Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:19 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:02 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:15 am
Posts: 106
Location: Internet Island
When I trying to restore the system software from the Macintosh Performa CD, the message says the problem with the internal hard disk when trying to restore.

I've heard the SoftMac is works fine, but slowest.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:09 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5197
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
1. For which Performa model is the restore CD?

2. Please quote the exact error message. If it is not in English, quote in the original language and add a close as possible English translation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:52 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:15 am
Posts: 106
Location: Internet Island
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
1. For which Performa model is the restore CD?

2. Please quote the exact error message. If it is not in English, quote in the original language and add a close as possible English translation.


1. It's the Performa 630 Series DOS Compatible restore CD SSW v7.5.

2. Here is the error message when trying to start restoring system software in Basilisk II:

Quote:
Problems with internal hard disk.

There doesn't seem to be a hard disk to restore to.


Inside the Basilisk II has the hard disk mounted (as large floppy images with disguised hard disk icon), but the restore setup says to use SCSI or IDE hard disks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:17 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5197
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Right. Does the restore CD contain a folder "Hard disk" (or similar name)? You can simply copy its contents to a empty volume that is mounted in BasiliskII. After copying, make sure the System Folder is 'blessed' (shows the System Folder icon) by opening and again closing the folder.

(The system on the CD is intended for a specific Mac model, so it may not be compatible with the BasiliskII emulated machine.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:11 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:15 am
Posts: 106
Location: Internet Island
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
Right. Does the restore CD contain a folder "Hard disk" (or similar name)? You can simply copy its contents to a empty volume that is mounted in BasiliskII. After copying, make sure the System Folder is 'blessed' (shows the System Folder icon) by opening and again closing the folder.

(The system on the CD is intended for a specific Mac model, so it may not be compatible with the BasiliskII emulated machine.)


This CD does not have. I have the pre-loaded HFV has done using SoftMac.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:16 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2295
Location: Emaculation.com
Old thread, but I've been working on the answer.

The Apple Backup restore function requires a SCSI HD with the proper boot sector before it will restore. SoftMac is the only emulator to date that actively emulates the SCSI bus, so it's the only emulator that will recognize the HD image as a SCSI drive.

Unfortunately, SoftMac appears to emulate specific hardware, so the Performa CD images, while they boot, will either not recognize the HD image, or will claim you're not booting off the Performa CD.

Regular Apple Backup restores work just fine from SoftMac though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:06 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4443
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Basilisk by neozeed can also do SCSI:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/cockatrice/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:00 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1160
Location: Germany
FusionPC does SCSI very well too.
I doubt that any of the emulators may be set to such a specific Performa model, restoring would work.
Either way a working SCSI HBA on the PC side will be obligatory methinks.
Plus the SCSI HDD of course.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:41 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2295
Location: Emaculation.com
I've also done some hacking,and have modified the "Restore All Software" application so that it will now restore all software to the first volume in the volume list -- this means that you need to rename your system folder before running the restore, but it'll restore to the boot volume flawlessly. I had to NOP out the SCSI check AND NOP out the check for the Performa CD. I did it on one of the latest versions of the software, so it should work with any AppleBackup files, as long as they're all in the same folder as the hacked application and named appropriately. Of course, that doesn't guarantee that the resulting system folder will actually boot on an emulator; eg, while I've got a bare-bones 7.1P6 to boot on BII with the the Quadra 650 ROM and MachineID, this doesn't work with the Performa 630CD restore CD. But it at least allows you to make an image with all the software, and then you can replace the system file with a universal version (it doesn't appear to be a System Enabler issue, as they've both got the same enablers, and I've already removed the hardware-dependent extensions).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group