Needing help to setup OSX 10.2 in QEMU.

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Unbreakify
Student Driver

Needing help to setup OSX 10.2 in QEMU.

Post by Unbreakify »

This is my first time using QEMU, so its quite hard for me to understand what im doing.

I am trying to setup OSX 10.2 in QEMU, but the machine refuses to boot. I dont know what to do when im making a machine, its not very helpful

I am using Windows 10 x64 on an AMD Processor.
Cat_7
Expert User

Re: Needing help to setup OSX 10.2 in QEMU.

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

Yes, too bad there is no simple GUI to set up Qemu in Windows. Qemu is complex and sees changes regularly, so maintaining a GUI would require a lot of work.
You say you want to emulate Mac OS X 10.2. Qemu has display problems with this particular version of OS X. Can you settle for some other version like 10.1 or 10.3?

What have you done so far? Did you create a virtual disk and did you edit the downloaded bat file to use your cd image to boot?
What is the content of your bat file?

Best,
Cat_7
adespoton
Forum All-Star

Post by adespoton »

Cat_7 wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 10:39 pm You say you want to emulate Mac OS X 10.2. Qemu has display problems with this particular version of OS X.
I'm curious: what display problems are those? I've been running 10.2 in qemu-system-ppc since 3.something.

I'm now working at ironing out kinks to make 9.1 through current run in UTM.app on macOS; 10.2 is working reasonably well, and I've got a preconfigured config file available -- all it needs is for the user to provide an install CD image and the rest is taken care of. This only works on macOS though. Nothing for Windows at this point.