BasiliskII for Windows

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

emendelson
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by emendelson »

Unfortunately, I can't update MSYS32 because the server reports that the PGP key is "unknown". I hope that's a temporary problem, and will try again later. Sigh!

EDIT: The solution to that problem is here:

https://www.msys2.org/news/#2020-06-29-new-packagers

It would have been nice if the installer had been updated since last 29 June, but at least this works. Now to try building...
emendelson
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by emendelson »

Another point: I hope you'll consider adding a link to the fix that I described in the preceding post. The instructions in the wiki won't work for a new installation unless that fix is applied. Maybe this will be sorted out in the next version of the installer, but until then, the fix is necessary.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Done. I ran into this as well when that change was made.

It is always a trade-off between taking the user by the hand and not taking responsibility for something outside our "domain" ;-)

Best,
Cat_7
DavidDraper
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:23 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by DavidDraper »

Hi,

I have been trying to get Basilisk II running on my x64 Windows 10 Home PC. I still had a bunch of old Mac game CDs from way back when and wanted to see if I could get any of them to run. But I've run into trouble; basically, whenever I launch the program, the start up chime plays and I get a blank grey screen in the BasiliskII and that is all. I am not sure if I need a different ROM file, Boot image, or a setting in the preferences or setup, etc. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks,

David
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

Which OS are you trying to install? And which rom are you using?
Can you copy the contents of your BasiliskII_prefs file in your answer?

Best,
Cat_7
DavidDraper
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:23 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by DavidDraper »

Hi Cat_7,

I am trying to use a Mac OS 8.0 CD; I am using a Quadra 900 ROM. Here is the contents of the preference file:

displaycolordepth 0
disk C:\Users\gdavi\Desktop\Basilisk II New\Hard Drive
cdrom D:\
extfs
screen win/800/600
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom C:\Users\gdavi\Desktop\Basilisk II New\MAC OS ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 1
modelid 14
cpu 4
fpu true
nocdrom false
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui false
jit false
jitfpu true
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
hotkey 0
scale_nearest false
scale_integer false
yearofs 0
dayofs 0
mag_rate 0
swap_opt_cmd true
ignoresegv true
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
idlewait true
enableextfs true
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
routerenabled false
ftp_port_list 21
portfile0 C:\B2TEMP0.OUT
portfile1 C:\B2TEMP1.OUT
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

I gather you do not yet have installed Mac OS 8 and are trying to boot from the real CD.
The Quadra 900 rom you are using will not boot the CD to the desktop, please find a Quadra 650 rom which will. If you want, you can later on change the rom. But note the 650 rom seems to work best.

That should do it....

Best,
Cat_7
DavidDraper
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:23 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by DavidDraper »

That did it! Thanks!

David
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

A new build has been linked to in the first post in this thread.
-a new pref item "title" allows setting the name of the Basilisk window.

Best,
Cat_7
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

A new build has been posted in the first post.

Best,
Cat_7
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Another new build has been linked in the first post.

Best,
Cat_7
chiacchiakb@gmail.com
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: pittsburgh area

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by chiacchiakb@gmail.com »

Having a similar problem -- gray screen on startup, doesn't load the OS 8.1 iso file. Similar system, Windows 10 on a 64k machine, but not trying to load from a CD. (To provide a little more information on my particular setup, Basilisk II had been working fine for years, then suddenly couldn't find the ROM image. A version of that I'd saved on a thumb drive wouldn't work either, so I acquired a new one and am starting from scratch. Also, I vaguely recall from last time not being able to use the most recent Basilisk II but had to download an older version to get it to work. Can't find a reference to that in the downloads page now, though.) Here's my preferences file content:

displaycolordepth 0
disk C:\Program Files\BasiliskII\install
disk C:\Program Files\BasiliskII\system\MacOS8_1.iso
extfs
screen win/800/600
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom C:\Program Files\BasiliskII\1991-10 - 420DBFF3 - Quadra 700&900 & PB140&170.ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 1
modelid 14
cpu 4
fpu true
nocdrom false
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui false
jit false
jitfpu true
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
hotkey 0
scale_nearest false
scale_integer false
yearofs 0
dayofs 0
mag_rate 0
swap_opt_cmd true
ignoresegv true
sound_buffer 0
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
idlewait true
enableextfs true
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
routerenabled false
ftp_port_list 21
portfile0 C:\B2TEMP0.OUT
portfile1 C:\B2TEMP1.OUT
chiacchiakb@gmail.com
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: pittsburgh area

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by chiacchiakb@gmail.com »

Further information: Using my old version of Basilisk II (from 1/15/10), I got a little further but encountered a new problem: An error message on startup saying "The system software on the startup disk only functions on the original media, not if copied to another drive." Do I need a different boot disk file, or is it the ROM file?
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6851
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

The installation disk image file needs to be made read-only in order to convince the installer that it is on the original read-only CD media. Right-click the image file and set it to “read only” in the “properties” menu.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

If the grey image is still an issue, did you try the rom I suggested some posts above?

