of Persia 2 demo version in SoftMac and it has 640x resolution with distorted screen while other resolutions (including 512x) work ok.

This would mean it is not a game problem but the emulator problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:09 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
just in case, i am getting this during compilation:
1>ADBEMDEV.c
1>d:\2\minivmac-3.5.8-wx86\src\ADBSHARE.h(89): warning C4456: declaration of 'p' hides previous local declaration
1>d:\2\minivmac-3.5.8-wx86\src\ADBSHARE.h(55): note: see declaration of 'p'


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:47 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have also tested Prince Of Persia 2 demo version in BasiliskII and SheepShaver and it has 640x resolution with distorted screen while other resolutions (including 512x) work ok.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:01 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
It looks I have found the solution:

I have checked minivmac v3.2.3 and v3.4.1 and they behave same way as v3.5.8 with 512x and 640x horizontal resolutions.

But what is important:
Even though your building program says horizontal resolutions are allowed every 32 pixeles
v3.5.8 actually allows it every 4 pixels
while
v3.2.3 allows every 16 pixels

But if I use not allowed horizontal resolution in v3.2.3 (for example 513x) the screen of the operating system is distorted almost the same way it is distorted in the game.

Could you make minivmac allow horizontal resolutions every single pixel?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:23 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
BasiliskII and Sheepshaver allow it every pixel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:09 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have also tested Prince Of Persia 2 demo version in Fusion and it has 640x, 800x, 1024x, 1152x and 1280x horizontal resolutions with distorted screen, while 512x looks ok.

I have also tested Prince Of Persia 2 full version in Fusion and it has 1024x, 1152x and 1280x horizontal resolutions with distorted screen, while 512x, 640x and 800x look ok.


Last edited by robertmo on Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:25 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
I have managed to run Fusion in 512x horizontal resolution, so I updated my previous message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:52 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 am
Posts: 19
case solved :)
you just have to delete the .opt file :)
fixes both full and demo in all resolutions :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 17 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group