Qemu package and guide for OSX available

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

That is new ;-)

I assume you are running with -display cocoa
What options do you have in the Qemu menus for the display. Have you tried any of the zoom to fit options?

You might also try -display sdl


Best,
Cat_7
User avatar
carbon
Student Driver
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 8:22 pm

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by carbon »

Sorry, I should have posted my command file right away. Here it is:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-cpu "g4" \
-boot c \
-M mac99,via=pmu \
-m 512 \
-prom-env "auto-boot?=true" -prom-env "boot-args=-v" -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true" \
-drive file=System9.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-netdev user,id=network01 -device sungem,netdev=network01,mac=52:54:00:12:34:56 \
-display cocoa \
-device VGA,edid=on \
-g 1024x768x32 \
-device usb-kbd \
-device usb-mouse \
-virtfs local,security_model=none,mount_tag=qemushare,path="/Users/Shared/Classifier/" 
And yep, switching to sdl corrects the display bug.
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4273
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by adespoton »

You could also try leaving off -g 1024x768x32 -- set the resolution using the Monitors control panel, and don't pre-set the window size, and this might fix things. But it does suspiciously look like Cocoa is using the outer dimensions of the window (including the window bar) for that 1024x768 dimension in Sonoma, whereas SDL is using everything below the windowbar.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

I've posted a new build in the first post. Perhaps something was fixed ;-)

In the meantime your command line could do with some pruning. I guess there are some left-overs from previous versions?

#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-cpu "g4" \ -> this is default
-boot c \
-M mac99,via=pmu \
-m 512 \
-prom-env "auto-boot?=true" -prom-env "boot-args=-v" -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true" \ ->-prom-env "auto-boot?=true" and -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true" are default, -prom-env "boot-args=-v" only has effect when running Mac OS X versions
-drive file=System9.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-netdev user,id=network01 -device sungem,netdev=network01,mac=52:54:00:12:34:56 \ -> this is default, unless you need the network01 name for something else
-display cocoa \
-device VGA,edid=on \
-g 1024x768x32 \ -> this only sets the size of the initial yellow openbios window.
-device usb-kbd \ -> this is already implied when using via=pmu, so you're adding this twice.
-device usb-mouse \ -> this is already implied when using via=pmu, so you're adding this twice.
-virtfs local,security_model=none,mount_tag=qemushare,path="/Users/Shared/Classifier/"
User avatar
carbon
Student Driver
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 8:22 pm

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by carbon »

Nope, the bug is still present in the Cocoa version.

Thanks for your corrections, cat_7. I tend not to touch the command file once it's working (after a lot of experimenting, adding/deleting lines etc.) as I've made the experience that the slightest changes can make the system not working.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

A new build was linked in the first post in this thread.

Best,
Cat_7
steeler_fanatic
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by steeler_fanatic »

FYI - I've tried various packages on various MacBook Pro's including latest with M3 chip and always run into the same issue with the menu bar not visible. It's accessible but just above the visible range of the window. Solution I came upon was to change "-display cocoa \" to "-display sdl \" in the qemu command file.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

Yes, this is known issue on Sonoma hosts to be resolved soon in the qemu source code.

Best,
Cat_7
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

A new sound enabled build based on qemu 8.2 has been linked in the second post in this thread.

For lovers of the bleeding edge an additional sound and virtio support enabled build based on qemu 8.2 has also been added in the second post in this thread.

Best,
Cat_7
PeterHolbrook
Apple Corer
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by PeterHolbrook »

Cat_7 wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 9:41 am A new sound enabled build based on qemu 8.2 has been linked in the second post in this thread.

For lovers of the bleeding edge an additional sound and virtio support enabled build based on qemu 8.2 has also been added in the second post in this thread.

Best,
Cat_7
I must be missing something or something is wrong with the new build. Qemu virtual machines don't show the Apple menu. I've tried on MacOS 9.2.2 and Tiger 10.4.11. No menu; therefore, no way to quit the emulated operating system.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

Let me guess, your host is running Sonoma?
Please see two posts above. This is a known issue that should be fixed soon.

Best,
Cat_7
PeterHolbrook
Apple Corer
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by PeterHolbrook »

Cat_7 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:57 pm Let me guess, your host is running Sonoma?
Please see two posts above. This is a known issue that should be fixed soon.

Best,
Cat_7
Wow! You are absolutely right. For the time being, substituting "sdl" for "cocoa" solves the issue, doesn't it?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

Yes it does,

Best,
Cat_7
PeterHolbrook
Apple Corer
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by PeterHolbrook »

Cat_7 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 7:08 pm Yes it does,
Thank you very much.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

Both experimental builds available in the second post in this thread have been updated to include the Sonoma screen issue patch.

Best,
Cat_7
PeterHolbrook
Apple Corer
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by PeterHolbrook »

Cat_7 wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:56 am Both experimental builds available in the second post in this thread have been updated to include the Sonoma screen issue patch.
Wonderful. Thanks!
nexusle
Student Driver
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:37 am

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by nexusle »

Is there somewhere source code available, which have the fix for cocoa display inside?

I want to build an Apple Silicon build with this fix. All I found is source code without the fix.
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4273
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by adespoton »

User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6169
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: Qemu package and guide for OSX available

Post by Cat_7 »

It is not yet included in the main code.
Here is the patch.

https://lists.nongnu.org/archive/html/q ... 05358.html
Post Reply