Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sat May 30, 2020 2:15 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 [ 35 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Screenshots
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 6:25 am 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:13 am
Posts: 21
Location: Moscow, Russia
OS X startup:
Image

Desktop (boots to desktop in around 4 minutes on AXP 2800+):
Image

"About this Mac" without processor speed:
Image

Apple System Profiler:
Image

Emulated drives:
Image


System Preferences, nothing special:
Image

No sound adapter here:
Image

Desktop pictures, nothing special again:
Image

Internet Explorer:
Image


Last edited by HDC on Thu May 13, 2004 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:41 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 9:39 am
Posts: 13
after installing os x, did you have to change anything in the config file to make it boot from your hd image? ... my hd image is not recognised as a bootable disk when i try to start ppc and os x


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 10:40 am 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:13 am
Posts: 21
Location: Moscow, Russia
No, but I have already set prom_bootmethod to "select", and just picked my hard drive image as boot partition on next boot after installation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 10:54 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 9:39 am
Posts: 13
i've also set it to select, but according to the loader, only the cdrom is bootable. Did you use the Darwin install cd to make your hd?

i did not ... perhaps that is the problem?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 11:33 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 2:26 am
Posts: 23
Location: Right behind you!
hey,
could you possibly make a disk image that is prepartitioned(for osx), and then zip it, so that us 56k modem users dont have to wait so long for darwin to download just so that we can partition it?

please! your assistance is appreciated :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 11:42 am 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:13 am
Posts: 21
Location: Moscow, Russia
I have used bximage.exe from Bochs 2.1.1 to create a hd image, and partitioned/formatted it using a Disk Utility from OS X installer. I must admit that I created one partition before formatting a drive, and rebooted the emulator after formatting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 2:26 am
Posts: 23
Location: Right behind you!
how did you extract the cdrom image, mine just crashes when it loads the file?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 1:41 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:13 am
Posts: 21
Location: Moscow, Russia
Try BlindWrite 5 for that :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:41 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Posts: 2
My question is how did you get 10.2 to boot from the images? I've been trying everything to make it work!! I've made the images using blindwrite and it gets to the beginning of booting off the disc and comes up with a DiskArbStart() error.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: DiskArbStart() error
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:56 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4887
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hello

I think this error can be avoided by using these settings in your config file:
(look only at the enabled and disabled items, and fill in your own values for hard disk file etc.)


pci_ide0_master_installed = 1
pci_ide0_master_image = "pearpc-3gib.img"
pci_ide0_master_type = "hd"

pci_ide0_slave_installed = 1
pci_ide0_slave_image = "e:\PantherCD1.iso"
pci_ide0_slave_type = "cdrom"

#
# Network (unavailable on windows)
#
#pci_3c90x_installed = 0
#pci_3c90x_mac = "de:ad:ca:fe:12:34"

Best

Cat_7


Last edited by Cat_7 on Tue May 11, 2004 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:57 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:13 am
Posts: 21
Location: Moscow, Russia
Yeah, I got this error too at my first attempt :) After some fiddling around I tried setting prom_env_machargs to "" instead of "-v" - and it strangely worked ok :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: DiskArbStart() error
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:58 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4887
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
I have to agree to that too.

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 8:00 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Posts: 2
awesome thanks, it works!

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:38 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:41 am
Posts: 69
Location: Connecticut
I'm watching the OSX installer run through now. Seems taking that "-v" out of prom_env_machargs did the trick. I'm running on an Athlon 64 3200+, and so far the installer seems to be running at about the same speed a power mac 7500 ran when I forced OSX on it (it had a G3 upgrade card), so I'm optimistic as far as speed goes :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Hard drive image
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 1:31 pm 
Can someone please send to us 56kers a zipped image of a partitioned hard drive so that we don't have to download the 400 MB of Darwin?

It'd be very helpful

Thanks, Poochie


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:52 pm 
Сабж


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:54 pm 
Gde mne vzjat' MacOSX ili obraz ego???? :?:


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive image
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:54 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
Poochie wrote:
Can someone please send to us 56kers a zipped image of a partitioned hard drive so that we don't have to download the 400 MB of Darwin?

It'd be very helpful

Thanks, Poochie


Have you tried installing osx withour darwin?
alot of people said you don't need it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 2:56 pm 
Where I may get or download MacOSX????


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 3:53 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
i think it would be unwise for somebody to answer you in this forum as this would be promoting piracy and warez or pirated software talk is prohebited in this forum


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 5:59 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
Hirurg wrote:
Where I may get or download MacOSX????


you get macosx from your local apple authorized reseller, the apple store, or you may be able to get it cheap from eBay.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: No darwin
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 6:28 pm 
I found how to partition the disk without using darwin, now it looks ok, trying to install 10.2 right now, although I encountered an error right when starting to write the installation data on the drive, hope it doesn't happen again!


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 2:42 am 
Is there anyway for me to use my .dmg files i have of my install cds. I don't have the originals anymore, they went with the iBook when i sold it. Can you open .dmg in windows?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 11:31 am 
There's something wrong: trying to intall OSX 10.2 on a HFS+ partition will result in an instalation error when copying files to disk, using HFS will ask to change the partition type, using UFS will do the installation but then at reboot the machine will freeze after loading for a while... any hint?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Panther Server booting
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 1:22 pm 
Mac OS X Server 10.3 boots from installation cd. Don't use the prom_env_machargs = "-v" switch. With -v switch on it repeats "waiting for headless startup" forever.

Image


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 [ 35 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group