Getting HyperCard installed in vMac using OS 7.5.3

About Mini vMac and all other 68k emulators, including SoftMac, Executor, and MESS.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
nhprm
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Kansas City

Getting HyperCard installed in vMac using OS 7.5.3

Post by nhprm »

I have various HyperCard installers, or so I'm told. I had floppies, but I was never able to get them into vMac and complete the installation. Well, now I have several .zip files that are supposed to have HyperCard in them. The .zip files were prepared on a Mac and I cannot extract them on my PC correctly (the files corrupt and it doesn't run in vMac). So, I'd like to extract the .zip files in my emulated OS 7, so I found DropStuff with Expander Enhancer, but it doesn't recognize my copy of Stuffit Expander as a personalized copy (vs 4.0, 5.0). So I'm at an impass. I have a disk image with HyperCard installed, but its in Sweedish, and thusly not much use. I really want to be able to install the program and I'm in no close proximity to a Mac any longer, so unzipping and then emailing myself the results is sort of out of the question.

Moreover, I have a copy of Hypercard that is in .sit.bin format, and the website I got it from said that I needed to use MountImage 1.2b2 to "mount the image file so you can install it" But, a .bin is not a recognized format. I don't undestand what the owner of the website was referencing.

Does anyone know how I can unzip these files or know a better way to get HyperCard on my vMac without using a Mac computer? I know its possible because the disk image I have with it installed is from the same gentleman who helped me get my installer disks in .zip format.
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Post by ClockWise »

http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/hypercard-player

Download the application there. Get it onto the hardfile you are using in vMac and then expand it within the emulator using Stuffit.
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Post by ClockWise »

Note:

Those files on Macintosh Garden can sometimes be hard to expand in Mini vMac. if you have trouble, just try this file:

http://www.emaculation.com/basilisk/hypercard.zip

It is a disk image you can just mount in Mini vMac like any other (after you have booted Mac OS). Hypercard is installed and ready to go.
nhprm
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Kansas City

Post by nhprm »

Thank you very much. I can open the player you link to very easily, and I greatly appreciate your help.

Unfortunately, I'm really looking to start creating stacks again. What I have available to me right now are OS X .zip files of HyperCard (the creation application) in several flavors: I'm looking at 2.3 as what I'd prefer. I cannot unzip the OS X .zip files in any way making the contents usable in system 7.5.3. Is there any way for a PC user to get these files open correctly?
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Post by ClockWise »

Shoot. I didn't realize that you need the creator. Yeah... what I gave you will not help.

Not sure how to open the .zip files. Never tried that. Someone else might know.

You should try to find another archive of hypercard.
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Post by ClockWise »

"Moreover, I have a copy of Hypercard that is in .sit.bin format"

If you link to this, I can check it out. Maybe it is usable.
nhprm
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Kansas City

Post by nhprm »

I greatly appreciate your help with this. I've put these on RapidShare, I hope that's ok. If not, I can repost them somewhere else.

From what I understand, the problem with the .zip files has something to do with Mac file structure, and its keeping of 'Finder data' and file-tree information. When I try and extract those in windows, I'm losing key data.

Here is the .sit.bin
HyperCard 1.2.5E.sit.bin through RapidShare
MD5: 11ECCE4468CB8C1DF6DDF55BB6846952

And, I didn't mention this, but I have a beta that is a .smi file.
HyperCard 2.4.16.smi Beta in English through RapidShare
MD5: B8CCC777F1214AA8B7F8F6963B5DA1E9

And just in case someone would like to see the .zip (I may be misinterpreting what I have, as I'm not terribly familiar with Mac file types)
HyperCard 2.3.zip in English through RapidShare
MD5: A20ED154CF0A4C202CFE2E460C4B1D18

[edit: I should say, I'm familiar with Windows-made .zip, just not Mac :lol: ]
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Post by ClockWise »

"HyperCard 1.2.5E.sit.bin through RapidShare"

This file works.

I cannot expand the archive in Mini vMac, but I can in Basilisk II, using Stuffit 5.5.

When expanded, it produces three disk images that can be mounted using Disk Copy. Mount the disk images, and run Hypercard!

However... Hypercard is screwy in Basilisk II. So I copied the disk images over to Mini vMac, mounted them in Disk Copy within Mini vMac and it worked okay.

