Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Even up to four!
Best,
Cat_7
Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Apologies for silence. I haven't tried it yet, because I don't have a second monitor here to use with my MacBook Air. At some point, I'll borrow the second monitor that my wife is using, but that will have to wait until she finishes her current project. I'll shout as soon as I have anything to report.
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
You don't need a second monitor. You can have up to four Mac OS windows on one monitor 
However, if you have a second monitor already extending your macOS host desktop you can drag one or more Mac OS window to the second monitor.
Best,
Cat_7

However, if you have a second monitor already extending your macOS host desktop you can drag one or more Mac OS window to the second monitor.
Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Some progress. Here is the script I use:
It starts up A/UX with two windows, but one has a mesage "kernel error" followed by a few lines of hex digits etc., and the other is blank.
If I'm doing something obvious wrong, then I'll keep trying. Otherwise I wonder if I did something in my initial setup that makes this not work.
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"
./qemu-system-m68k-qfb \
-M q800,fb=none \
-bios Quadra800.rom \
-device nubus-qfb,width=600,height=480,depth=16 \
-device nubus-qfb,width=600,height=480,depth=16 \
-display sdl \
-nic user,model=dp83932,mac=08:00:07:12:34:56,hostfwd=tcp::2121-:21 \
-drive file=pram-macos-qfb.img,format=raw,if=mtd \
-device scsi-hd,scsi-id=0,drive=hd0 \
-drive file=root.img,media=disk,format=raw,if=none,id=hd0 \
-device scsi-hd,scsi-id=2,drive=hd1 \
-drive file=opt.img,media=disk,format=raw,if=none,id=hd1
If I'm doing something obvious wrong, then I'll keep trying. Otherwise I wonder if I did something in my initial setup that makes this not work.
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Your command line is fine. This is a pram issue.
Here are two pram files: one empty (to keep as spare), one that works with A/UX at my place: https://surfdrive.surf.nl/files/index.p ... t/download
Best,
Cat_7
Here are two pram files: one empty (to keep as spare), one that works with A/UX at my place: https://surfdrive.surf.nl/files/index.p ... t/download
Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Aha! Thank you! I would never have guessed this. Now - this should be obvious to me, but it isn't: How do I get a window to open in the second screen???Cat_7 wrote: ↑Thu Oct 19, 2023 5:28 am Your command line is fine. This is a pram issue.
Here are two pram files: one empty (to keep as spare), one that works with A/UX at my place: https://surfdrive.surf.nl/files/index.p ... t/download
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
First check whether you have the windows arranged correctly. You can use the Monitors control panel to check. But take care, the Mac OS 701-AUX control panel is not the most stable. (the ones included in Mac OS 7.5 up to 8.1 do better).
Put both windows side by side and drag applications or icons to the other screen. It should be a seamless experience.
Please note: only when running with -display sdl you get to see two screens at boot. cocoa or gtk require you to select the second screen from their window menus.
Best,
Cat_7
Put both windows side by side and drag applications or icons to the other screen. It should be a seamless experience.
Please note: only when running with -display sdl you get to see two screens at boot. cocoa or gtk require you to select the second screen from their window menus.
Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Well, this is strange. I tried it twice, and posted an image of the two monitors side by side, with the numbers 1 and 2 identifying them correctly. But I couldn't drag from one to the other.
But now I tried it a third time, and it works perfectly! Thank you for your patience with this.
And while I'm asking: I see that the command line in the download doesn't have the /m-128 option that was in my original. I think I see that 128MB is the default setting, so you don't need that option. But is there any advantage in setting it higher or lower?
Again thanks. I'll post this setup in the next few days.
But now I tried it a third time, and it works perfectly! Thank you for your patience with this.
And while I'm asking: I see that the command line in the download doesn't have the /m-128 option that was in my original. I think I see that 128MB is the default setting, so you don't need that option. But is there any advantage in setting it higher or lower?
Again thanks. I'll post this setup in the next few days.
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Max ram for the quadra 800 seems to be 132 Mb, so I would not go any higher.
The second screen can indeed be unresponsive until you use the monitors control panel.
Best,
Cat_7
The second screen can indeed be unresponsive until you use the monitors control panel.
Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
And, as you said, the Monitors control panel is unstable. When I tried to change the color seting from millions of grays (I don't remember setting it that way, but that's what it was) to 256 colors, the system crashed. Working correctly now.
It occurs to me that it shouldn't be hard to combine the multiple-screens setup and the single-screen setup in a single AppleScript app so the user could choose between them (maybe by changing the name of the app). I'll try to find some time to put that together in the next week or two.
It occurs to me that it shouldn't be hard to combine the multiple-screens setup and the single-screen setup in a single AppleScript app so the user could choose between them (maybe by changing the name of the app). I'll try to find some time to put that together in the next week or two.
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
I've now updated my page with a new download and an explanation of how to run the two-screen option:
https://mendelson.org/auxrunner.html
https://mendelson.org/auxrunner.html
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Works as advertised!
I'd like to suggest a small change to your download page.
It would be better to warn users that the shutdown can take some time and that they should wait to close the Qemu window until the "safe to shut down" message appears.
Best,
Cat_7
I'd like to suggest a small change to your download page.
It would be better to warn users that the shutdown can take some time and that they should wait to close the Qemu window until the "safe to shut down" message appears.
Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
I hope you didn't replicate both language errors in the earlier message
(now fixed)
Best,
Cat_7

Best,
Cat_7
-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
No, you didn't. It said "save to shutdown"
If there is anything that needs saving it is my language skill
If there is anything that needs saving it is my language skill

-
- Forum All-Star
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Code: Select all
qemu-system-m68k: -drive file=pram.img,format=raw,media=mtd: 'mtd' invalid media
Re: Qemu-system-m68k macOS to run Mac OS 7-8 /AUX3.x /NetBSD
Yes,
-drive file=pram.img,format=raw,if=mtd
Best,
Cat_7
-drive file=pram.img,format=raw,if=mtd
Best,
Cat_7