Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue May 26, 2020 5:26 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Online
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:15 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 25
I just finished Getting system 7.5.3 on basilisk ii, and I installed a web browser.
I have followed the instructions here but I still can't connect. I get an error message.(Network error #-23045) I have a wireless connection with a password. How would I connect?


Last edited by mixmaster1190 on Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Posts: 3768
Location: Uiwang
Forget about what you've already done and instead try the SLIRP method:

http://emaculation.com/doku.php/sheepsh ... line_guide

Should be much easier.

The instructions use images of SheepShaver, but are identical in Basilisk II.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:55 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 25
Thanks Clockwise, but still no good. Same error. updated to 7.5.5 still no luck


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:18 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4886
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Basilisk network piggybacks on your windows network, so if networking works in windows, you should be able to get it running in Basilisk

Lets run through your settings:
-You have selected "slirp" as network protocol in the GUI.
-You have used the Network selector in OS 7.5 to select Open Transport for networking
-You have restarted
-You went to the TCP/IP control panel and selected Connect via: "Ethernet" and Configure: "Using DHCP Server"
-You click Edit/User Mode, Choose Advanced. Then click Options in the TCP/IP panel, and deselect "load only when needed". Save all settings.

Restart Basilisk. Please report back what it says in the TCP/IP control panel at IP address etc..

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:53 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 25
Cat_7 wrote:
Hi,

Basilisk network piggybacks on your windows network, so if networking works in windows, you should be able to get it running in Basilisk

Lets run through your settings:
-You have selected "slirp" as network protocol in the GUI.
-You have used the Network selector in OS 7.5 to select Open Transport for networking
-You have restarted
-You went to the TCP/IP control panel and selected Connect via: "Ethernet" and Configure: "Using DHCP Server"
-You click Edit/User Mode, Choose Advanced. Then click Options in the TCP/IP panel, and deselect "load only when needed". Save all settings.

Restart Basilisk. Please report back what it says in the TCP/IP control panel at IP address etc..

Best,
Cat_7

I don't have network selector in my OS 7.5.5. Also, when I upgraded I lost tcp/ip control panel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:32 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5961
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
mixmaster1190 wrote:
I don't have network selector in my OS 7.5.5. Also, when I upgraded I lost tcp/ip control panel.

Did you have the TCP/IP control panel in 7.5.3? With a default installation, you will usually have in 7.5.3 The "Network" control panel and the "MacTCP" control panel. When the Network Software selector (installed in the Apple Extras folder) is used to switch from "classic networking" to "Open Transport Networking" and after the subsequent restart, those two control panels will be removed and will be replace by the "AppleTalk" and "TCP/IP" control panels. If classic networking was still enabled when you updated to 7.5.5, the "Network" and "MacTCP" control panels should still be there as should be the Network Software selector. If Open Transport Networkimg was enabled, you should have the "AppleTalk" and "TCP/IP' control panels and Network Software Selector may not be available anymore after the update.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:51 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 25
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
mixmaster1190 wrote:
I don't have network selector in my OS 7.5.5. Also, when I upgraded I lost tcp/ip control panel.

Did you have the TCP/IP control panel in 7.5.3? With a default installation, you will usually have in 7.5.3 The "Network" control panel and the "MacTCP" control panel. When the Network Software selector (installed in the Apple Extras folder) is used to switch from "classic networking" to "Open Transport Networking" and after the subsequent restart, those two control panels will be removed and will be replace by the "AppleTalk" and "TCP/IP" control panels. If classic networking was still enabled when you updated to 7.5.5, the "Network" and "MacTCP" control panels should still be there as should be the Network Software selector. If Open Transport Networkimg was enabled, you should have the "AppleTalk" and "TCP/IP' control panels and Network Software Selector may not be available anymore after the update.

I did have it in 7.5.3. But the upgrade deleted 7.5.3. I have hvexplorer, so i can make a new 7.5.3 disk and use that if I have no other options. I also have a wep key on my router.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:30 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4886
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Yes,

Best to start all over again with a clean 7.5.3 install. Use the steps I described above.
And forget about your Windows networking/WEP key. If it works, leave it alone. You emulated mac will just use the connection.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:22 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 25
Cat_7 wrote:
Yes,

Best to start all over again with a clean 7.5.3 install. Use the steps I described above.
And forget about your Windows networking/WEP key. If it works, leave it alone. You emulated mac will just use the connection.

Best,
Cat_7

I tried it and it freezes basilisk ii and i have to end it in task manager.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:41 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4886
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Yes,

Just try a few times. If there is network traffic on your machine, Basilisk might crash. So try a few times to find a "slot" where there is no traffic.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:31 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 25
Thank you cat_7. I kept rebooting over and over and eventually it worked.
P.S. iCab is REALLY slow loading pictures. Mabye I should get a different browser...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:23 am 
Offline
Master Emulator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:35 am
Posts: 430
Just use your own network settings . It worked for me! The Mac will use your own internet connection .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group