Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:54 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 4 [ 92 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:04 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
Ok, well it is finally here....thanks to dajudge a ASPI patch has been implemented to allow you to use the CD drive natively on the host computer with Windows....These are the following stipulations (you knew there were).

1. New config lines have had to been added to allow PearPC to do this. Please read the config file...it needs your attention. (included)

2. The .exe from my site is already patched don't worry about that HOWEVER you do need to download the wnaspi32.dll (google it) and copy that into your %windir%\system32 folder....yes overwrite it.

3. Default in the config file states the drive is "1/0/0"...don't worry you'll see this. If PearPC doesn't pick this up you may have to detect what type of adapter you have. You may need to use another program to detect this....don't worry it's on my site too!

Any questions....feel free to E-mail me...

By the way my site: http://pearpcexe.sytes.net


Last edited by Cybermagellan on Mon Jul 19, 2004 7:54 am, edited 3 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:26 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Posts: 549
Location: MY
Great Job , At last Native CD Support , No more CD Switching...and no more ripping..horray


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:46 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Posts: 549
Location: MY
Oh Yeah , I am also hosting a copy of wnaspi32.dll

Its right on my site

REMOVED LINK DUE TO COPYRIGHT ISSUES

Well , You can download it there aswell , just incase if you do not find any site/or its down/or you are really busy


Last edited by prasys on Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:01 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:37 am 
Offline
Apple Corer
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 247
Location: Germany
iwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdb
urningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiw
antcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdburningiwantcdbur
ningiwantcdburning

anddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdbur
ninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddv
dburninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburninga
nddvdburninganddvdburninganddvdburning


:wink:


Last edited by kybernaut on Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:17 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 780
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA
Me too!

_________________
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: first impressions
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:39 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4677
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hello,

Some first impressions of the windows cd patch:

-it works!
-it works with both dvd and cd(rw) drives
-ejecting a cd from within pearpc doesnt work, cd gets mounted again
-manually removing the cd crashes pearpc,
-reads hfs and iso9660 !
-if you have inserted a cd when booting pearpc, bootmethode has to be "select"
-when there is no cd in the drive, but the config file shows "installed = 1", pearpc won't boot

Verdict: Great, but with caveats

Cat_7

ps: Cyb, is this a rogue build? :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 2:12 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:27 am
Posts: 20
It works for me.
thanx!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 4:37 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:27 pm
Posts: 169
prasys
that link does not work, and I could not find it on your site.

Cyb.... what version is needed, I see there is a nero version and another for $8.

no version numbers?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:31 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
To answer a few things.

1. Cat_7: This isn't a rouge build. This is something that came out on the devel list as a patch. I just applied it because I wanted to try it. Once I did I threw it out there for others to try.

2. I didn't include wnaspi32.dll becasue I was informed that it was covered under license. However I'll read the license if it doesn't say I can't distribute I'll include that.

3. Cat_7 alot of the caveats that you mentioned the author of the patch I have already talked to and is working on it. This is again just another patch so....I have a feeling this won't be incorporated into CVS till those are resolved.

Myself personally download the wnaspi32.dll from Nero found here http://www.nero.com/en/631940733573829.html

Any other questions please let me know


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:20 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 3:54 am
Posts: 28
So what are the lines that need to be changed in the config?
Never mind, I wasn't downloading the "standard" version.

And will someone PLEASE edit kybernaut's post!! It's damn annoying to have to scroll on this page.

Also, it doesn't appear to support music CDs yet.

This appears to be a clock patch build! Is that part of the official trunk now?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:08 pm 
Offline
Apple Corer
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 247
Location: Germany
eaglebtc wrote:
And will someone PLEASE edit kybernaut's post!! It's damn annoying to have to scroll on this page.


kybernaut did it himself. And btw.: welcome to the Forums :)


--kybernaut


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:19 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:42 pm
Posts: 29
Thanxs! Works great for me.

2 eaglebtc

Quote from config file example:

Code:
##   Valid drive types are:
##      hd:   A hdd image should be specified
##         e.g. "test/imgs/linux.img"
##      cdrom:   A cdrom image should be specified
##         For Linux a cdrom device can be specified as well
##         e.g. "/dev/cdrom"
##      aspi:   A SCSI adapter/target/lun should be specified (Win only)
##         e.g. "2,0,1"

pci_ide0_slave_installed = 1
#pci_ide0_slave_image = "2,0,0"
pci_ide0_slave_image = "/dev/cdrom"
pci_ide0_slave_type = "cdrom"


So you need:

1. Donwload wnaspi32.dll -Edited by Cybermagellan (read below for why)

2. Download aspitest.exe

3. put wnaspi32.dll in your windows\system32\ folder (overwrite old file if asked)

4. run aspitest.exe via command prompt. then look on the last line. smth like "CDROM found at 1/1/0". Remember that.

