BasiliskII for Windows

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4273
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by adespoton »

raytoei wrote: Mon Jan 08, 2024 2:11 am Hi, Cat 7,

i am a happy new user of Basilisk ii, one question i have is whether there are binaries to run 6.0.8 the reason is that i am trying to run Balance of Power and excel but they crash under 7.5. Mac os and Basilisk wont boot the original disks that came with the games.

btw, i read your guide it mentions only 7 to 8x Mac os?

thanks
There are no official builds that run 6.0.8; by default, only 32-bit mode is supported. To run 24-bit mode OSes/software, you can use Mini vMac II, MAME, PCE/MacPlus, or SoftMac XP. See https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... 2nWC9_t2w/ for more details.
raytoei
Space Cadet
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2024 2:00 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by raytoei »

Thanks! I managed to read up the wiki and got basilisk ii for 7 and vmac for is 6.x

Thanks!
S6Bow
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2023 4:06 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by S6Bow »

S6Bow wrote: Sat Aug 12, 2023 12:33 am I live in Japan.
When we mount a Windows drive with BasiliskII and access a Windows file, the time stamp of the file advances by about 14 hours.
This is a problem with the normal Windows drive mounting functionality.
In addition, the region of MacOS time on BasiliskII is Tokyo, Japan.
Image
BasiliskII was updated to (19-01-2024), but the problem with the timestamps being off by 14 hours on Windows drives was not fixed. :sad:
emendelson
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by emendelson »

Possibly this would be relevant for anyone expert enough to modify the source?

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/392 ... -time-zone
Tooncinator
Student Driver
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:37 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Tooncinator »

Hello. When I read this:
The latest build available in the first post fixes an issue with the mouse in the Apeiron game.
I rushed to try it. However, my mouse is still unusable in the build I tried. I am using an old Mac OS 8.1 disk. I created a new volume in the 19-01-2024 build of Basilisk II and installed to that fresh volume. I am on Windows 10. I am using a Quadra 605 rom, Quadra 900 is the Mac Model ID specified.

Is there some mouse setting I have to change?
quadrat700
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2024 4:30 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by quadrat700 »

Hello!

I've noticed a quite strange bug: when a couple of ROMs than "1995-04 - 064DC91D - LC, Performa 580 & Performa 588.ROM" is used, scroll bars in Mac OS 8.1 don't move on the screen. I don't know if it is that important, but I guess it may not hurt.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Basilisk and SheepShaver change things in the rom to allow Mac OS to run.
Not all roms have the information that needs to be changed in the same place, so not all roms are fully patcheable and hence your outcomes may be unpredictable.

Best to stick with the roms advised in our guides.

Best,
Cat_7
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4273
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by adespoton »

quadrat700 wrote: Sun Feb 25, 2024 5:00 pm Hello!

I've noticed a quite strange bug: when a couple of ROMs than "1995-04 - 064DC91D - LC, Performa 580 & Performa 588.ROM" is used, scroll bars in Mac OS 8.1 don't move on the screen. I don't know if it is that important, but I guess it may not hurt.
Would you please update https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... Dk7QDyKPY/ with comments for the ROMs you attempted? Unless the ones you used are already noted as "will not work with Basilisk II".
Tooncinator
Student Driver
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:37 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Tooncinator »

I apologize for bringing this up again but can anyone verify that Apeiron's mouse works in the current build? If it does, can you specify what ROM you are using? I tried the Quadra 650 ROM just now and it did not work either. Same story as before, works in the menus but not in-game.
User avatar
jonirob
Tinkerer
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by jonirob »

Tooncinator wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2024 4:32 am I apologize for bringing this up again but can anyone verify that Apeiron's mouse works in the current build? If it does, can you specify what ROM you are using? I tried the Quadra 650 ROM just now and it did not work either. Same story as before, works in the menus but not in-game.
I also can't get the mouse to work in BasiliskII. Though Apeiron works flawlessly in Qemu-system-m68k, using the Quadra800 rom.
Post Reply