can't add .iso as CD-ROM

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
rscaboyke
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 7:54 am

can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by rscaboyke »

This command line is working perfectly for me on my m1 iMac, but I can't seem to add an .iso as a CD-ROM drive without getting de BUS 0,0 exists error, is this because I have a mount point in the virtue device line ??

Any help appreciated


#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-system-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-M mac99 \
-display cocoa \
-m 768 \
-boot c \
-device loader,addr=0x4000000,file=ndrvloader \
-prom-env "boot-command=init-program go" \
-drive file=MacOS92DTP.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-drive file=Exchange.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-drive file=7.1.2.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-device virtio-tablet-pci \
-device virtio-9p-pci,fsdev=Oepieke,mount_tag="Macintosh HD" \
-fsdev local,id=Oepieke,security_model=none,path=/Users/oepieke/Desktop/naarOS9/
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4520
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by adespoton »

What does your config look like with the iso added? I notice that your IDE bus is currently full, with two HD entries listed. So the CD-ROM drive will have to go in 0,1.

wait... three entries. I'm not sure what modern QEMU does about that when you don't explicitly configure the IDE bus.

Oh, and see viewtopic.php?p=80171#p80171 which just happens to mention a related issue regarding assigning cd0 to the IDE bus.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6379
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by Cat_7 »

Niet dat ik weet ;-) (Not to my knowledge)

The command line below gives me three disks, one cdrom, and one shared drive.
Are you sure the iso is readable?

#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-system-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-M mac99 \
-display cocoa \
-m 512 \
-boot c \
-drive file=/Users/hsp/mac-disks/9.2.1.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-drive file=/Users/hsp/mac-disks/9.2.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-drive file=/Users/hsp/mac-disks/10.5.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-drive file=/Volumes/Macdata/iso/9.2.1.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom \
-device loader,addr=0x4000000,file=./ndrvloader \
-prom-env "boot-command=init-program go" \
-device virtio-tablet-pci \
-device virtio-9p-pci,fsdev=qemushare,mount_tag="Macintosh HD" \
-fsdev local,id=qemushare,security_model=none,path=/Users/hsp/qemushare
rscaboyke
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 7:54 am

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by rscaboyke »

I managed to load the .iso as a .dmg (converted .iso with sequoia diskutil to "read-only" .dmg), didn't know that .dmg could be loaded in the command line. It was about a system 7.2.1P installer download from winworld-site.
Installed 7.2.1 onto an empty disk, if I want to boot this one, I just put the new 7.2.1 on top of hd lists ? (ai bad question virtio only with os9, so other qemu folder to use this one)
can also someone explain me if Dingus gains speed compared to qemu ? or better Pro's Dingus - Pro's qemu.
anyway thx all for the great support here on the forum, didn't login for ages, but visited the forum each day I think for more than 25 years, back then I worked in prepress.
It's beautiful to see the evolution back then even sheepshaver was new, BasiliskII was used each day @prepress.


https://ibb.co/YTPkQMq
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6379
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by Cat_7 »

Nice screenshot, brings back memories...

I don't know what you are aiming at, but system 7.x will not run in Qemu-system-ppc. Due to some bugs 9.0.4 for the Cube (with rom 5.2.1) is the lowest. As qemu-system-ppc emulates a Powermac G4, it wouldn't run anything below 8.6 for G4 anyway.

Perhaps you can use SheepShaver, but I'm not sure.

You are referring to Dingus. Is that the Dingus emulator? If so, I believe you cannot get functionality comparable to qemu right now. I believe speedtests currently will not run in dingus, but I might be wrong.
I don't know what you mean with Pro's dingus? Running system 7.1.1pro in them?

Best,
Cat_7
rscaboyke
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 7:54 am

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by rscaboyke »

Yes of course 7.x 68k version but gonna try with sheepshaver and give results afterwards.

I meant DingusPPC perhaps could run 7.x ppc but honestly emulating with Dingus (or even I read 'mame' has a way) but not familiar with setup of those 2
So yes wanted to try 7.1.1 in Dingus
yes memories of past DTP career :lol:
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4520
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by adespoton »

rscaboyke wrote: Fri Jan 10, 2025 12:14 pm Yes of course 7.x 68k version but gonna try with sheepshaver and give results afterwards.