That's sort of complicated. Can you follow what I'm suggesting?
yksoft1
Master Emulator
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: People's Republic of China

Post by yksoft1 »

You should know that .sit files have THREE versions: 1.5.1, 3.0 and 5.0. Stuffit 5.0 files cannot be unstuffed with Stuffit Expander 4, which is the latest that runs on a 68000 Mac.
.sea files are .sit files with a resource fork containing an extractor program. Even if the resource fork of a .sea file is lost or damaged, Stuffit Expander will still unstuff it.

However, Disk Copy 6 compressed .img image file uses the resource fork to store essential metadata. If its resource fork is damaged or lost, nobody could recover the files inside the disk image.
nhprm
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Kansas City

Post by nhprm »

@ClockWise
You are a godsend. I've been trying for forever to get this done, and now I've done it. I'll work on that .zip file over time and see if I can get stuffit 5 to recognize it and unpack it too so I can have the updated version, but 1.2.5 does everything I want it to.

@yksoft1
Thank you very much for the information. I realize now that the .sit.bin is clearly a Stuffit 5.0 archive, as none of the others recognize it.

Also, I'm using MountImage1.2b2 to mount the disks and it's working like a charm. Interestingly enough, the file names were too long for System 7 (31+ characters), so the extension (.image) was severed... It seems like this doesn't matter for MountImage, so I'm ok with that.

This is the most helpful forum I've ever used across the entire webosphere/interblags.

Incidentally, the only version of stuffit 5 I could find was stuffed in stuffit 3.6 format :lol:
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Post by ClockWise »

Thanks for the kind words!
gushi
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2023 2:39 am

Re: Getting HyperCard installed in vMac using OS 7.5.3

Post by gushi »

Here's a reply on this 15 years later.

I'm hitting the same issue with this, and searching the web is useless.

The Hypercard 2.4.1 installer is a 45 meg file, and for some reason, when you try expanding it with Stuffit Expander, you get a .img that looks "torn in half", that no image mounting tool will touch (wrong TYPE/Creator), and also, that's way too small. I think this is because you need stuffit 5, and stuffit expander 4 does the wrong thing with this -- it starts the process, then bomb out.

Downloading the .iso off of Macintosh Garden doesn't play right with Toast under an Emulated Mac II (it just crashes). The ISO file is also not something you can mount in modern macOS (at least, not by default, not easily). Additionally, if you try to use ImportFL to get the ISO directly in to your mac, mini vmac claims it doesn't know what to do with it.

Here's what I think needs to happen:

* If you download Hypercard241.img directly from Macintosh Garden, it shows as a file with a Stuffit Expander icon that Disk Copy won't open. This MAY be because downloading it onto OSX flattened it and damaged the resource fork. (Indeed, opening it with ResEdit claims it has no resource fork).

* I'm presently using Stuffit Expander to *try* to Unstuff the Hypercard241.img.sit file. It's taking a LONG time on an emulated mac, but it's not crashing.

* For decades now, people have been passing around .img.hqx and .img.sit and .img.sea files. These .img files were the right thing to do with floppy images. They are absolutely NOT the right answer for a 45 meg ISO file.

* From there, the right way forward is to distribute it as a .dsk file directly usable with Mini vMac, so I'll create one and work with the people on Macintosh Garden and Macintosh Repository to host it, so one doesn't need to go through the archive hell that people on this forum (and I) have gone through.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 7802
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Getting HyperCard installed in vMac using OS 7.5.3

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Not sure what the issue is/was.

I downloaded HyperCard241.img_.sit from Macintosh Garden on my M1 iMac with macOS 13.4.1. I expanded the sit archive using The Unarchiver. I got a HyperCard241.img file (47+ MB) that mounted and opened fine in Mini vMac running System 7.0.1.

Note that I expanded the sit archive on the macOS host and that I left the resulting img file on the host. Just dragged the file into the Mini vMac window to mount it there.
Jorpho
Master Emulator
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:22 am

Re: Getting HyperCard installed in vMac using OS 7.5.3

Post by Jorpho »

How unfortunate that this sort of thing is still causing problems after all this time.
gushi wrote: Thu Jun 29, 2023 3:03 amThe Hypercard 2.4.1 installer is a 45 meg file, and for some reason, when you try expanding it with Stuffit Expander, you get a .img that looks "torn in half", that no image mounting tool will touch (wrong TYPE/Creator), and also, that's way too small. I think this is because you need stuffit 5, and stuffit expander 4 does the wrong thing with this -- it starts the process, then bomb out.
To elaborate on the post above, you can use unar.exe from https://theunarchiver.com/command-line in Windows to expand the .sit file with MacBinary encoding (i.e. suitably "flattened"), which should be decodable anywhere.
Post Reply