Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun May 31, 2020 7:48 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:58 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:35 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles
Will SheepShaver use an external USB Zip drive?

YES! You will need two things:
1) The current version of SheepShaver
2) The 2.3 versions of SheepShaver GUI

Plug in your ZIP and mount a disk. Then open Disk Utility, select the ZIP drive (not the volume) and chose Get Info. Look for "Disk Identifier : disk1" (your disk # will vary). Then click on the ZIP volume (not the drive) and click "unmount" (do not eject the disk).

Then in the SheepShaver GUI, Volumes: click "Add", then enter "/dev/disk1" (with your disk #). When you start SheepShaver, the ZIP drive should appear on the emulated desktop.

This should work with any USB or Firewire drive, possibly even a USB floppy.

It may also work with Basilisk II.

NOTE: It is best to use an HFS pre-formatted ZIP disk from a system prior to OS X to ensure complete compatibility.

I have only begin to work with this, so please test and add your reports here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:23 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 26
Some problems trying to mount a Floppy:

When I click on add, it asks me for a virtual disk - nowhere to enter /dev/disk5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:58 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5965
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
As described, you will need to do this in the old SheepShaverGUI that is provided with the 2006 2.3-Pre release version:
http://gwenole.beauchesne.info/en/projects/sheepshaver


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:31 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 26
Hello, it actally works.
However a bit fiddling was necessary
I had rename my present app (2.3.20091018) , so I could bring in the pre version. I opened the GUI, added the drive and left it there (open).
When I tried to start from the GUI, it told me "can't read the ROM file"

What worked was starting by double-clicking the app (pre) with the GUI open, that worked (a floppy in the drive but not mounted).

Great.

However, there is no way to change disk and the app I wanted to install has 4 install disks.
Also, now the recent version of SheepShaver doesnt work anymore. It just blocks after the startup screen

Correction: It works if there is no floppy in the drive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group