Running Arkanoid

About Mini vMac and all other 68k emulators, including SoftMac, Executor, and MESS.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
nyholku
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:05 am

Running Arkanoid

Post by nyholku »

Hi,

my main goal is to run the original black and white Arkanoid (my adult daughter would like relive her childhood).

So I'm open to other approaches that what I've attempted here.

Ok, so to my problems:

I'm running on MacOs 10.13.6 High Sierra with Mini vMac version minivmac-3.5.8-mc68.

The first problem is that vMac does not find the ROM image if I place it in the same folder as 'Mini vMac.app' file. If I place the ROM image into 'Mini vMac.app/Contents/MacOS/' next to the actual executable 'minivmac' and then double click that executable then the vMac start fine and finds the ROM image. But will still not find the ROM image if I start it from the .app icon. Minor inconvenience but would be nice if it worked as intended.


Next I drag the System 6.0.8 icon on to the emulator window and the Mac boots nicely, so no problem there.

I then drag the file 'Arkanoid_1_00.dsk' in to the emulator and it asks me if I want initialise the disk or eject it. I always eject it.

Image

I then drag the file 'Arkanoid_1_10.dsk' in to the emulator and the disk mounts and I can start Arkanoid by double clicking at its icon. But Arkanoid gives error message about not being able to allocate alternate sound and screen buffers and suggest that I should use System 6.0.2 or later or boot from the Arkanoid 1.10 disk.

Image

I've tried that but of course that fails cause there is no system on that disk.

I go the .dsk images from here:

https://www.macintoshrepository.org/6122-arkanoid

and I've not been able to find an other source.

At this point I'm stuck and help would be appreciated.
User avatar
24bit
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1414
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Running Arkanoid

Post by 24bit »

Same error here with MiniVMac (Mac+), System 6.08 on a Sierra host.

The game runs with MinVMac (Mac II) though, looks like SheepShaver does work too but Basilisk II may be the way to go.

Image

There are a few files hosted here since 2009, no Idea whether MacRepo already ripped them off.
http://macintoshgarden.org/games/arkanoid
nyholku
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:05 am

Re: Running Arkanoid

Post by nyholku »

Thanks for the tip, got it working now!

For the posterity this is my setup:

Image

I got my files from here:


Mac II emulator:

https://www.gryphel.com/c/minivmac/dnld_mii.html


Mac II ROM image:

https://github.com/nyteshade/mini-vmac- ... /MacII.ROM


The System Startup disk:

https://www.gryphel.com/c/minivmac/dnld_mii.html
- note that MacOs Arhieve Utility fails to open the file, use Unarchaiver


Arkanoid:

https://www.macintoshrepository.org/6122-arkanoid
- it is the 3+ MB zip file
- specically from this link https://www.macintoshrepository.org/dow ... hp?id=9182



To start do as follows:

1) Drag 'System Startup-1' to the 'Mini vMac 26'
(starting by double clicking the Mini vMac icon does not work)
2) Drag 'Arkanoid_1_110.dsk' to the desktop of the emulated Mac
3) Start Arkanoid by double clicking the Arkanoid app icon


Above has been tested on MacOs High Sierra with files I downloaded at this point in time.
User avatar
gryphel
Nice Guy
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:46 pm

Re: Running Arkanoid

Post by gryphel »

nyholku wrote: I'm running on MacOs 10.13.6 High Sierra with Mini vMac version minivmac-3.5.8-mc68.

The first problem is that vMac does not find the ROM image if I place it in the same folder as 'Mini vMac.app' file.
This is due to the Path Randomization misfeature added in macOS Sierra (10.12). There are some work arounds, as described in my OS X notes page, which is linked to from the downloads page and the getting started page. I'm not sure how to make this harder to miss.

For the next version of Mini vMac, I found a way to find the original application folder even with Path Randomization. But it uses an undocumented function of OS X, so using it would likely just cause more problems in the future. Instead the next version, hopefully in beta soon, will allow dragging and drop the ROM image onto the Mini vMac window, if the ROM image isn't found in any of the locations in looks for it.
nyholku wrote: I then drag the file 'Arkanoid_1_00.dsk' in to the emulator and it asks me if I want initialise the disk or eject it. I always eject it.
It looks like this image is intended to be in Disk Copy 4.2 format, but the header is incorrect. So Mini vMac just treats it like a regular image, which doesn't work either. Stripping off the first 84 bytes of the image would allow it to work well enough.
nyholku wrote: I then drag the file 'Arkanoid_1_10.dsk' in to the emulator and the disk mounts and I can start Arkanoid by double clicking at its icon. But Arkanoid gives error message about not being able to allocate alternate sound and screen buffers and suggest that I should use System 6.0.2 or later or boot from the Arkanoid 1.10 disk.
I think this is because of something odd about the System 6 installer disk that you have booted from. If you used the installer disk to create a normal System 6 disk (such as described in the System 6 utility disk Recipe for Mini vMac), Arkanoid would work fine from the new boot disk.
nyholku
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:05 am

Re: Running Arkanoid

Post by nyholku »

I'm not sure how to make this harder to miss.
Touche! :oops: Well my only defence is that I'm a Mac user :wink: :smile:

Incidentally I tried the the xattr trick and seem it does not work in High Sierra anymore :sad:

BTW Thank you for all the work done on the emulator, my adult daughter just love playing her childhood favourite game!
User avatar
gryphel
Nice Guy
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:46 pm

Re: Running Arkanoid

Post by gryphel »

nyholku wrote:Touche!
Sorry, that should be read as a question of how to improve the documentation. Of course, the best way to improve the documentation is to make it unnecessary.
nyholku wrote:Incidentally I tried the the xattr trick and seem it does not work in High Sierra anymore
Thanks for the report. That wouldn't surprise me at all. Unfortunately, I have not been able to reproduce this, in 10.13.6. Something may be different in my set up.

Anyway, it would be better to make xattr unnecessary, and not to try to work around Apple's intentions. Hence, code signing for the next version, and support for dragging and dropping the ROM image.
Post Reply