Best,
Cat_7
chiacchiakb@gmail.com
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: pittsburgh area

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by chiacchiakb@gmail.com »

Ronald: I had made the file "read only," so that wasn't the problem.

Cat7 -- were you referring to the Quadra 650 ROM? That had the same "The system software on the startup disk only functions on the original media, not if copied to another drive" issue when using the old versions, and the gray screen when using the new ones.

In the event, I did manage to get it to work by titrating the version of Basilisk II against a ROM file I had saved on a computer in which it was working. Don't know why the other ROM files were throwing that error, but in any case the old ROM file worked when I used the 05_03_2013 version of Basilisk II. Go figure.
chiacchiakb@gmail.com
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: pittsburgh area

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by chiacchiakb@gmail.com »

Weirdly, the "My computer" folder still had the software I'd installed previously. Not sure how I did that one ...

Anyway, thanks all!
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

A new build has been linked to in the first post in this thread.

Best,
Cat_7
walterg74
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 26, 2021 5:22 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by walterg74 »

Hi folks,

I am trying out this wonderful emulator and ran into an issue.

The version I am testing is the May 16 one, one windows 10. My Windows screen is 1080p.

If I set the emulator to full screen, 800x600, it works fine and the text is perfectly readable, although for my screen it is a tad small.

If I choose 1024x768 full screen however, the text becomes garbled and not easily readable at all. Now if I select the same resolution, and therefore same effective size, but windowed mode, the text is perfectly fine.

Any thoughts as to why I may be experiencing this and how to fix it?

Thanks!
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

1080p is a 1920x1080 resolution. If you set Basilisk to 1024x768 and then run full screen, the screen will be stretched to the 1080p resolution.
You can manually edit the resolutions in the GUI to match your actual resolution and then run full screen. You are not limited to the predefined set in the drop-down lists in the GUI.

Best,
Cat_7
walterg74
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 26, 2021 5:22 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by walterg74 »

Cat_7 wrote: Wed May 26, 2021 5:58 am Hi,

1080p is a 1920x1080 resolution. If you set Basilisk to 1024x768 and then run full screen, the screen will be stretched to the 1080p resolution.
You can manually edit the resolutions in the GUI to match your actual resolution and then run full screen. You are not limited to the predefined set in the drop-down lists in the GUI.

Best,
Cat_7
Hi thanks for replying. Screen is not stretched. It is centered and with black borders, as per my setting in the video card control panel where it is indicated to do no scaling and controlled by the gpu. The dislplay size in full screen at 1024x768 is exactly the same size as the windowed version, only garbled in the former, and fine in the latter.

Additionally as a comment, I did try setting the res manually in the prefs file to 1920x1080 and while the window size is bigger. It does not fill the screen (and the text is garbled too).
Last edited by walterg74 on Wed May 26, 2021 6:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

A new build is available from the first post in this thread, promising hardware supported graphics acceleration.

Best,
Cat_7
psh
Student Driver
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:41 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by psh »

Hi
Sound also don't work with Mac OS 7.1.1 with Quadra 950 ROM (29-05-2021 BII Build)
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3428
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by adespoton »

That's possibly a different issue: by default, BII doesn't present the sound hardware in PRAM in a way that 7.1 will recognize by default. An easy way around this is to copy the sound extension and control panel from Mac OS 7.5 to System 7.1, at which point you can select the audio device from the control panel.

Did you have sound working with 7.1.1 and the 950 ROM with previous builds?
psh
Student Driver
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:41 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by psh »

adespoton wrote: Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:07 pm That's possibly a different issue: by default, BII doesn't present the sound hardware in PRAM in a way that 7.1 will recognize by default. An easy way around this is to copy the sound extension and control panel from Mac OS 7.5 to System 7.1, at which point you can select the audio device from the control panel.

Did you have sound working with 7.1.1 and the 950 ROM with previous builds?
Ah yes
now i wonder where the hell is sound extension?
Post Reply