Screamer build for Linux?

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

GodzillaSkyline
Space Cadet

Screamer build for Linux?

Post by GodzillaSkyline »

`
hey forum, i'm the new guy. this is my first post and i'm excited to meet yall :cool:

recently i wanted to play some old os9 games from my childhood on my linux pc and after sheepshaver unfortunately gave up on me (it wouldn't run) i installed qemu on my ubuntu machine.
i did get the virtual mac to boot, but without 256 color mode (screen is grey scale, but way off) and without sound it's just not the same thing.
of course i saw on the forums that i'm not the first one encountering these issues, so i decided to try to build the screamer branch which i assume also has the 8bit color vga driver.

i'm not a programmer so i couldn't help myself any further and i didn't see a way to contact mcayland on github. thats why i decided to come to the forum. if there is a way to get this thing working i'd be more than happy to help with testing.

i followed akemin-dayo's build guide (for macos). instead of using brew i installed all packages with apt, because i didn't want to install yet another package manager. most of the packages are called almost the same on ubuntu, except with a version number or a lib prefix. i removed the old qemu-system-ppc package and started the configure process. this is the readout i got:

$ ./configure --target-list="ppc-softmmu"
Using './build' as the directory for build output
The Meson build system
Version: 0.59.3
Source dir: /path/to/qemu-screamer
Build dir: /path/to/qemu-screamer/build
Build type: native build
Project name: qemu
Project version: 6.1.94
C compiler for the host machine: cc -m64 -mcx16 (gcc 11.2.0 "cc (Ubuntu 11.2.0-19ubuntu1) 11.2.0")
C linker for the host machine: cc -m64 -mcx16 ld.bfd 2.38
Host machine cpu family: x86_64
Host machine cpu: x86_64