A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

About Qemu-system-m68k, a m68k Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run MacOS 7.1 to 8.1, AUX 3.x and NetBSD

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
hecker18023
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2023 1:04 am

A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by hecker18023 »

Hello, I'm attempting to install A/UX 3.0.1 in qemu-system-m68k, I've compiled it myself with slirp and gtk enabled and am using this sh script to load it:

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/env bash

./qemu-system-m68k \
-name "Apple A/UX 3.0.1" \
-L pc-bios \
-m 128 \
-M q800 \
-display gtk \
-serial stdio \
-bios Quadra800.ROM \
-g 800x600x8 \
-net nic,model=dp83932 \
-net user \
-drive file=pram-aux.img,format=raw,if=mtd \
-device scsi-hd,scsi-id=0,drive=fd0 \
-drive file=Bootdisk.img,media=disk,format=raw,if=none,id=fd0 \
-device scsi-hd,scsi-id=1,drive=hd0,vendor="SEAGATE",product="ST225N",ver="1.0" \
-drive file=AUX3.img,media=disk,format=raw,if=none,id=hd0 \
-device scsi-cd,scsi-id=3,drive=cd0,vendor="MATSHITA",product="CD-ROM CR-8005",ver="1.0k" \
-drive file=AUX_3.0.1_Install.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom,if=none,id=cd0
I have created the pram-aux.img and the AUX3.img files, and the ROM, bootdisk and install iso all have the correct case and spelling however when I run the file I only get a QEMU window with a blank white screen. The CPU seems to be running however the display does not seem to function. Have I done anything wrong here?
I compiled QEMU with " ./configure --target-list=m68k-softmmu --enable-slirp --enable-gtk && make".

Thanks for any help I can get.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5859
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

From which repository did you build?
You need to build from https://github.com/mcayland/qemu/tree/q800.upstream2-vm to get A/UX support.

Edit: also take a look at our guide: the arguments for disks have been simplified.
https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/m6 ... s_in_macos

I assume you are using our "floppy image" to boot?

Best,
Cat_7
hecker18023
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2023 1:04 am

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by hecker18023 »

Yes, I am using that floppy image now, and it seems to load, however then seems to get stuck on that default mac os background without anything else, is it normal to stay there for a long time?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5859
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by Cat_7 »

No, it should stay grey for some second while finding the bootable floppy and then display "Welcome to Macintosh" for 1 or 2 seconds and switch to the installer.
hecker18023
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2023 1:04 am

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by hecker18023 »

It gets to the Welcome to Macintosh screen then shows the "A/UX Release 3.0.1" screen then shows an "A/UX Installation" loading screen for a second before flickering and going to that grey screen.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5859
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by Cat_7 »

I've seen reports of that before, but never experienced it myself. I know of no solution.
To exclude any issue with the cdrom/hd/pram images, you might want to start with only our bootfloppy image:

./qemu-system-m68k \
-M q800 \
-bios Quadra800.rom \
-net nic,model=dp83932 -net user \
-device scsi-hd,scsi-id=3,drive=fd0 \
-drive file=AUXBootfloppy.img,media=disk,format=raw,if=none,id=fd0

If that gets you to the "can´t find a cdrom" screen, you can try to add the cdrom to command line.

Best,
Cat_7
hecker18023
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2023 1:04 am

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by hecker18023 »

It seems to be an issue with the cdrom, I get to the "you need a cdrom screen" with the floppy however when I add the cdrom it gets to that same grey screen.
mcayland
Granny Smith
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by mcayland »

hecker18023 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 7:37 am It seems to be an issue with the cdrom, I get to the "you need a cdrom screen" with the floppy however when I add the cdrom it gets to that same grey screen.
Can you confirm the branch and version you are using with "git log", along with your host OS and CPU?

I just did a test boot of the latest q800.upstream2-vm branch here using the boot floppy and it works fine here booting to the A/UX installer:

Code: Select all

./qemu-system-m68k \
     -M q800  \
     -m 128 \    
     -nic model=dp83932 \
     -bios Quadra800.ROM \
     -drive file=AUX_3.0.1_Install.iso,media=cdrom,if=none,id=cd \
     -device scsi-cd,scsi-id=3,drive=cd \
     -drive file=blank.img,if=none,id=hd \
     -device scsi-hd,scsi-id=0,drive=hd \
     -drive file=AUXBootfloppy.img,if=none,id=fd \
     -device scsi-hd,scsi-id=4,drive=fd \
     -drive file=pram.img,format=raw,if=mtd
Note I tend to put the AUXBootfloppy.img as a separate drive with SCSI ID 4 for the install, since if you change the SCSI ID of the hard disk from 1 to 0 after installation then the toolbox ROM can sometimes take 30-40s checking the SCSI bus on reboot as the SCSI ID of the boot disk stored in the PRAM has changed, and so you need to wait for the toolbox ROM to timeout. Fortunately assuming both the disk image for the HD and the PRAM are both blank then the toolbox ROM will find AUXBootfloppy.img on the first boot without much delay.
hecker18023
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2023 1:04 am

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by hecker18023 »

Latest commit seems to be

Code: Select all

commit f25b3476ee2621a637251439eaebf357970f7638 (HEAD -> q800.upstream2-vm, origin/q800.upstream2-vm)
i think that's the latest release on github too

Host os is Linux Mint 21.1, cpu is Ryzen 7 7700X

ran that exact same script, background was green this time but same result, stuck on that background.
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3848
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by adespoton »

hecker18023 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 8:37 am Latest commit seems to be

Code: Select all

commit f25b3476ee2621a637251439eaebf357970f7638 (HEAD -> q800.upstream2-vm, origin/q800.upstream2-vm)
i think that's the latest release on github too

Host os is Linux Mint 21.1, cpu is Ryzen 7 7700X

ran that exact same script, background was green this time but same result, stuck on that background.
Are you seeing anything of interest in your host syslog?
mcayland
Granny Smith
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: A/UX 3.0.1 white screen in QEMU 7.2.0

Post by mcayland »

hecker18023 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 8:37 am Latest commit seems to be

Code: Select all

commit f25b3476ee2621a637251439eaebf357970f7638 (HEAD -> q800.upstream2-vm, origin/q800.upstream2-vm)
i think that's the latest release on github too

Host os is Linux Mint 21.1, cpu is Ryzen 7 7700X

ran that exact same script, background was green this time but same result, stuck on that background.
The git details seem right, but the green screen is something I've never seen before - can you post a video somewhere? Due to the speed of your CPU my first guess is that the timer calibration hacks aren't working for you - can you re-run configure with --enable-debug appended to your existing version, rebuild the entire repository, and then try again? Obviously this will substantially slow down the emulation, but it should determine if this is the issue or not.
Post Reply