Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Aug 14, 2020 11:50 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 8 [ 189 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 8:37 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
At 26 may 04 John_K finally was able to use TCP/IP to obtain a connection on his Windows computer. Shortly after the packages were created. To find out how click http://www.kelley.ca/pearpc

Here is probably the first screenshot anyone has made.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 12:05 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 11
This isn't working.
For some reason I can't activate it through OSX.
I went to System Preferences->Networks, and it only shows one ethernet connection without any option to change to select ""PCI Ethernet Slot pci10ex,8139, Port 4"" from the "Show" slopdown box. :(
Could it be because I'm connected to the internet through a router and a LAN network?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 12:55 pm 
Can you send me the ful screen patch with networking when you compiled it please?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 1:03 pm 
Temporary wrote:
This isn't working.
For some reason I can't activate it through OSX.
I went to System Preferences->Networks, and it only shows one ethernet connection without any option to change to select ""PCI Ethernet Slot pci10ex,8139, Port 4"" from the "Show" slopdown box. :(
Could it be because I'm connected to the internet through a router and a LAN network?


Make sure you have

pci_rtl8139_installed = 1
pci_rtl8139_mac = "de:ad:ca:fe:12:34"

in the config file and not:

pci_3c90x_installed = 0
pci_3c90x_mac = "DE:AD:CA:FE:12:34"

which is in the example file and restart it.

I've got a router sharing the internet as well, I just enabled ICS on the network card that connects to the router, setting the private network to the TAP network adapter.

Make sure your using the build with networking as well.


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 2:09 pm 
what ips do you put in when you behind a router?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 2:22 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
yeepeee it works
you have to put in the lan ip of you router for "enter a valid nameserver address"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 2:31 pm 
What do you mean where do i find my lan ip and that lot


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 2:33 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 11:57 pm
Posts: 587
Yes, I found the most important thing is you have to have a valid "DNS Server" address. For me it wasn't the IP of my router, but for some I guess it could be.

Great work John! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 3:12 pm 
My problem was my router IP address was conflicting with the Windows XP ICS. I had to change the LAN IP Address to 192.167.0.1 instead of 192.168.0.1 and the DHCP range to 192.167.0.2-51.

Worked instantly after that. :)


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 3:15 pm 
Scriptfactory wrote:
My problem was my router IP address was conflicting with the Windows XP ICS. I had to change the LAN IP Address to 192.167.0.1 instead of 192.168.0.1 and the DHCP range to 192.167.0.2-51.

Worked instantly after that. :)


hey, please can you explain that more clearly, as what you are saying might help me get mine to work.


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 3:27 pm 
Let me explain my last post more clearly.

My router has a LAN IP of 192.168.0.1 by default. This was conflicting with my Windows XP Internet Connection Sharing. All I did was change my LAN IP to 192.167.0.1. This was all done from my router control panel. If you have a hardware router, you can usually access from "http://< lan.ip >".

Try going to http://192.168.0.1 and if your router control panel pops up, that could be your problem.


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:00 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 8:52 pm
Posts: 7
I'm having problems too, I can't get it to work with my router- the IP was conflicting with WinXP's ICS, so I changed the LAN IP, but pages still won't load Safari

When I click the Local Area Connection Status for the TAP-Win32 Adapter in WinXP, it shows te IP to be 169.254.114.17- is it supposed to be like that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:07 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
Did you try to disable the Router and see what your results are? Also your leaving the router and the IP address the computer name at 192.168.0.1 correct? Also John_K specifys that you may have to change that...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:14 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:39 am
Posts: 10
I didn't have to change any settings in OSX, it just took right off and I'm behind a router as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Changing settings
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:19 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
yeah I had the same results....when into Network in System Preferences on OSX I got this..

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:20 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 11:57 pm
Posts: 587
Yeah the Mac probably just uses DHCP when it can.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:23 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic

Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 154
My XP (SP2) crashes on boot up every time after installing the OpenVPN TAP driver - regardless of the version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:37 pm 
I'm behind router
I set my IP address manually
but not work

just use DHCP
It works well


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:50 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 10:11 am
Posts: 93
I can't seem to enable Internet Connection Sharing. I'm behind a wireless router...and it won't let me change the IP address of my router. it says 192.186.0.1 is taken on the network and must be open for ICS...I don't know what I"m doing wrong. I right click my Local Area connection 2 (which is the normal lan connection I would connect to if I was connected through wires) and try to enable ICS through my wireless network connection (wireless connection is selected under Home Networking Connection: and I check the Allow other users to connect through this computer's internet connection checkbox...it then logs me off and gives me the error that 192.168.0.1 is taken on the network and I will need to free that. Am I doing something wrong because I can't seem to get this right.

I also go into my routers control panel (Netgear 54Mbps WGR614v2) and try to change the IP Address of the router, which is 192.168.0.1, and I"m presuming causing the conflict, but it says invalid ip address, please specify another one. I have no idea what I"m doing wrong. Would someone care to help me?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: panther
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:07 pm 
Does this mod work for panther? I dont have an option to change the PCI adapter in System Prefrences on Panther.


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:11 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:23 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Illinois, USA
Mmm... Just got it working.

I followed the instructions to the letter, but I set the DNS to my router's LAN address. It doesn't seem to take my DNS IP's directly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:16 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 7:07 pm
Posts: 26
Location: United Kingdom
Has anyone got this working on a system that is using a different IP range to the 192.168?

I run my network on 10.0.0.xxx, and cannot get OS X 10.2 to show the adapter in the 'Show' box.

Is it because I am not running on the 192.168.0.xxx range?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:17 pm 
has anyone tried this with a wireless connection? should it matter at all to the system?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:18 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:23 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Illinois, USA
Just a friendly screenshot of the configs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:22 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 7:48 pm
Posts: 9
It's just not working for me. Anybody got any ideas? This is from my config file:

pci_rtl8139_installed = 1
pci_rtl8139_mac = "de:ad:ca:fe:12:34"

And attached is a shot of my network prefs :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 8 [ 189 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group