5. Download 07.12 PearPC build from here.

6. Add following lines into your PearPC cfg. file:

Code:
pci_ide0_slave_installed = 1
pci_ide0_slave_type = "aspi"
pci_ide0_slave_image = "1,1,0"


(do not forget to change last string "1,1,0" - see #4)

7. Insert any CD into your drive and run emu.

8. Post you confirmation here :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:27 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
WTF? Is there a more complicated echo in here?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:39 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
Ok, Minsky you may have noticed that I edited your post and I am responding in the forum to stop anyone else from doing it as well.

The link provided was from Nero. Nero (ahead software) plainly states in their download page that it must have a line contributing the usage of it as a (Ahead software development)

Quote:
A link-up to the WNASPI is only permitted if your homepage expressly refers to Ahead Software AG as producer.


Then on top of that it says that it must be in the application folder not the system folder which for PearPC to use this has to be in the System32 folder.

Quote:
Furthermore the enduser has to be advised that the WNASPI may only be copied in the applications folder, but not in the system folder.


Then the EULA also states that you can not incorporate this into their own installer....I think including this for PearPC is getting a little hazy...that is why I said google it....let everyone violate it on their own....or get the WNASPI32.dll from a open source area.

Any issues with this please let me know.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:50 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
13 July has been updated....ALL builds have CD Support


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:59 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Posts: 549
Location: MY
I removed it....Sorry folks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:32 am 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 9:09 am
Posts: 38
Location: Romania
Please, I need a cfg.example, because it not works for me.
Downloaded wnaspi.dll and inserted into %windir%/System32 and replacing the old file

Have aspitest.exe and gives me the codes "1,0,0" and "1,1,0" for my CDROM and CDRW.

I insert a HFS+ CD in my cdrom

Introducing these lines in my cfg files:
"pci_ide0_slave_installed = 1
pci_ide0_slave_image = "1,1,0"
pci_ide0_slave_type = "aspi"

PearPC attentioned me the last line contains errors (the pci_ide0_slave_type must be 'cdrom' or 'hd') I mention that I tested the version 13 july.

These results with "1,0,0"

Where I wrong?????
Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:34 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
What build? Standard?

If standard I have already notice that and have rebuilt...patched....and reposted a good working one


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 7:33 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Posts: 549
Location: MY
Great to hear..I think is the AMD Optimized Version...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: stupid question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:46 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:51 am
Posts: 2
can u burn cds with this? I wanna use toast to burn a test cd or somethin. anyways it works really good i installed a copy of Sony Image Data Converter today (came with digi cam) as a test. *can't wait until i can use Toast*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:33 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
Unfortunately this is only suppose to emulate a CDRom, so I don't think burning capabilities are available yet. However speaking with the author once the mapping of the hardware is available then yes you will be able to.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:23 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 780
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA
Just something that might be of use to people - perhaps it's worth renaming the original wnaspi32.dll file rather than overwrite it.

If you overwrite it, you will have the hassle of restoring the file if you ever need it. Rename it and it's there if you ever want it.

_________________
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:00 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:42 pm
Posts: 29
Cybermagellan wrote:
WTF? Is there a more complicated echo in here?


Don't be so strick :-)
That's my bad maybe. But not in the offence on you. Hope you'll understand me - only want to explain it a little bit easer to all users.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:15 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:42 pm
Posts: 29
Quote:
Ok, Minsky you may have noticed that I edited your post and I am responding in the forum to stop anyone else from doing it as well.


Can I also edit #1 of my post to add link to public service which searching files on FTP servers? (see link in your PM)? So people will find wnaspi32.dll with no problems.

Quote:
The link provided was from Nero. Nero (ahead software) plainly states in their download page that it must have a line contributing the usage of it as a (Ahead software development)


*sight* Sorry. Forgot about "no piracy"-posession.

Quote:
Then on top of that it says that it must be in the application folder not the system folder which for PearPC to use this has to be in the System32 folder.


Whatta?.. Compare this:

You wrote:
"download the wnaspi32.dll (google it) and copy that into your %windir%\system32 folder....yes overwrite it."

I wrote:
"2. Download aspitest.exe
3. put wnaspi32.dll in your windows\system32\ folder (overwrite old file if asked)"

Quote:
Furthermore the enduser has to be advised that the WNASPI may only be copied in the applications folder, but not in the system folder.


Howbeit my method works for me. And works FINE.

___________

Is there always so many problems and offences from moderators here when smb. trying to help others?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:18 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:32 pm
Posts: 17
Weird...

I run aspitest, and it says:

"NO ASPI SUPPORT FOUND"

I have a P4 3.2 Ghz 512 with Toshiba SDR 2512 CD/RW bay.

laptop.

?

EDIT: What a fool. Gotta copy the downloaded .dll to sys folder first.

Well somebody had to make this dumb post first.

Your all welcome.


Last edited by Gold on Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 4 [ 92 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group