Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:08 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:26 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
As the title says, whenever i try to mount an .IMG file presumably made with Shrinkwrap, i get the error "Not enough memory" thrown at me constantly, even with high memory set on the application (the minimum and preferred size thing) it still doesen't work insisting that it does not have enough memory.

Even tried setting the RAM memory of the computer to the highest option available.

I'm running System 7.5.3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:01 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 991
This sometimes works: give BasiliskII LESS memory, not more. Try 4 MB or 36 MB or something in between.


Last edited by emendelson on Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:22 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
Hm, nope that didn't seem to work.
Even tried fiddling with shrinkwrap a little more, same error message


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:39 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
Is the disk image and shrinkwrap on an internal disk image and not the shared drive?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:54 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
Yes, they're both on the same drive in which i installed System 7 on.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:54 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
What happens if you manually launch ShrinkWrap? It's possible the version you have may not be compatible with 7.5.3, or there may be some other issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:18 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
It launches normally without any issues, it's just when i try to extract/mount or verify the image i'm trying to install is where it gives me the memory error


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:00 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
How big is the disk image?

Also, the format for ShrinkWrap images changed at some point; is it possible you're using ShrinkWrap 1.x and attempting to mount a 2.0 image?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:18 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
The disk image is 1.32 MB, i tried opening it with the only two Shrinkwraps i could find.

Version 2.1 and 3.5.2 - neither sadly worked.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:27 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
Hmm... 3.5.2 should work with any ShrinkWrap or Disk Copy 4 disk image. Is it possible the image is damaged?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:47 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
Tried double-checking by mounting another image which most likely isn't corrupted, same error message pops up however..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
What happens if you create a disk image with ShrinkWrap and then try to mount it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:25 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Posts: 7
It seems to mount perfectly fine - however, it creates a .image file and not a .img, renaming the extension from .image to .img doesen't seem to affect anything, although this is most likely not the correct way of doing it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:30 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Emaculation.com
Then what you've got probably aren't ShrinkWrap images; try mounting them with Disk Copy 4.2 (or Disk Copy 6) instead. If that doesn't work either, they could be some other format; you'd do best just to save them outside BII and add them to the list of volumes to mount at boot (after your boot image). If they're any sane format, they should load that way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group