MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

kanjitalk755
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:06 pm

Re: MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

Post by kanjitalk755 »

I have fixed the issue again.
It works properly too in case caps lock is ON when launching SheepShaver.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Sorry to inform you that it does not work correctly.

It seems to work correctly immediately after launch, both with caps lock on and off at launch. But after using the caps lock key twice, the relation between LED indication and uppercase/lowercase is reversed. You get then lowercase with LED on and uppercase with LED off.
kanjitalk755
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:06 pm

Re: MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

Post by kanjitalk755 »

Hmm, rolled back to 11th July version.
jvernet
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:25 pm

Re: MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

Post by jvernet »

Wow, that's fun, I'm reading my name everywhere in the last thread on SheepShaver. Glad to see that my weird "64bits clean SLIRP" work !

Will try soon Kanjitalk's build. There is no intereset to work on my branch.
jwmci
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:02 pm

Re: MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

Post by jwmci »

I am using SS 2.5 on 10.13.6 using SS Wrapper from 7/11/18. I had no problems running Strategic Conquest 3.0.

When I tried to run Strategic Conquest 4.0.1, I get a fatal message saying "There is not enough memory to open 'Strategic Conquest 4.0.1' (zero K needed, 490,942 K available).

Can you suggest a way to fix this?
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: MacOSX/OSX/macOS 64-bit build for testing

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

This error may occur when you try to launch an application that is still on the 'Unix' volume or that was moved from the "Unix" volume directly to the desktop. Make sure to copy the application and related files to the virtual HD and launch it from there.

(In classic MacOS, the desktop is not a single location but the combined desktops of all mounted volumes. After moving a file from a volume directly to the desktop, that file will still be on that volume in an invisible "Desktop Folder".)
Post Reply