Freeze when changing to different size display

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Post Reply
Steve Collins
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 5:27 am

Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by Steve Collins »

About 2-3 OS versions ago, maybe around Catalina, SheepShaver started freezing on me when I moved my MacBook Pro from my large external display to the internal, and vice versa. It takes a minutes or so on the new display size then freezes. I need to force quit SheepShaver to get out of it. I've been using SheepShaver since the first OS X and have not changed any of the settings. Any idea how to stop this? Sometimes these freezes corrupt the HyperCard stack I'm running and I lose data. Thanks, Steve.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 7802
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

- Which OSX/macOS host do you use now?

- Which SheepShaver build (build date!) do you use now?

- Do you use SheepShaver in window mode or in full-screen mode when changing displays?
Steve Collins
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 5:27 am

Re: Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by Steve Collins »

- Which OSX/macOS host do you use now?
Ventura 13.5.2, was on Intel and moved to M2, problem on both chips

- Which SheepShaver build (build date!) do you use now?
Version 2.5. I just downloaded and installed the newest one a few weeks ago, just a bit newer than I had.

- Do you use SheepShaver in window mode or in full-screen mode when changing displays?
Window Type: Window, sizes 1024 x 768

Display: LG UltraFine 27" (the one made especially for Apple)
Macbook Pro: 16"

Thanks,
Steve
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 7802
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

I cannot try this myself, as I only have the screen on my M1 iMac.

Maybe other users here can try if they experience the same issue.
gorans
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 5:10 pm

Re: Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by gorans »

I tried Sheepshaver 2.5 (10.Aug23) on my Monterey 12.6.9 desktop with two monitors. No problems moving Sheepshaver window from one to another. No retina displays involved.

Best regards,
Goran
Steve Collins
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 5:27 am

Re: Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by Steve Collins »

The behavior during a "freeze" is the cursor can be moved around the screen but it turns to the wristwatch icon cursor that can't click anything, like the Mac is busy working on something. This happens with just the OS running, without any other software running, to rule out other software. Maybe there's something about the LG monitor?

Thanks,
Steve
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 7802
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Freeze when changing to different size display

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Is it only when changing to the other display? Does SheepShaver run fine on each display separately when launched there?

In what way do you move SheepShaver between displays?
Post Reply