I meant DingusPPC perhaps could run 7.x ppc but honestly emulating with Dingus (or even I read 'mame' has a way) but not familiar with setup of those 2
So yes wanted to try 7.1.1 in Dingus
yes memories of past DTP career :lol:
I've got a thread going elsewhere on MAME and DingusPPC booting 7.1.x. MAME boots the 6100 profile with a specific 7.1.2P CD image (not the Performa one, not the 6100 one, but the one that boots both 68k and PPC machines). 7.1.1 won't boot in either DingusPPC or MAME; the first version is 7.1.2, and it has to have the correct SCSI driver present. Note that while MAME boots the 6100 profile, you aren't going to be able to do much beyond get to the desktop. That will likely change sometime later this year, as Arbee has the 6100 profile on his "to do" list after he's finished with the 68k Nubus stuff he's working on right now.

You can play around with DingusPPC at https://infinitemac.org/ in the Custom section; however, I've had some issues recently where it seems to revert to the default profile (a Quadra for 7.1.x) instead of using the selected DingusPPC 6100 profile. Booting a local install would likely work better to ensure you're using the profile and image that you want to be using.

Cat_7's already summarized why qemu-system-ppc won't work below 9.0.4. Personally, I don't use it below 9.1, and have 9.0 through 9.0.4 booting in SheepShaver instead because right now, the performance, stability and hardware support is much more stable for 9.0.x on SheepShaver, at least for me. I'm hoping that at some point, someone will revisit the beigeg3 profile in QEMU and implement all the stuff that's been implemented in DingusPPC, such that it can boot all the systems a real Beige G3 was able to boot (Mac OS 8.0 - OS X 10.2.8). But that's still not going to boot 7.x, because G3s don't have the right hardware config to boot below 8.0. Possibly DingusPPC/MAME's support for the 6100 and 7100 could eventually be rolled into new profiles in qemu-system-ppc?
rscaboyke
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 7:54 am

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by rscaboyke »

wow, thx really for the detailed info, sheepshaver, basiliskII was/is for me a real magnificent piece of software, back than and also now it's unbelievable what it already brings to us, but honestly mame-ppc emulation and also dingus is for me n00B difficult to try as there aren't such step-for-step-manuals for those, qemu is a wauw thing, only missing part is vga-acceleration, being someone who year by year is following emulation on the web and have used Pcem on mac platforms (you have to build yourself the latest version(s) but graphics even Voodoo3d work), that's why I want to try other emulators, perhaps dingus or mame could emulate quicker those graphics than qemu or SheepShaver or basilisk, but honestly I'm more than happy with the result already of qemu. One can only hope that the unknown (like dingus and mame) gets further on that part.

once more thx for your info
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4520
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com

Re: can't add .iso as CD-ROM

Post by adespoton »

MAME and DIngusPPC are going for cycle exact machine emulation, as opposed to OS environment emulation like SheepShaver. This means that they'll always be slower. In fact, if done correctly, they should run at the exact speed of the machines they're emulating (in this case, the P6100). QEMU sits somewhere in the middle, emulating the base hardware and then letting developers create a virtual machine to sit on top of that that may or may not exactly emulate real hardware. In the case of qemu-system-ppc profiles for Macs, there's two: beigeG3 and mac99. BeigeG3 is an incomplete implementation of the actual Beige G3 hardware; it's complete "enough" to run OS X Server 1.0, but not enough to run Mac OS 8.0-9.2.2. Current Mac99 started as a GSOC project a decade ago, with the goal to implement enough G4 architecture to run OS X 10.1-10.4. As it progressed, three sub-variants were implemented, and it turned out that the hardware emulated allowed it to run everything from Mac OS 9.0.4 through OS X 10.5.x.

But to make qemu-system-ppc run anything else, more work would need to be done to beigeG3, and to go below Mac OS 8.0, a new PM6100 profile would need to be created -- which is theoretically possible now that we've got NuBus hardware emulated for qemu-system-m68k for the Q800 -- a lot of that work could just be copied wholesale.
Post Reply